We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and welcoming pub with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ty Mawr Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ty Mawr Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanbedr
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming pub with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We were sceptical about the wide range of items on the menus and 'specials' but very pleasantly surprised when our light lunch choices arrived. The beer is well kept and there's always one special at a very special price. As a place for a pint or a meal in Llanbedr this knocks spots off the more immediately obvious and better know Queen Vic.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 295horace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    42
    17
    6
    9
See reviews for
45
52
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

On arrival we couldn't park within the grounds and had to park on the street then carry all our bags to the hotel. We'd booked the family room, £100 for the night and to be honest compared to the rest of the hotels we'd stayed in over the previous week this was by far the worse. The room was cramped with 2 single beds and a pull out sofa bed, again 2 singles. The carpet could do with a good clean as it smelt of either human or dog urine in between the 2 single beds. The bathroom needs ripping out, the bath was cracked with the front panel barely hanging on and the towel holder fell off the wall! This is obviously a dog friendly place as looking out of my window into the nice beer garden i counted no less than 6 dogs - for a family such as mine who don't like dogs it wasn't the best place i'd been and i'm sorry to say i won't be going back and i wouldn't recommend to any of my friends and family. On the plus side the staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: The family room is over priced for what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holmsey1618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

pictures on the internet didnt match the room we were given. room 7....No bath very lumpy mattress.yes there is a flat screen tv but reception poor no satilite in room as advertised, the only good thing was the lady who served breakfast she was lovely unlike the brother who ran the bar....

Room Tip: dont have room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moss-and-julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We ate as a family in the bar,although there were tables set in a beautiful garden. The staff were really welcoming and friendly. The food choice was excellent as they had a comprehensive menu to choose from as well as a specials board.
Our order was taken by a friendly waitress, who took the time to chat to us a bit first and then took our order. The food arrived really quickly, was piping hot, well presented and tasted heavenly. All four of us agreed on this point. The food was excellent value for money and we would recommend anyone to have a meal there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank barcachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Fernando, Trinidad
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

The staff is friendly and very accommodating. We arrived after the kitchen had closed (a few minutes after 9:00pm) but the young lady at reception still offered us sandwiches and chips. Thank you very much. The rooms were clean and there was a tea caddy in the bedroom. Clean and cosy. Brochures available for sightseeing and I especially liked the shelf with all the old hardcovered books. Wifi available.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

my family and i ate twice here in a week throughout our stay in wales.
the food was lovely and we sat inside near the bar.
the food was ordered and arrived swiftly.
the staff were efficient and friendly.
the customers we met there were really friendly and was quite busy with people sat outside in the lovely sunny weather with small dogs.
we would defo go again and will be recommending our families.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank beach baby b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Good location, clean and very friendly hosts. Nice big garden to the front with tables and benches in which to enjoy a warm summer evening and a REAL pub. Nice quiet location and we would definitely consider staying here again if/when in the area.

Room Tip: The locals frequent the pub after their work day and so the car park can be quiet full if arriving e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ForsetiGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanbedr
22.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
6.3 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
22.2 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Mawr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Mawr Hotel

Property: Ty Mawr Hotel
Address: Llanbedr, Snowdonia National Park LL45 2NH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanbedr
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanbedr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ty Mawr Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ty Mawr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Mawr Hotel Llanbedr, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing