We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location, great for families, bad for couples!”
Review of Nantcol Waterfalls

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanbedr
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nantcol Waterfalls
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, great for families, bad for couples!”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I found this to be a very noisy site but mostly the noise is from children laughing, screaming and shouting with delight so if you have kids it's probably ideal but if not I'd suggest visiting outside school holidays. As we didn't have kids with us I felt this was really not the site for us.

I prefer my holidays to be be peaceful and this certainly wasn't! This was exasperated by the fact that the there was a group of 3 families next to us, including 8 children and yet there is a notice at the entrance saying that they don't accept group bookings! I can only assume that they mean they don't accept groups of single people and yet these families were probably noisier than single people with the adults sitting outside until late at night.

The surroundings are beautiful with lovely walks straight from the site but again the area by the river is noisy. The site allows campfires and this adds a nice touch. Reception sells a nice selection of ice cream!

The owner admits that the current facilities are inadequate and there is a notice showing the plans for a new facilities block but if they know there aren't enough facilities why take so many bookings? I find this to be very greedy.

Currently there are only 2 washbasins in the ladies toilet block and frequently I found there was nowhere to wash my hands because these basins were being used by those cleaning their teeth. I also found it tedious to have to queue for a washing up sink and 1 morning I queued 40 mins for a shower. However, they do state the new facilities will be available in 2012.

I probably won't return!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tibbytnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    37
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
79
42
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Totally agree with other comments so far. What a lovely campsite with nice walks from site

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Wheeliefab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Pick your spot for tent(s) is the beauty of this site, 2 very large fields alongside river. Limited shower/toilet block was not a problem (extending this in 2012). Very friendly family run. 10 minutes by car from Llanbedr. Pub and shops in village. Ideal also for local beaches (recommend Llandanwg beach, just 10 minutes north of Llanbedr by car). Ideal also for short hillwalks including to viewpoint at Gelli-bant SH 61543 25884, as well as climb up Rhinog Fawr via Foel Ddu SH 63426 28368. Waterfalls on Afon CwmNantcol are spectacular. Forest trails also well marked. Places for small fires if interested (buy wood from campsite or in village). We were here for a whole week, glorious sunshine throughout - as Arnie said 'I'll be back'.

Room Tip: Location for tent(s) is first come first... so arrive mid-afternoon for pick of 2 big fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadMike248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

What a beautiful site, its a shame we live so far away because this is definately our favourite campsite so far. You need to book in advance in the summer holidays, we had only booked for 3 nights and our plans were to move on to somewhere else but we loved it so much that we asked if we could stay and fortunately we could have another two nights so stayed for a total of 5 nights. We didnt have EHu so we could pitch where we liked and there were no times to be off the site, we could leave when we liked on the last day which is a big bonus. At the moment the site has 5 ladies toilets (dont know how many mens as hubby didnt think to count!) and 3 showers, there were queues at peak times for the showers but we never had to wait for long and I understand that they are building another block for next year.

The waterfalls through the site are beautfiul as are all the lovely walks surrounding the area, we walked for miles and miles while we were here. Its in a fairly good location for visiting snowdon etc. We were also very fortunate with the weather having 5 days of glorious sunshine which really helped. It was lovely to see all the children playing in the river and on the rope swings, enjoying themselves without the use of tvs, games consoles etc.

I would highly recommend this campsite. Also the owners were extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If on the non-EHU site try to pitch your tent opposite the toilet block with the river on your left...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

beautiful site and surroundings. just how you imagine a camping holiday to be. lovely friendly family who own the site. you can have a fire which is rare these days, you can buy logs for £3.75 a bundle, and aron will bring them over for you. we had electric hook up, so had an assigned pitch, but without electric you can pitch any where. kids can play in the river and there are rope swings dotted around the site. the little village of llanbedr,has a shop and an excellent butchers for your bbqs. a little tip if your looking for some where to park for the beach, it may be worth a ten min drive to dyffryn. turn right and drive down to dyffryn seaside estates campsite, there is a public car park next to it. parking £2 for four hours or £4 for the day. you can then walk over the board walk, to a beautifull beach.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bernybees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

A lovely little campsite, nested in a valley about 2 miles from Llanbedr. Suitable for camping, caravanning and motorhomes (has powerpoints). Definitely book in advance - they have a great website that takes online bookings. Arrive early to get a good spot! Open fires are allowed. The only slight negative is that the toilet block and shower facilities are pretty small but the owners are building a new block for 2012 which will also include laundry room facilities. Showers are on a 50p key-card system (5 mins of lovely hot water!). There is plenty of room across the 3 fields and everyone seemed to be having a good time. We paid £8 per night per adult for camping.

While you are here take a walk up to the Nantcol Waterfalls - truly stunning. Llanbedr is a reasonably walk away and has a pub serving a good range of food. There are also a couple of village shops selling essentials - otherwise you'll need to drive to Porthmadoc for bigger shops.

Room Tip: Arrive early for the decent pitches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gingerbirdie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

stopped over two days in june 2011.

excellent campsite, very very good facilites & friendly staff.

would stop again

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minimodmk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanbedr
6.2 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,444 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
167 reviews
8.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
378 reviews
20.7 mi away
Bwch-yn-Uchaf
Bwch-yn-Uchaf
#4 of 15 in Bala
54 reviews
5.6 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 3 in Llanaber
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nantcol Waterfalls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nantcol Waterfalls

Property: Nantcol Waterfalls
Address: Cefn Uchaf, Llanbedr, Snowdonia National Park LL45 2PL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanbedr
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Llanbedr
Number of rooms: 62
Also Known As:
Nantcol Waterfalls Hotel Llanbedr
Nantcol Waterfalls Llanbedr, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing