We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you don't like 'wild' camping - don't go !”
Review of Shell Island

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanbedr
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shell Island
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you don't like 'wild' camping - don't go !”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We have just come home after ten days spent on the island, we have gone back time and time again. To be fair we went in a campervan so didn't need the toilet facilities that much. Alot of people have commented that the buildings need updating but if they were all modernised it just wouldn't be Shell Island. I can understand that people who haven't been before and expect luxury will be very disappointed but the beauty is in the place itself and the freedom to pitch up wherever you like, we chose three different spots throughout our stay.
Cannot imagine anything worse than being told where you can camp and having to stay put throughout your whole stay wether you like it or not. There are no electric hook ups so it is old fashioned camping - proper camping as it should be - surely that is half the fun ? Stunning views - beautiful walks - dolphins to watch out for, miles of beach, rock pools, shell collecting - peace and quiet - like heaven with the door shut !
Personally wouldn't go during school holidays when it is busy as so often happens when alot of people get together there is no respect for other people's privacy or feelings - humans let the place down not the toilets or the showers, if you want luxury - go to a posh hotel, don't go camping and moan about everything - make the best of it and experience the surroundings

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chrisnsteve2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    193
    86
    30
    37
See reviews for
282
133
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Just had a single night at Shell Island and the place and concept is amazing. It's a 320 acre peninsular of grass land and sand-dunes with toilets and water points dotted around - no marked plots, you rock up and pitch where ever you like. They allow camp fires and BBQ's and you get the feeling it's a bit of a free for all but it has the space to achieve this.

The thing that lets this place down is the out dated facilities. The café/stage building looks tatty and there doesn't seem to be a theme or consistency in anything they do. There is a feeling of "make do" with the place and feeling flows throughout the whole pace.

The showers, wash-up area, laundrette, shop, reception, everywhere just looks like it could do with updating.

This is the second time we have stayed at Shell Island - the first time was 8 years and no much has changed - the games room is particularly dirty with many of the games either not working or partly working.

If they sort out the facilities and spend a bit of cash bringing them up to date this place could be really special.

On the up side the bar has a good selection of beers that are, surprisingly reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Pick a pitch overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I planned a trip with my friends and their kids for a weeks holiday. After reading through some reviews, I was a bit apprehensive. When we got their we were met by friendly staff who quickly booked us in. Then we were told to go were we liked. The views were out of this world and we set up in a field near the sand dunes. It was really busy as it was in the summer school holidays. We went crabbing ,fishing, shell collecting, swimming and floating on large floating rings we got from the shop. We had barbecues and fires at night and the kids toasted their own marshmellows. The sun sets caught your breath as they were beautiful and the stars were like a blanket. I have never seen so many in years as I now live in a city. The only down side was at night I thought the tent was going to blow away. The wind picked up late afternoon and died down in the morning. The shops are well stocked and reasonably priced an the people in the camping shop are very friendly. They gave us lots of advice on fishing and the tides. The pizza place is brilliant, we had a pizza night and all ten kids loved it. We avoided the pub as their were lots of adults who can't handle their drink and spoil it for families who have young kids. I used the laundry room and it was clean and the member of staff showed me how to use the machines. The showers were clean and hot, but some don't have enough power and trickle, so check before you undress. The kids played on the play area but gets a bit over crowded. We all loved it and would go again next year. But a bit of advice take your own portaloo as the ones on the campsite are dirty and run out of loo roll quickly. Be careful of the ripe tides in the sea as the coast guard was kept very busy.

Room Tip: If you like peace and quiet don't go near the shower blocks and pub, as it is a busy area. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

We camped on Shell Island for just 1 night. The site was very quiet and we had a fantastic choice of places to pitch. The views are spectacular and we pitched overlooking the sea. The facilities on Shell Island are very limited and to be fair the management do recomend that you bring a portable toilet with you. I think if you go to Shell Island with the mind set of 'rustic' camping as it was years ago ie: washing in your tent with water from a boiled kettle then you will have a good time. I would also recomend that you steer clear of the cafe, bar etc they are dreadful, dirty and badly managed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jankev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Just come back from Shell Island, can be very busy at weekends in July and August, especially Bank Holiday weekend but went a Tue to Thurs this week and it was nearly empty, no queue for showers, weather beautiful everything really quiet and clean compared to when we went in August, although the staff battled admirably to keep the loos clean and the noise down late at night then. Probably the last trip this season but will be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed on this island twice now, whilst there done quick look at other local sites, shell island is dirty, smelly and way over crowded compared to other local sites.

On a good note, its a BIG place, has all services you need but just needs more of them, you have to queue for showers as there is only 6 which is not a lot for the island.

Great take food away service

Tiny bar

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Andyb_vickib_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I've stayed here many times over the years.

Pro's
The staff are very friendly.
On site security (patrols too).
Food shop is average price.
Bar drinks are cheap.
The views !

Con's
On entertainment nights the bar can get rough.
Toilets get nasty when its bad weather.
Police turn up just to make a few pounds on spot fines.

Overall.
Lots to do there. Fantastic beach for swimming,windsurfing,kite boarding.
50ft sand dunes covering miles for the kids and adults to play on (no digging though).

Dolphins swim past every morning and night.

Lovely harbour.

Not much of the campsite is flat so careful where you pitch. A view of the sea is lovely but if your tent has only two guide lines your going home early. The ground is stoney in some places so bring a good hammer.

Take clothes for winter even in summer, you will need them !.

All in all a lovely family and just adult place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanbedr
6.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ty Mawr Hotel
Ty Mawr Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanbedr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Dinas Caravan Park, Camping & Glamping
23.9 mi away
Bwch-yn-Uchaf
Bwch-yn-Uchaf
#3 of 15 in Bala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
6.7 mi away
Estuary Lodge
Estuary Lodge
#1 of 6 in Talsarnau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shell Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shell Island

Property: Shell Island
Address: Llanbedr, Snowdonia National Park LL45 2PJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanbedr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Llanbedr
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based in North Wales and boasting stunning views of the unspoilt Welsh countryside, including Cardigan Bay and the Snowdonia National Park, Shell Island is one of Europe's largest Campsites. Catering for all the family and with excellent facilities, Shell Island will make your camping experience one to remember. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shell Island Llanbedr, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing