We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute booking success!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ganllwyd
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Last minute booking success!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Owing to an extremely complicated summer, we found ourselves booking a holiday at about four day's notice! We were looking for a dog friendly hotel and Plas Dolmelynllyn (hereafter referred to as 'Dolly Hall') rose to the top of the pile on Tripadvisor. I don't normally review establishment while still staying but this hotel deserves the effort.

If you like your hotels to be homogenised, sanitised and sterile, this is NOT the place for you! It is full of character with a wonderful history but veers towards the eclectic in its layout and decor - there is probably not a single level floor in the Tudor part of the building, but, unless you want to play marbles, this is hardly a problem. Fitting modern creature comforts into a building as old as this is not easy but our room was most comfortable and well-appointed. We had aimed to forage out most evenings but the in house restaurant is both good quality and good value and made the effort of searching for other establishments seem futile!

In a world where staff seem to think constantly asking if "everything is alright?", daring you to challenge them, Dolly Hall is full of people who really care and who mean it when they say, "No problem".

And the dog? Well, he really enjoyed his stay - just check out the hotel's dog policy beforehand and ask discuss your requirements (the size of the room may depend on the size of your dog. Logical, no?)

And the ultimate judgement, would we stay again? Yes!

P.S. - proximity to the A470 is not a problem, the hotel is set far enough back to be quiet and the access from this recently improved road is great for North Wales.

Room Tip: Check the dog policy before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HerefordshireHamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    33
    8
    8
    4
See reviews for
23
79
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Sadly we only had one night at Dolly Hall so we couldn't take advantage of everything it has to offer. Alan is the most amazingly thoughtful host and his staff are friendly and helpful too. We were travelling with friends who were able to stay a second night and I suspect that is why we had a significantly less comfortable room than them. Do check your room because they vary - ours was small with an uncomfortable bed and a claustrophobic little en-suite bathroom. Other rooms that we saw were large, airy and beautiful.

Dinner was lovely albeit we were disappointed to find that the wine we ordered from the list wasn't available and those who wanted lamb to eat found that it wasn't available either.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beancounter27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Beautiful surroundings and very attractive building, with history. Staff very helpful and friendly, chatty and knowledgeable. Food tasty with reasonable choice and all cooked to a very good standard. Many chefs over-salt the food but this was much more to our liking. Lamb and fillet steak very succulent. Plenty of choice in the bar, particularly whisky. Never enough French wines to my pallet but others would surely agree with the range available!
Breakfast with many choices with homemade granola, marmalade, yoghurt and jams. Well worth further visits.
Our shower looked great but so complicated without easy instructions for elderly that previous occupants had seemingly been over enthusiastic in adjusting it. Personal advice had to be requested by us and we were then wary in using it!

Room Tip: I would think all rooms are good?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaffWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

we have just visited Plas Dolmelynllyn for two nights. What a beautiful place in such a tranquil setting. The staff at the hotel were exceptionally friendly and professional towards us. Alan the owner is a mine of information of places to visit. The food was delicious thankyou Martin. We will certainly return and will also recommend this fabulous hotel to family and friends

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Plas Dolmelynllyn was quiet on this occasion, and we were upgraded to the four-poster room. The staff and owner were very friendly and efficient, the bedroom room was large and well equipped with lovely views out over the gardens and down the valley towards Cadair Idris. The bed was extremely comfortable - firm yet soft - best night's sleep away from home for a long time! The evening meal was really good - tasty and well cooked, as was the breakfast the following morning.
We would happily return to Plas Dolmelynllyn again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed here for one night after a quick walk up Snowdon! It was our anniversary so we splashed out and selected the top room, the Mawddach. I was a bit concerned as have stayed in four-posters before and found them a bit old and creaky but this was great - very comfortable, the room was old, in-keeping with the hotel's features but with a modern twist. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the owner was full information. We had dinner there which was great and we enjoyed the breakfast too, which gave a great choice As we had mentioned it was our anniversary when booking, we found a lovely complimentary box of chocolates in our room! Thank You! Would recommend taking the 15 mins or so to walk up to the waterfalls - stunning. All in all a great choice, we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stumbled upon this place when all the accommodation in the surrounding area was booked out. How lucky where we that we were not able to get in elsewhere as this is the best accommodation we have had after travelling for 10 days in Wales.
Dolly Hall has history ... I felt that I was a member of the landed gentry as I drove up the long drive.
The very old building has been well preserved and the decor is quality and comfortable. The rooms had been well-aired.
Our room was most comfortable and quiet and the huge claw foot bath was a dream.g
I slept soundly and then enjoyed a well-cooked breakfast.
I wished that I could have stayed more than 1 night.
This is the place for busy people to relax and stay a few days.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hel47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ganllwyd
3.9 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
323 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,419 reviews
8.3 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
371 reviews
18.5 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,464 reviews
17.7 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel

Property: Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
Address: Coed-Y-Brenin, Ganllwyd LL40 2HP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Ganllwyd
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ganllwyd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in Snowdonia National Park is Dolmelynllyn, a Victorian Gothic hotel with over 1000 years of history. With the mountain biking and walking trails of Coed-y-Brenin on our doorstep and surrounded by several waterfalls, gold and copper mines that nestle within the surrounding forest. A warm and relaxed hotel in which to unwind and with some of the purest air in Europe! We do accept well behaved insured dogs in some rooms but will make an additional charge if you try to check into the hotel with your dog without contacting us first, as we would not be ready for them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel Ganllwyd, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing