We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value all round”
Review of Ty Mawr Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ty Mawr Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanbedr
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-on-Avon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value all round”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We found Ty Mawr to be further from Portmadoc than we had expected, but it was worth the drive. The welcome was warm and the rooms clean and very pleasant. We had dinner in the pub rather than the restaurant, and it was good that they also had a lounge with TV and a good assortment of magazines. The dog enjoyed it too with a field to run in closeby. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladnerlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    44
    17
    7
    9
See reviews for
46
56
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We were advised by our holiday cottage owner that Ty Mawr would be a great place to visit due to the fact that we had our dog with us and wanted some dog friendly ideas.

It wasn't really the standard we had hoped for.

We were invited to sit inside with our dog which we welcomed as there are not many places that offer this locally, the bar really was a bit dated and could do with a bit of modernisation. Sitting in the bar would have been great if we were blokes as the bar inside had sport / news on the big screen and there were a couple of local men plonked down and looked like they weren't going anywhere (nor did they appear to have been aware else recently). So we chose to sit out on the garden tables in the pretty garden instead. This was tricky in itself because every other table (and there were a few!) had a big dog poo next to it! It was apparent later that the owners very gorgeous dog was allowed free range and obviously also took full advantange of the facilities. The dog was gorgeous and very friendly with our dog (who can be a bit grumpy with other dogs) so it was nice to see the owners dog and make a fuss of him, but they really need to poop a scoop more often.

The menu promised a lot but was very disappointing. I have to say in all fairness the starter of pate was to die for and I would definately recommend this. However when the waitress arrived to remove our starter plates she actaully asked if we would like fresh cutlery for our main meals!! Urrmm YES! We ordered our main meals one with Jacket pot and another with Chips and this simple request arrived with the wrong one on the wrong plate. The meals were OK, a good standard but absolutely nothing special, The vegetables need to be re-thought, they were dull and unusually for me I left them because they were limp and unpleasant. The sting in the tail after this very disappointing meal was the bill, it was far far too steep for what was a very ordinary meal which we probably could have got at a 2 4 £10 type establishment (which we actively avoid!).

The owner was lovely and very friendly, and the locals also made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I spent one night at Ty Mawr with my dog. I arrived mid afternoon during the Easter holidays. Excellent service and very friendly staff. I was showed to my room (room 6) and the girl had to shoulder the door for it to open! the room was big enough for a double bed and a dressing table and that was about it. I just had enough room to set the dog's pillow on the floor between the door and the bathroom. The bathroom was absolutely minute: toilets, a tiny washbasin and a shower with shower curtain. After dinner, I went to my room and watched TV. The windows are not double glazed and so it got a bit chilly despite the heating being on. There were no towels in the bathroom so good job I had mine... Breakfast was good and Jane and her daughter were very friendly, it's just a shame that the room was a bit of a disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Just returned from another fantastic stay at the Ty Mawr, went with family & friends for the Easter break, the welcome we get is second to none, Good food pleasant accomodation and really friendly staff, can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 10 are my favourites
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldhamer.4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Arrived late PM on a Sunday on business. There had been football on all day on their large TV screen and as a result the bar was full of well oiled locals. No problem but I just needed a quiet drink and some food.
As such I went to the sitting room where a waitress brought me the menu and a drink. She couldn't have been more accomodating and friendly.(not to mention pretty!)
Breakfast was served by an equally charming lady who was full of local information.
The room was very comfortable and warm, nice big bath and plenty of hot water.
The only downside was that had I had my wife and children with me I wouldn't have felt comfortable taking them to the noisy bar.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Totally amazing place to stay. Would recommend to both friends and family. Was clean and beautiful with very friendly staff. Xxx

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrightyjamie@london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Rooms and bathrooms urgently need updating.
Food very good, but basic. If you eat in the bar, it's not very comfortable.
Staff extremely nice and friendly and Jane was lovely.
However, this was not the quiet country hotel we expected. The hotel bar is used as a pub by locals and workmen and was booked for a 21st birthday party with very loud disco music which went on until midnight. Noisy party-goers finally left at 1am and we could finally go to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanbedr
22.1 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
526 reviews
22.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
715 reviews
8.7 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
311 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,438 reviews
22.2 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Mawr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Mawr Hotel

Property: Ty Mawr Hotel
Address: Llanbedr, Snowdonia National Park LL45 2NH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanbedr
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanbedr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ty Mawr Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ty Mawr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Mawr Hotel Llanbedr, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing