We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dog friendly hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ty Mawr Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ty Mawr Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanbedr
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great dog friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

So pleased to have stumbled across this dog friendly hotel when planning a short break to Snowdonia National Park.

We had a very warm welcome and were shown to room 1. This was a lovely room with a patio which was brilliant for nipping the dog out to especially at night just before going to bed! The room was clean and tidy. Only a few scuffs on the wall here and there but for a dog friendly hotel we were really impressed.

The hotel has a small bar/pub and restaurant in which we had lunch and dinner. On both occasions we really enjoyed our meals, found it to be well priced and all the staff and locals were very welcoming and friendly.

Breakfast was served in the restaurant in the morning. This is the only part of the hotel dogs are not allowed in which was no problem for us. Breakfast was delicious! Really high quality bacon and sausages with the cook breakfast. They also served a wide range of cereals and lighter breakfast options.

Locally we found some wonderful beaches that went on forever. The hotel is also only a 4min drive away from Shell Island.

Overall we really enjoyed this visit and wouldn't hesitate in returning.

I would only point out to those who are not happy to stay around dogs that this might not be the hotel for you. You will find very well behaved dogs in the bar and garden but it's worth pointing out to avoid disappointment and causing any unnecessary poor reviews for what we felt was a great friendly hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sarahrowe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    42
    17
    6
    9
See reviews for
45
51
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

We were on our way to Harlech and stopped here for a pub lunch. It was a beautiful, sunny day so we sat outside (in March!) and that just made it for us. The food was good, the service was friendly and prompt and the beer is excellent.

I don't know what it's like to eat inside, but would certainly recommend it for a lovely day.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starfish97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

We only ate an evening meal here and were a little disappointed.The staff were attentive and friendly but the food was very 'pubby' with lots of chips and too much variety ( always makes me worry when I see a menu with too many options!) and I agree with a previous review that the food came too quickly and was probably frozen.
Saying that my teenage boys were happy as the food was plentiful and came very quickly! And it was reasonably priced

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drdrjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

Having been to this hotel for meals when we have visited Llanbedr over the years and been very happy with the food and service we decided to try the accommodation for our half term short break. We weren't disappointed! The rooms were lovely and clean and well decorated. We had three rooms between 5 of us and 1 dog. There was everything we needed from toiletries to biscuits. We had our evening meals in the bar where the food was great and the atmosphere was friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was served in the restaurant and again the service was friendly and the food was good (tho the sausages could have been better).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Reading some of the reviews on here I can't believe it is the same place that we have just visited! we have never had a bad experience, lovely accomadation with very good food, and the staff are just the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldhamer.4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Nice little pub. Having eaten elsewhere we just needed a dessert and a nightcap before returning to our B&B. We chose the chocolate fudge cake and the strawberry sundae. The fudge cake was great but we were disappointed that the sundae was a pre-frozen desert in a plastic cone which had been slipped inside a glass. At £4.75 each we felt a bit let down but maybe the main courses make up for it, as there were a lot of diners enjoying the bar food. It's a pity the pricing policy on desserts can leave you a bit deflated

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smith1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We selected this hotel from the internet & had high expectations. Sadly these were dashed almost as soon as we set foot inside. The exterior looks very inviting, with fairly large grounds & ample parking, but the interior is very shabby & in need of improvement. Our room at first glance was pretty, equipped with furniture in the Louis X1V style, with lots of ornamental hearts scattered about, but the amount of storage was minimal - it was all just for show. We were provided with only one slatted wooden upright chair to sit in & I had to stuff pillows between the bed & the bedside table so that I didn't bang myself in the night. There was a hospitality tray, but until I asked for extra supplies, we were not given adequate milk/tea bags, coffee for drinks for both of us. There was nowhere to put the kettle, which had to stand on the floor. The bathroom was awful (no other word for it). The tiles had obviously been there a while & there were black stains in the grouting. I never succeeded in getting any hot water from any of the taps or shower & when I commented on this I was told it was the fault of the water pressure. Provision of shampoo/bath gel was miserly. Considering these rooms were priced at £80 prpn, we thought the accommodation was poor value & would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanbedr
22.3 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
22.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
22.4 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Mawr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Mawr Hotel

Property: Ty Mawr Hotel
Address: Llanbedr, Snowdonia National Park LL45 2NH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanbedr
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanbedr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ty Mawr Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ty Mawr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Mawr Hotel Llanbedr, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing