We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean and comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aber Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aber Cottage
Ranked #21 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

Stayed here a couple of times, rooms are lovely and clean, nicely furnished and warm. Breakfast good, Owners are helpful and friendly. They were not tight with heating and food. Will always choose to stay here when in the area. Recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angiolina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham T, Owner at Aber Cottage, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
Thanks, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
26
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

Graham and Sarah were perfect hosts, welcoming us with our young baby in their lovely B&B for the night. The off street parking is great, our room was so clean & comfortable, and the location was perfect for our evening out at the local Dylanwad Da restaurant across the road. A lovely place, great value for money, we would be happy to spend more time here, especially with such a delicious breakfast.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham T, Owner at Aber Cottage, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thanks for your kind comments - hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEVON
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Aber cottage has its own website with up to date prices and availability which we found useful.
The accommodation is comfortable, warm and clean.Vegetarian breakfast was provided at our request.
Aber cottage is a perfect location for visiting Snowdonia and Cadair Idris.
Dolgellau is a lovely town with a good choice of mostly independent shops.
We had several options for eating out and our hosts offered us the choice of bringing a take away back.
.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thecountrybumkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham T, Owner at Aber Cottage, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Thanks for your recommendation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

A super quiet location in the town with parking. Shops and restaurants all nearby. Great area to walk in. Lovely welcome. Comfortable room and fantastic breakfast. Pleasant breakfast room and lounge area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham T, Owner at Aber Cottage, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Thank you, hope you can visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

Aber Cottage is a meticulously clean but very cosy B&B. Sarah and Graham were very welcoming hosts - nothing was too much trouble. Fantastic cooked breakfast. Secure private parking is a real bonus......

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham T, Owner at Aber Cottage, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thanks for your comments. We will be pleased to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Aber Cottage, we really loved it. Sarah and Graham made us really welcome form the moment that we arrived. We had a wonderful stay, the room was excellent and the breakfast even better, and the private parking was an added bonus. We will definitely be paying them another visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham T, Owner at Aber Cottage, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leikanger, Norway
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We are four Norwegian women that ran the Wales trail marathon this year (2012). Based on earlier tripadvisor reviews we chose Aber Cottage as our B&B, and the hosts Sarah and Graham didn't let us down. They have taken over the place in February and refurbished the whole B&B. And they've done a wonderful job. You really get a sense of old days looking at the stone walls, the beams in the ceiling and the not too horistontal floor. But the rooms are high standard, with comfortable beds and good bath rooms. And clean. A small detail like big, high quality towels were appreciated by tired (and dirty) runners. As the bus doesn't go too often to Coed-y-Brenin in the morning, Graham offered to drive us. He even woke up very early to prepare a wonderful breakfast for us. The day after we had better time for breakfast, and could choose from a big menu of different breakfast variations. Sarah gave us good tips on which restaurants to visit (and which to avoid). And so we had two perfect evenings out at Sospan and Dylan-something (can't remember the name). The location of this B&B is straight in the centre; but although the road passes centimetres outside the main door (take care when you exit), the traffic did not bother us not even in the night. This is a very quiet village. I guess there are many nice B&Bs in Dolgellau--but if you choose this one you for sure will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristinnorway_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Aber Cottage, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dolgellau hotels
0.1 mi away
Ivy House
Ivy House
#14 of 34 in Dolgellau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#3 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast
Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast
#23 of 34 in Dolgellau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast
Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 34 in Dolgellau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bryn Mair House
Bryn Mair House
#13 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coed Cae Bed & Breakfast
Coed Cae Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Llanelltyd
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aber Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aber Cottage

Property: Aber Cottage
Address: Smithfield Street, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1DE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aber Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aber Cottage is graded as 3 Star by Visit Wales.The guesthouse is ideally situated in the town and within easy walking distance to excellent restaurants and inns. Guests will appreciate the ambience of the traditional stone cottage that benefits from good quality furniture and fittings for your comfort, with modern en-suite facilities to all rooms, TV, Internet access, complimentary tea/coffee, complimentary toiletries etc. Car parking, one per room, is in our own private car park with secure access.The guest sitting room and dining room has been decorated in a traditional style, as is the rest of the house, including guest bedrooms. There is a traditional style upholstered suite in the sitting room for guests to relax in at any time. The dining room has a built in breakfast bar where guests can help themselves to cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit and fresh juice before enjoying their hot breakfast order.Aber Cottage is over 250 years old and due to the nature of the building, it may not be suitable for children under 8 years, or for those with limited mobility. Sorry, no pets allowed inside the house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aber Cottage Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing