We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“30th birthday - excellent ”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llangower
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Feather Down Farms at Pant y March Farm
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here back last year and forgot to write a review.

Had the enjoyable stay and experience here. It was really really comfortable (bit cold waking up in the morning !) and the showers / washing facilities were fantastic .

The owners couldn't do enough to help and made you feel really at home! Great little shop and pizzas made by llinos on the pizza oven were brilliant.

A real treat and nice to do something different !

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank binkyboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
There are newer reviews for Feather Down Farms at Pant y March Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Pant Y March mid October. We had high expectations and they were surpassed!

Geraint and Llinos were very welcoming even though we arrived late into the evening after a long journey. It was pitch black but the fire was lit as were the candles. The children had great fun collecting wood and helping with all the chores. We had a "no gadget" family policy in place and it was great to spend some quality time as a family. The location and the accommodation were both fantastic. Llinos cooked us some pizzas in the burner and we also had a very interesting tour around the farm with Geraint.

The hot tub was an adventure in itself as was getting the burner lit in the morning but that all just added to the very unique and memorable time we had here. We were luck enough to have a holiday in Hawaii earlier this year and I reckon in 10 years time, the kids will still be talking about our weekend in Wales more!

Thanks for a unique break. Highly recommended and we wish you every success!

Room Tip: Both of the tents are quite close together but the hot tubs and showers are both on opposite sides s...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed for 5 days right at the end of the season, October 2013 half term. The weather was shocking, but we didn't care. It was a joy and a privilege watching the weather and seasons come in over the valley to Pant y March Farm. The views were simply stunning, and the accommodation was great fun. Lots to do around and about.
Geraint and Llinos are simply outstanding hosts. Attentive, helpful, friendly and welcoming. Llinos tells great tales of Welsh legends on her Farm Walk, and make sure to eat her pizza freshly prepared in the pizza oven, yum! Geraint chats about the farm with obvious pride, and is always checking that you are comfortable and if there is anything needed.
Totally recommended. J and J Loach.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanineLoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed for a week at the start of the summer holidays and had a great time as a family on our first stay at a Feather Down Farms property. Being honest, we spent more time together as a family and as a couple this time than on previous activity holidays abroad, with the result that I felt relaxed and emotionally rested on my return. However, I don't think I've ever worked so hard on a holiday (see below about the wood fires...!)

Overall we had a great time, but to be honest it was probably just as much hard work as our normal camping trips away, despite the 'glamping/frills' label. Would I go again? Yes, but probably only for a long weekend.


Positives:
Accommodation - well-built tent with comfortable, warm beds and inside toilet. Running cold water. Hammock with lovely views over the countryside (if you can get the kids out of it).
Hot-tub and shower - both are located next to the tent and when fired-up are lovely to use. Electric showers are available in a well-kept block near the farmhouse.
Cooking - wood-burning stove in the tent or rather unusual wood fire outside are available.
Setting - lovely hill side location overlooking the valley, although not the lake itself due to planning restrictions. Bala itself has some nice cafes and a Co-Op store for groceries, although the honesty-box based farm shop was great as well.
Hosts - the family are welcoming and accommodating in equal measure. A pleasure to get to know a little.
Frills - whilst the hot-tub and shower were nice, rather surprisingly it was the front porch, deck-chairs and hammock which were the most usefull things in the extra-cost frills package. Being able to shelter from the rain without taking wet stuff into the tent each time was fantastic!

Downsides:
Accommodation - clearly factory built and erected as kits (think 'Disney does a safari tent'). Nowhere to place lights at night near the sofa (so remember to take extra torches/lanterns). The tents are also placed much closer together than we had expected, with little privacy between them.
Hot-tub and shower - no privacy offered, especially if in the one nearest the gate. The shower in particular is very fiddly to keep the fire going. The hot-tub took 3 hours of constant care and a whole wheelbarrow load of wood to get to temperature. It also doesn't keep its heat overnight, contrary to advice received.
Cooking/heating - the stove takes some time to get going. I'm glad we took our own camping gas-stove for cups of tea in the morning.
Wood - a large pile of dry, chopped wood is available near the farmhouse. Unfortunately it's some way up the hill from the tents...
Setting - a car will be needed to get about as the farm is at the end of a long, steep track up from the lakeside.
Farm setting - understandably, every farm is different, but the Feather Down Farms website promises 'farm experiences' which not all sites are capable of supplying. This is a sheep farm. There is one over-friendly sheep; the rest are very skittish. There are some chickens. Find another farm if you want your kids cuddling cute baby animals and riding horses, etc. Oh and don't go in the middle of the summer in that case either!

Tips:
Pick the tent furthest from the gate/parking (for slightly better privacy).
You will still need lots of normal camping stuff (long matches or a gas BBQ lighter, garden gloves, torches/lanterns, fire lighter blocks, basic food/condiments, extra blankets/sleeping bags).

Suggestions to the owners:
Place some weed-control fabric under the front porch - it was really annoying having the long wet grass poking through.
Put a new gate in between the tents and the farmhouse.
Place some welcome signs on the farm track and at the turning next to the lake - it was really quite tricky to find the correct track.
Build a wood store in the parking layby near the tents.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H0nestB0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed here for 5 days and enjoyed amazing weather while the rest of country got hit by thunderstorms. The location is good, the view over Lake Bala and across to the mountains opposite is stunning, you can sit with a beer and watch the sunset.
The 'tents' are great, comfortable beds, running water and our son loved the wood fired hot tub. Geraint & LLinos are fantastic hosts, great sense of humour and really helpful. The area around the farm is beautiful, Bala has a few reasonable places to eat but the scenery is the main draw. We hope we'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grumpy_Gargoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We had a great time, which when you consider it rained all week, we owed much to the owners for that. Loved the whole process even the constant battle to keep the fire in with such inclement weather. Needs a small amount of diligence to keep it fresh. We were the only customers this week and that was a pity, but all praise to the owners who stuck with it. Did all they said they would do and charming with it,

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

A dramatic setting with cracking views and a farm with lots to explore. Owners cannot do enough to help. Tents are good with all you need for a stay. Little (honesty) shop on site covers basics with some local produce. I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: All tents are identical and share same views.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Feather Down Farms at Pant y March Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feather Down Farms at Pant y March Farm

Address: Llangower, Snowdonia National Park, Bala LL23 7BY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Bala > Llangower
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Llangower
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Feather Down Farms At Pant y March Farm Bala, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing