We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A week of camping” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nantcol Waterfalls

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanbedr
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nantcol Waterfalls
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A week of camping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stayed for a week at the site with my dog in a tent. I absolutely loved the site and it's location. It's located in a valley, so I had no mobile connection but a wifi card can be bought from the shop. The owners were lovely and very helpful with advice as to which walks you could do etc. They sell fire wood for log fires which are allowed on the pitches. The site has it's own fresh water stream, and waterfall, running through it and was a great spot to cool down from the heat. I agree with the previous reviewer that cleanliness of the facilities could definitely be improved upon, but that did not detract from my enjoyment of the site and the area.
Whilst there, the midges were terrible in the evenings (none noticed during the day) and I checked out 2 other sites in Bedgellert who had same problem, so not a fault of the site, rather just nature. I just made sure to keep my sleeping area in the tent closed at all times and come dusk (around 9.30pm) when the midges made their presence felt, I'd retreat back into my (closed) tent to read a book or have an early night. Whilst I was there, the site had lots of families with children who clearly enjoyed themselves. I liked the relaxed feel of the camp and the owners. All in all I loved the site and will definitely return as the location is just so beautiful.

Room Tip: If you chose EHU pitch they're allocated upon arrival and are very spacious, the non electric pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamy121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    32
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
74
37
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Half way thought our time here and have to say the campsite is fantastic staff great location brill kids love it so happy mum and dad.
Now the bad bit they have stunning toilet and shower block but they never get cleaned properly the same stains around the toilets are still there after 4 days. The shower blocks are the same they only ever sweep them out.
There are no bins around the washing up area so campers just leave the place a mess great shame.
All that is needed here to make this a place I would come back to is a good cleaner a couple of bins
Again a great shame this place could have been in my top five campsites and we do a lot of camping all over the uk

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 265Happycampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Went for Easter weekend and just had to return for a week and now can't wait to go back. Beautiful location, super site with good sized pitches and the site owners are really lovely and helpful. Having camp fires each evening is great fun. Spoilt for choice for things to do in such a beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

On coming to the site we pitched up in the camp enjoying the sound of the water and lighting the fires soon to find me and the family covered in midges and getting bit we then thought to move the tent the other side of the camp to find the midges even worse.we woke around 4:30am to find the tent and BBQ covered in midges even though we had sprayed everything I am now recoving from a spoilt weekend been bitten

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Madmarcus01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

We found Nantcol Waterfalls quite by accident. It is a super site next to a waterfall and small river, in an area shaped by the last glacial era. The site owners were helpful and the site was clean and pitches were a decent size. Wood was available from reception to build camp fires, which added to the ambiance of this peaceful site. We used the site as a springboard for day trips and walks. The walk out the back of the camp site was beautiful with riverside and woodland walks, and a nature trail. Penmaenpool; Blue Lake, Fairbourne ( a hidden gem which can be a little hard to find); Cadair Idris; Cregannan Lakes and Betws Y Coed are all within easy reach and well worth a visit. Nantcol Waterfalls is definitely a site we would use again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ride_the_Lightning84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

A perfect campsite for a family holiday. Losts to do locally and the kids loved the rope swing, messing about in the river and having camp fires. While we were there the campsite was full but there was no crowding. We had a few midges one night but not a problem compared with some scottish sites.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank auchter01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Nantcol was recommended to me and my boyfriend by my sister who has stayed there before with her family in a caravan. She advised this was also ideal for tents. The site actually had significantly more tent at the hook ups, than caravans.

Mid-week arrival is recommended, we pitched up Wednesday and the hook ups were almost full by Friday. We did deliberately book term time to avoid kids, but they were still about, although this didn’t cause noise issues much midweek.

The campsite shop is only manned 1 hour in morning and 1 hours evenings midweek, but open all day at weekends. Site facilities were great and we saw regular cleaning of those facilities. Showers get busy at weekends though so on a full site, shower early!

The elec pitches were evenly spaced but by weekend at full capacity, your close to your neighbour. The non elec field had plenty of space though, even at full capacity.

The town has a few shops/butcher but do go stocked up. Nearest pub is a good drive away. The waterfalls were outstanding, definitely our favourite and ideal for a romantic walk. A very special location and we were fortunate to get superb weather.

Do visit Barmouth beach, great little cafes and harbour side pubs serving great food. Also Harlech castle is worth a visit too, at £5 its hardly a bank breaker!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Highlander1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanbedr
6.2 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ty Mawr Hotel
Ty Mawr Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanbedr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
21.6 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
1.2 mi away
Dinas Caravan Park, Camping & Glamping
20.7 mi away
Bwch-yn-Uchaf
Bwch-yn-Uchaf
#2 of 15 in Bala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nantcol Waterfalls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nantcol Waterfalls

Property: Nantcol Waterfalls
Address: Cefn Uchaf, Llanbedr, Snowdonia National Park LL45 2PL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanbedr
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Llanbedr
Number of rooms: 62
Also Known As:
Nantcol Waterfalls Hotel Llanbedr
Nantcol Waterfalls Llanbedr, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing