We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location makes the stay passable”
Review of Tyn-y-Groes Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ganllwyd
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tyn-y-Groes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Ganllwyd B&B and Inns
wakefield
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good location makes the stay passable”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed Mon Tues,Christmas present from a relation.The location was really good,beer OK ,restaurant food was very disappointing both dinner and breakfast.One tea bag in a large pot of tea for two! We found a super place the next evening only half a mile away where food is superb" Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall "As previous reviewer not sure about the family ethos as the proprietors were elusive.Young girl who served us was very accommodating.The cook took our breakfast order,cooked it,served ,cleared up it then checked us out as there didn't appear to be anyone else about.Room was adequate if a little overpriced.will we come again,NO,will we stay at Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall YES !

Room Tip: try to get a room away from the road due to the noise of passing traffic and a clean shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonboyWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nephitynyg, Owner at Tyn-y-Groes Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
This comment has been reported for contravening guidelines because they were overheard discusing such a comment over breakfast, anyway, I will reply just in case Trip Advisor ignores my comments.

The restaurant carries a good reputation (this is why I suspect a set up) and the breakfasts are always well recieved, I cant comment on the complaint about the tea as when i checked you out in the morning you made no comment regarding your stay, so Im certainly not "elusive", I think you may have chosen an incorrect description as at no time was I avoiding you, a more fitting word would be "busy".
Regarding breakfast, how do you know that the person wasnt my wife, so much for a lack of "family ethos" and as a family company everybody can and does multitask.
How was the room overpriced? when your favorite "the hall" would have cost £180.00 per night and you got this for free.
Finally, the road prximity is stated on our information and that you removed the double glazing and had the window open all night maybe contributes, the showers are spotless so stop making it up.
Oh by the way the girls said thank you for the tip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    22
    18
    13
    10
See reviews for
16
46
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed here for a Fri and Sat Night as a group of 4 MTB'ers. Superb location near Coed Y Brenin Forest and you can ride straight on to some trails, or 5 mins in a car to the trail centre.
We ate there both evenings for convenience. The restaurant food is pleasant and certainly edible (the burger was very good) but generally was a little over-priced. The cooked breakfast was a little dissapointing.

The room was average. Plumbing as whole needs attention! Single beds were adequately comfy.

Good facilities on offer overall, WiFi needs boosting to beyond standing at the bar.

I think attitude and professionalism towards customers was erratic. The 'family run' ethos perhaps a little too relaxed.

Overall - adequate, overpriced, great location, some freindly staff, probably won't return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nephitynyg, Owner at Tyn-y-Groes Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Here we go again! Clients who make disparaging comments without stating the full circumstances. Our food is some 10% cheaper than any equivalents in the area and is kept low because of the high customer base, but you ate in both nights. What a strange word "convenience" in this aspect, yours or ours?. Anyway theres not a lot you can do to improve scrambled egg on toast, your choice. You had a lovely room with quality beds which was spotless when you went in but left blood on the linen when you vacated it. with regards the plumbing, theres absolutely no problem on that side of the Hotel ( its not instant, but where is) plenty of hot water and mountain fresh cold water. WiFi, why would you want it in your room, we dont porvide it there for legal reasons, as we are totally responsible for the content viewed.
Now you omitted to mention your exploits of the Saturday night, when you were informed that there are no reliable taxis after midnight and we close the doors about that time (it states in our T&C that entry after mindnight may carry a charge) but you didnt return until after midnight ( in fact 3.30am). firstly by throwing stone at the windows, bring in evil smelling food, coming back very drunk (unable to walk in a straight line), dripping blood after your antics elsewhere, and finally disturbing other guests in the early hours. You also forgot to mention that I stayed up to await your return and that I administered first aid to the injury. You were that displeased that you left a £20.00 tip.
A servere contradiction in terms, how we run the Hotel with a "family ethos" has been very successful for the last 10 years, may I suggest that its the state your party got into between 10.00 and 3.00 in the morning that has clouded your perception and you certainly should not have driven home in the morning with your blood alchol levels, I presume your werent stopped or maybe your were, hence the comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llantrisant, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We enjoyed a very pleasant 2 night stay here and it was a great base from which to explore the beautiful landscape and attractions that Snowdonia and North Wales has to offer. Food and drink was very good. We had lovely cooked breakfasts both mornings and enjoyed good pub food for the one evening of our stay that we stayed in to eat at this coach house. The bar area was nicely warmed with an open fire and the vibe was pleasant in the afternoons and evenings when patrons were socialising. Some stayers were making the most of the local mountain bike tracks which no doubt are brilliant if that's your thing. We easily managed visits in the car to the Snowdon Mountain Railway, Caernarfon Castle, Port Meirion, Beddgelert and Bala Lake from here. Not many drawbacks of staying here but the plumbing is dated. Coach house is right on the roadside of the A470 but there is little or no traffic in the evenings and night so this is not a problem. Wifi is available on request in the bar area. Thanks for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Check the plumbing (hot water and shower)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nephitynyg, Owner at Tyn-y-Groes Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for your review, it all sound quite positive until I saw the rating which belie the comments. We try to please everybody that stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My partner & I stayed at TYN-Y-GROES HOTEL from friday till sunday. It is situated in the most beautiful part of wales with a breath taking view.The room we had is the one you have advertised above. The bed as you can see is kingsize & so comfortable. It has all the facilities we needed. Spotlessly clean. Our room was at the front of the hotel so the passing traffic was a bit noisy but that didnt bother us. We had a full fry up breakfast eat morning that was cooked to perfection. The staff in the dining room as well as the bar staff were very helpful & friendly. We've been to many parts of Wales over the year but this was the most beautiful part we've ever been to & we were very lucky with the weather, it was scorching. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nephitynyg, Owner at Tyn-y-Groes Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank for youe response, its nice to hear from clients who appreciate the effort we put in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Despite living practically on the doorstep, we stayed here for three nights with my brother and his wife, over from Australia. The location is excellent for casual walkers, and for motorists wishing to visit other attractions in the area. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the food was good. The proprietor, the bar-tender, and the waitress were most friendly and obliging. We were disappointed that bar-snacks were not available during the day, however, and one staff member was obviously unhappy in her work.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed the bank holiday weekend on a KGB deal with my sister and her husband. Beautiful location, very clean. Lovely to sit by the log fire in the evenings. Host Derek was very helpful and a perfect host gave us great advice on where to walk. Would not hesitate to stay again. Breakfast was delicious. Great value.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie1969_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nephitynyg, Owner at Tyn-y-Groes Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thanks for your support and am pleased you enjoyed your stay
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I do not normally write reviews, but due to the fact that this hotel/inn was so poor I feel compelled to warn others against staying here. I am not very picky, and have stayed in many hostels, hotels, and have never expereienced worse customer service. I booked the trip as a KGB deal, but I would not say the deal is value. Initially we were told there was no weekend availability for the whole duration of the KGB deal, so we were flexible and took a Monday to Wednesday stay instead.

The hotel is located on a busy main road, and is a drive away from the nearest shops/restaurants. When we arrived at 18.30, the lights were off and the closed sign was on the door. The owner came to the door and explained how she presumed we were not going to come because of snow in surrounding areas. The owners had decided to cancel any staff from working that evening, which meant there was no chef available for dinner. We were offered fish and chips, but we politely declined and said we would go out and find somewhere to eat in nearby Dolgellau.

We were shown to our room which was average, but initially I had no complaints except the fact that it was freezing because all the heating had been turned off because they were not expecting us. It was clean, with a small TV, tea making facilities, and a nice en-suite. However, on further inspection, the shower door was broken and would not close properly. Also there are notes plastered everywhere warning you what you can and cannot do. The beds were comfortable, despite being two singles pushed together. The traffic is very loud on the road outside, and it can be heard clearly when you are trying to sleep. Additionally the radiator makes a loud humming sound when it is turned on, so we had to switch it off during the night when we couldn't sleep. The plumbing in the room is also poor. We were advised of the technique to get hot water, by running the hot tap before using the shower, however it still takes 5 minutes to heat up. This can be very frustrating when you are trying to wash your hands. Also the flush is very loud, and you can hear it even when other people in different rooms use the toilet. We were left with the last remains of a toilet roll, and no spare to replace it.

When you leave the hotel you have to hand in your room key, which is inconvenient. We went out for dinner in Dolgellau, and returned before 9pm, only to find the door locked. We rang the bell several times whilst standing in the very cold conditions, and finally got an answer. We were told breakfast was between 8am and 9am, but the owner wanted to know exactly what time we would be having breakfast. It felt like we were accommodating him.

The breakfast was a cooked breakfast. It may be to some peoples tastes, but we found it very greasy, and did not enjoy it. However the chef who served us was polite. We were given some good advice on walks by Linda, one of the owners, and we appreciated this.

In the afternoon, we phoned the hotel to let them know that we were going to have dinner in Dolgellau. We thought it would be easier for the hotel, because we were the only guests, and we did not fancy greasy pub grub. We had not booked a table at the hotel, nor suggested that we would be eating there, but we felt it was the polite thing to do and let them know our plans. The owner (Derek), was very rude on the phone. He snapped said that he was getting staff in to serve us, and then hung up. His manner really upset my girlfriend, and she couldn't stop thinking about the way he spoke to her. She didn't feel comfortable going back to the hotel as a result.

We did return to the hotel, and Derek never apologised. Actually both owners never even served us again. They were not around that evening when we returned from a lovely meal in Dolgellau, and did not check us out in the morning. We were told by the chef just to leave our key on the side. Very unprofessional. I would never stay here again, and I think the service by Derek is very unwelcoming. Everyone else here including the other owner Linda was nice, but there are too many negative aspects at this hotel.

We had a lovely time in Snowdonia, and there are some lovely places to eat in Dolgellau. I would particulaly reccommend T.H. Roberts (an excellent cafe), and Y Meirionnydd (superb restaurant).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nephitynyg, Owner at Tyn-y-Groes Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
O dear, heres someone who would rather write than read!
Firstly, this was a mid week break with limited weekends, as stated on the KGB advert, our web site states and shows the position of the Hotel, the road had hardly any traffic and would not have affected you. That particular night the other six guests had cancelled due to the adverse weather conditions on the English/Welsh border, we left a message on your mobile requesting if you were coming (no reply) also the booking confirmation clearly states that if your arrival was to be after 5.00pm you were to advise, so we assumed that you were not coming, hence the lights and heating off, incidentally, you arrived at 7.20pm. The shower door was not broken just a little stiff when first moved and the hot water takes only 90 seconds to be at the tap, also, as there was no one else in the hotel the plumbing could not make a noise and the toilet is on main drainage.
There are 3 notices in the room/bathroom
1. Fire escape information
2. ecology notice about the use of towels
3. a notice asking for sanitary towels etc not to be put down the toilet
Its common practice to offer two single beds together as a double (kings size) how else can we offer either twin or double beds.
You arrived back around 9.30 (the 2nd Night) and the porch lights were on and the outer door was open plus you waited only a few seconds for the door to be opened as my daughter was in the bar. We offered a different breakfast time so you could have had a lay in but that’s still not good enough.
What’s wrong with handing in your key when you go out of the Hotel?
Regarding the breakfast, we get top rating for these and cannot be greasy, if it was so bad why did you eat it both mornings.
Now to your complaint about me!, you saw me only fleetingly when went out the first morning and you never rang here in the afternoon, why would you cancel something that you hadn’t booked may I suggest that you rang the wrong telephone number, we often get mixed up with the Groes Inn in Tyn-y-Groes, any way we served some 29 covers that evening while you were out, you never asked for or read our menu and it certainly isn’t “pub food” and we had other guests staying the 2nd night.
Why would you expect us to be there when you checked out? When you never took part in any of the hospitality, at no time did you speak to me either directly nor on the telephone. We are completely shocked by your comments and cannot find any substance to your comments 99% of the “KGB” customers are more than happy to stay here and gave only positive fed back. You state that you don’t want to be picky but that’s exactly what you are being, I don’t see what your problem is, but to cause a problem, we have a high rate of return visitors, 3* plus from the Tourist Board and rated 5 (top mark) from the Food Hygiene Standard Agency, all professionals

As you say you don’t normally write reviews, this is so unjust. You’re the one that didn’t read the confirmation regarding late arrival, you’re the one that didn’t read the description of the Hotel on the website, you’re the one that didn’t ring the Hotel at anytime, and you’re the one that overtly embellished the truth to suit your own needs (what ever they are). You have registered a description of these premises that is blatantly untrue, we can prove our hospitality but I doubt it’s true of yourself. You have never met or spoken to me except on the 5th March when you made the booking, we don’t issue small print Terms and Conditions, just a simple one liners to give you information and then you still disregarded them and put the blame onto us. I would expect you to show as much respect for our home as I would yours.
Last year we had over 700 KGB deals with only 3-4 moans, so you have” graded” us when none of your gripes can be addressed. So there’s nothing that can be done to appease.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ganllwyd hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ganllwyd
0.5 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
3.3 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
308 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 34 in Dolgellau
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Heulwen Guest House
Heulwen Guest House
#1 of 1 in Llanfachreth
60 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
3.4 mi away
Coed Cae Bed & Breakfast
Coed Cae Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Llanelltyd
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyn-y-Groes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyn-y-Groes Hotel

Property: Tyn-y-Groes Hotel
Address: A470 | Ganllwyd, Ganllwyd LL40 2HN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Ganllwyd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ganllwyd
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Tyn-y-Groes Hotel Ganllwyd, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing