We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff and lovely food.”
Review of Ty Mawr Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ty Mawr Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanbedr
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“friendly staff and lovely food.”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

my family and i ate twice here in a week throughout our stay in wales.
the food was lovely and we sat inside near the bar.
the food was ordered and arrived swiftly.
the staff were efficient and friendly.
the customers we met there were really friendly and was quite busy with people sat outside in the lovely sunny weather with small dogs.
we would defo go again and will be recommending our families.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank beach baby b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    46
    18
    7
    9
See reviews for
48
58
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Good location, clean and very friendly hosts. Nice big garden to the front with tables and benches in which to enjoy a warm summer evening and a REAL pub. Nice quiet location and we would definitely consider staying here again if/when in the area.

Room Tip: The locals frequent the pub after their work day and so the car park can be quiet full if arriving e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ForsetiGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights, thouroughly enjoed our stay, staff really friendly and willing to help was like home from home will definatley be back soon brekkie was lovely and the weather made it worth while too!!! would reccomend this to anybody lovey place and scenery.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed in this hotel to attend a wedding which was taking place just up the road. Although only a 2-Star the room was immaculate, the bed comfy and the bathroom clean (although a stand up shower would have been nice instead of a hand-held shower in the bath).

We had a full Welsh breakfast which was included in the very reasonable price and was beautifully cooked. After the wedding we returned to the hotel for a few drinks in the hotel bar and the staff were very accommodating and happy to serve us until we went to bed.

It felt homely and a little exclusive as there are only 10 rooms. We definitely had the best room so if you're a couple then ask for Room 10.

It's walking distance to the train station and the town it's self is charming.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the same level, some are twins but the best double is right at the end of the corri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chounsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Stayed for two nights. Nice bed, nice shower, nice staff. Great food, great surroundings. In fornt is a river and you can hear the sound of the water flowing over the rocks when sitting in the garden.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night on business. I have I say a great location. A great looking hotel and lovely done out bedrooms. Small but clean and very well thought out. Dinner okay for a pub meal. Well priced. Staff lovely. Would use again. Great price too. Thanks to all.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vintagetourer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

So pleased to have stumbled across this dog friendly hotel when planning a short break to Snowdonia National Park.

We had a very warm welcome and were shown to room 1. This was a lovely room with a patio which was brilliant for nipping the dog out to especially at night just before going to bed! The room was clean and tidy. Only a few scuffs on the wall here and there but for a dog friendly hotel we were really impressed.

The hotel has a small bar/pub and restaurant in which we had lunch and dinner. On both occasions we really enjoyed our meals, found it to be well priced and all the staff and locals were very welcoming and friendly.

Breakfast was served in the restaurant in the morning. This is the only part of the hotel dogs are not allowed in which was no problem for us. Breakfast was delicious! Really high quality bacon and sausages with the cook breakfast. They also served a wide range of cereals and lighter breakfast options.

Locally we found some wonderful beaches that went on forever. The hotel is also only a 4min drive away from Shell Island.

Overall we really enjoyed this visit and wouldn't hesitate in returning.

I would only point out to those who are not happy to stay around dogs that this might not be the hotel for you. You will find very well behaved dogs in the bar and garden but it's worth pointing out to avoid disappointment and causing any unnecessary poor reviews for what we felt was a great friendly hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sarahrowe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanbedr
22.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
722 reviews
8.7 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
333 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
530 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
6.4 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Mawr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Mawr Hotel

Property: Ty Mawr Hotel
Address: Llanbedr, Snowdonia National Park LL45 2NH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanbedr
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanbedr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ty Mawr Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ty Mawr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Mawr Hotel Llanbedr, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing