We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morning has broken.....just tooooooooooooooo early for my liking :)”
Review of Ty Mawr Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ty Mawr Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanbedr
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Morning has broken.....just tooooooooooooooo early for my liking :)”
Reviewed 9 May 2011

I agree 100 percent with all the other reviewers....great location....beautiful house lovingly presented with great food in a relaxed atmosphere. I would however beg Jane to invest in blackout blinds in the bedrooms. We are awake form 4.30 am with light flooding into the room and it spoiled the next day as we tried to explore the area while trying not to fall asleep.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank planb4ugoCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    44
    17
    7
    9
See reviews for
46
55
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
wigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Stayed here for two nights as a base to go exploring North Wales. The hotel is run by Steve and Jane who were really fab hosts and couldn't be more helpful. The hotel looks like something out of a picture postcard with Azalelas,Chamelia and Wisteria in full bloom when we arrived.
Our room overlooked the gardens and was lovely to just sit and drink a coffee/tea on the verandah in the morning.
We had all the intentions of using this as base to explore but decided to chill and have a a few drinks on the lawns both days we were there. However, we did walk to Shell Island which is close buy and spent the day walking and crabbing with the kids.
Food at the hotel was excellent and a very good price. The breakfast is included in the price and well worth it.
The room we stayed in was immaculate and the only gripe was the double bed we had was a little short in the leg. Perhaps when booking this may need mentioning if one is on the tall side.That apart we got 5 star service in a 2 star hotel
Dog owners will also be happy to know they're welcome to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karengil68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

My husband and I stayed during minus 10 temperature, whilst visiting friends over the Christmas period the room was warm and cosy. Jane and Steve the hoteliers were charming and, made us very welcome, and the breakfast was very nice too.

This small hotel is even more charming in the summer, where you can sit outside on the balcony with the heaters on , looking out on the large gardens. Also has a good choice of locally brewed beers ... mmmm especially good with Walkers crisps.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buntie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2009

A last minuted unplanned flying visit to Wales last weekend, on a dog rescue mercy mission... and suddenly we had a need to find somewhere to stay that would accept our three greyhounds.

I rang Ty Mawr, who did not give me the usual waffle about keeping them off furniture, leaving them in the room etc (any decent owner would do this in any case) but assured me that their own dogs would welcome them.

Having dashed in one go from Durham to Llanbedr we were welcomed warmly, and had been thoughtfully given a family room so the dogs had more space.

The room was en-suite, clean and warm and the beds and bedding very comfortable. Amazingly hot water (though a shower curtain would have been useful), and a long soak in the bath was just the job.

We adjourned, hounds in tow, to the stone floored bar with huge log fire. Very good bar meal - fresh and well presented (there's a restaurant if you aren't encumbered by a pack of dogs). Good selection of beers, if that's your thing, and the hosts were friendly and chatty; as were the locals in the bar. Great atmosphere.

We had a walk out of the village to star-gaze (so much better without all the light pollution!) and tired but happy, slept like logs. Breakfast was equally good -fresh coffee, fruit juice, toast, cereals, and full cooked breakfast.

Largely because the Ty Mawr Hotel was so welcoming and relaxing, the whole thing felt like a mini holiday rather than a 700 mile dash in 24 hours.

Would happily stay again for longer - well recommended.

  • Liked — Warmth of welcome
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikki07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2008

From the moment you arrive, you feel relaxed and rested, the Ty Mawr is located in the beautiful village of Llanbedr - an excellent base for exploring the region, from Harlech castle to it's fabulous beaches & from Snowdon to Portmerion - there is plenty to do!

Jane & Steve, the Inkeepers are great hosts - the bar is warm and welcoming providing excellent food and the best kept beer in the area. Breakfast was always delicious & the room spotless.

If considering a break in north Wales - The Ty Mawr should be your only choice!

  • Liked — The Bar
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DickieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shaw
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2007

me and the wife visit this hotel about 3 times a year, we love walking so this is in an ideal location, we first visited it in 1995, as I've said on another review, it might only have 2AA stars, but I would give it 5 for its friendly staff and its great location - it is run by a brother and sister team - Jane looks after the hotel and Steve looks after the bar, and if you're like me and enjoy good food and a decent pint at a sensible price then this is the place to go

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
Thank popeyeWeedersq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 March 2005

Jane welcomes you with a huge smile. Her cooking is second to none and she is anticipates all your needs.
Very handy for Snowdon and all the surrounding areas.
We stayed in the house as B&B guests, but Jane has 2 self catering cottages as well. Thoroughly recommend the b&b as her HUGE breakfasts set you up for the week, let alone the day! Our room was above average in size.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanbedr
22.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
708 reviews
8.7 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
323 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,419 reviews
6.8 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
308 reviews
22.2 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Mawr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Mawr Hotel

Property: Ty Mawr Hotel
Address: Llanbedr, Snowdonia National Park LL45 2NH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanbedr
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanbedr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ty Mawr Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ty Mawr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Mawr Hotel Llanbedr, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing