We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shell Island
Nearby Hotels
Ty Mawr Hotel(Llanbedr)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Y Branwen(Harlech)
US$135
US$130
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Min-y-mor Hotel(Barmouth)
US$139
US$123
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bae Abermaw(Barmouth)
US$135
US$130
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel(Porthmadog)(Great Value!)
US$74
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Moelwyn(Criccieth)
US$113
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Penmaenuchaf Hall(Penmaenpool)
US$377
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brackenhurst House(Fairbourne)
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (698)
Filter reviews
698 results
Traveller rating
289
224
100
41
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
289
224
100
41
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssand dunesshower blockcamping shopon sitegift shoprock poolssnack barlove this placecamping trippitch your tentthe main blockbeach is lovelygames roomviews are amazinghuge sitebasic campingcollecting shells
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
660 - 665 of 698 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2013

First time ever to shell island, what a fantastic place, everyone so friendly, everything you need right on your door step, had a great week my wife and I with my son his wife and two grandsons, there's loads to do right on the island, plenty of other places to go within a very short distance, tavern bar, good food, entertainment (saw a car get cut off by the tide) you alwas get one, its a common sense thing, going again soon

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Ive just come back from my first camping trip to shell island.Its a beautiful place helped by the glorious weather!Ihave gone camping for many years and I recommend a visit here.Its a huge site and you can pitch your tent anywhere on the site,we chose the sand dunes.Theres only one set of showers which are next to the pub,snack bar and shop so we drove there.We had porta loos near our tents,which were ok,but would recommend taking hand sanitiser next time,but its so worth foregoing the usual camping luxuries as its so gorgeous.walks on the beach ,mountains in the background so perfect.Shop seemed well stocked ,showers clean and I didnt need to queue.hope to go back in the school holidays.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaynesslater45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This was our first time camping at Shell island although various friends and family members have been coming here for years.

First things first..

The location is absolutely stunning, the views from every part of the site are simply breathtaking. Mountain views, beach views you name it and Shell island likely has a view of it.

The amount of space available to pitch up is excellent. You can literally put your tent up anywhere within the 300 or so acres of space available.

Lots of families camping here during our stay which is a good thing in my opinion, yes they are noisy but so is the road outside my house and the sound of them all laughing as they run around in freedom is what camping should be all about.

Now the onsite toilets and showers are a bit dated and can be quite busy at times but overall they were not complaint worthy. I did hear the occasional grumble about them from other campers but they were usually complaining about the lack of mobile coverage, lack of EHU and other luxuries.

Seriously, if you are complaining about a lack of luxury on a camping trip then don't bother with Shell island. There are plenty of other campsites with these things elsewhere if you don't mind being pitched up in nice little rows and being moaned at for talking too loud after 9pm.

Shops were a tad expensive but nothing you wouldn't expect on a self contained site and Barmouth is not too far away in a car if that bothers you.

All in all I would recommend Shell island to anyone who wants a proper british camping trip with the basics thrown in.

Pitch your tent, send the kids exploring and get the bbq out and dont forget to bring your own loo roll and hand wipes.



  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

we just got back after a lovely weekend weather best ever campsite great i have been going to shell island since i was 7yrs old and always return the staff are all so helpfull the only thing that upset me was to hear mike a gentalman that used to help around the bar area he passed away last yr it wont ever be the same with out his smile around shell island we will keep going back forever and a day where can you go to enjoy fantastic beaches great sun sets meet lovely people SHELL ISLAND OF COURSE

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank welsh-lady62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

If you have never visited this place but are reading this review, stop reading...pack up the car and head to Shell Island.
Its huge, its well catered for at reasonable prices
as a child or adult you will never be short of things to do, over the years i have camped in sand dunes, in the little pockets of forest, on the open fields and even right next to the beach.

its a huge place and it does get very busy but the only time you really notice how many people are on the site are when using the showers or washing facilities which as you may expect can become very busy, i understand the owners have been promising extra shower blocks for an eternity.

Would be great to see the owners build some camping pods on this site.

All in all well worth a visit at least once in your lifetime

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews