We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Tan y Gader

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tan y Gader
Ranked #2 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tulare
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights, and had a wonderful time! Accommodations were very clean and neat, and just darling! Our hosts were extremely kind and friendly, and so hospitable - freshly baked cookies or cake in the room, great breakfast... I highly recommend Tan y Gader - easily one of the best B&B's I've ever stayed at!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayne l, Owner at Tan y Gader, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we very much enjoyed meeting you & are so glad you enjoyed the house & your stay. Hope to see you again if you are ever over this way in the future.

Thanks again Jayne & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
115
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wadsworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Had a lovely weekend with great hosts! The rooms are a delight & have every creature comfort you could need. The welcoming cake went down very well too. Had the best nights sleep in ages & really didn't want to leave! The breakfast choices are wide & varied! My husband who is fussy had the toasted currant teacakes & said they were lovely, I made a pig of myself & had fresh fruit with Greek yoghurt & the full Welsh cooked breakfast....which was amazing!!!

The location is great for getting out & about in the area, it's close to a number of trail centres, the beach is close by at Barmouth & lots of other historic / places of interested. Dolgellau is a quaint town with lots of options for meals & drink if you fancy that too.

I cannot recommend Tan Y Gader or Jayne & Mark enough...already planning our next visit which I hope is longer...thank you for giving us such a lovely warm welcome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayne l, Owner at Tan y Gader, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you Debbie & Brett for your lovely review, it was lovely to have you stay and we will definitely provide the advised extra soothers for any cyclists.
We look forward to seeing you again before too long.

Thank you Jayne & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

What a thoroughly enjoyable stay we had at Tan-y-Gader for the Trail Marathon Wales weekend at nearby Coed-y-Brenin. A superb property, free parking, a lovely room, and a superb host. We were warmly greeted, provided with fresh coffee, a pot of tea, and home made cake with no hidden charges. Our well equipped and splendid room even had a jar of home made biscuits, and a selection of that runners delight 'Jelly Babies'. A bottle of water each was also provided. A great bed, a comfortable and spotlessly clean environment, and for me a huge bath to soak my weary limbs the morning after the evening trail race. Breakfast was superb, but then again, how can you be surprised after such a positive lead I review. Those who follow my posts know how ruthless I can be. But this folks was a delight, so step aside for the TMW next year, as we have already booked our room and you will have to take what's left. Oh happy days, a hotelier who knows what they are doing :-)

Room Tip: Book early, as this new kid on the block is going to become very popular indeed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dyntan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayne l, Owner at Tan y Gader, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Roger & Pauline,
Wow, what a stunning review, thank you so much for your very kind words.
We feel we have a lot to live up to but what an amazing start to our new business.
We both very much look forward to meeting you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
1.9 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
308 reviews
7.5 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ffynnon
Ffynnon
#3 of 34 in Dolgellau
543 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 34 in Dolgellau
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan y Gader? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan y Gader

Property: Tan y Gader
Address: Tan y Gader Meyrick Street, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1LS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tan y Gader 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tan y Gader is a beautiful Grade 2 listed 5 star accredited Georgian B&B, which is formally the towns Maternity Home. It has been sympathetically renovated to provide a tasteful & quirky new B&B. We source local produce for our sumptuous breakfasts & home baked cakes & biscuits are provided. Safe & secure cycle storage can be provided if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Tan y Gader reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tan y Gader Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing