We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place! Be there!”
Review of Gwin Dylanwad Wine

Gwin Dylanwad Wine
Ranked #5 of 29 Restaurants in Dolgellau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Cuisines: British
Description: Dylan is a wine importer who has opened a Cellar Wine Shop, cafe and bar in this beautiful Welsh town. Expert knowledge in a relaxed atmosphere. Enjoy a glass, a bottle or even a tiny 25ml taster of wine from our PODS (a preservation system that allows us to have up to 16 wines available by the glass). Homemade soups and light snacks are served during opening hours in our stylish modern bar in a 16th century building with a glass extension, Select wine to drink in for small corkage fee from cellar shop. Seating upstairs with a beautiful tasting room that is also available for hire with 'break out' rooms. We open 11-3pm for Farmers' Market the third Sunday of every month.
Restaurant details
Description: Dylan is a wine importer who has opened a Cellar Wine Shop, cafe and bar in this beautiful Welsh town. Expert knowledge in a relaxed atmosphere. Enjoy a glass, a bottle or even a tiny 25ml taster of wine from our PODS (a preservation system that allows us to have up to 16 wines available by the glass). Homemade soups and light snacks are served during opening hours in our stylish modern bar in a 16th century building with a glass extension, Select wine to drink in for small corkage fee from cellar shop. Seating upstairs with a beautiful tasting room that is also available for hire with 'break out' rooms. We open 11-3pm for Farmers' Market the third Sunday of every month.
Reviewed 16 December 2017

First, note that this is a local hangout spot--you will hear Welsh spoken, which is great. The servers know their jobs well and are very friendly. I asked them the Welsh words for various things (gwin=wine btw) and they had no problem with my curiosity. I had several glasses of wine and some whisky (whisky=whisky btw). They have small bites to eat, so this is a great drinking spot (hence my admiration). I had the combination ("a little of everything") tapas plate. The soup is really good as is the fish and the Welsh cheese (esp. with a little crianza). The building is a few hundred years old, so this is also a historic part of Dolgellau.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TwCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan R, Owner at Gwin Dylanwad Wine, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Diolch! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed and it's always a pleasure when people take such an interest in our language and culture. We look forward to welcoming you back again! Llinos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

Found this place by chance and absolutely loved it. Really welcoming atmosphere, great selection of wines and perfect nibbles menu. For us, the ‘little bit of everything’ sufficed for dinner and was great value. Highly recommend for drinks and light dinner. We were served mostly by Emma, who was fantastic but all staff were brilliant and gave us great (unpretentious) advice on wines and liquors to try. Couldn’t fault the place, hope to come again.

Thank Lizzie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan R, Owner at Gwin Dylanwad Wine, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you very much. Our staff are amazing and we continue to develop our knowledge. This April, Dylan, Emma and Terri will be visiting vineyards in Austria whom we buy our wines from. Look forward to seeing you again, Llinos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

We came here before and after dinner on both nights of our stay in Dolgellau. Great staff who were enthusiastic about the wine/gin and the local area, suggested rainy day activities and even provided a map! We felt like a local, it was lovely.
We didn’t try the food as we had meals booked but the food we saw looked tasty and well presented.
Thanks for the chocolate bar....it was yummy!

Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan R, Owner at Gwin Dylanwad Wine, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Hi! Thank you and I'm so glad you enjoyed. The Nom-nom chocolate is delicious isn't it? We love selling top quality Welsh products and this is a firm favourite! Look forward to seeing you again - Llinos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Rather a lot of rain during our last stay meant we enjoyed three impromptu lunches here. As always, the home-made soups were brilliant; and so, I'm told, was the marinated herring. The gluten- & dairy- free amongst us really enjoyed their choices too. Dylan saw the seven of us arriving and put a large table together in the glass atrium, which was very nice. On our first visit we bought a selection of small gins, whiskies and ports (all good), then enjoyed lots of taster comparison sessions at home. (Like I said, lots of rain...)

Thank 1Muso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan R, Owner at Gwin Dylanwad Wine, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Lovely to see you again! We are having the first day of sunshine here this week! See you again soon. Dylan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

We stopped by here for a couple of drinks whilst visiting the area. There was a good selection of wines and other drinks including prosecco. All the drinks were reasonably priced and you can even buy a bottle from their shop and either take it home or drink it on site (Corkage is £8).

Its a really good addition to the area and well worth a visit.

Thank Romsparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gwin Dylanwad Wine also viewed

Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Gwin Dylanwad Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing