We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snowdon Cancer Memorial Trek”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanrug
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Llys Derwen Caravan & Tent Site
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Snowdon Cancer Memorial Trek”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Absolutely Amazing Campsite, Super Friendly & Helpful. Emrys is one in a million. Will do all they can to accomodate all your needs. Great Price & Fantastic Views. Highly Reccommended. First Class Facilities. Extremely clean and well maintained Grounds.

Room Tip: 2 Static Caravans or Caravan/Motorhome or Tent Pitches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABishop2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
43
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This was my first time in wales and probably one of the best campsites i have come across in my years of camping. Very good campsite with plenty of space and flat surface, had very clean toilets with hot showers and a washing up area. The laundrette was really a lifesaver as our clothes were drenched and we all sat together playing cards while our clothes were getting dried. The owner was also very friendly and helpful and gave a us quick guide on which routes to take to go up Snowdon and which places to go around the area. All in all it was a short visit and definitely plan to come back for longer next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diwashthapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This has to be a candidate for the kept campsite in Snowdonia and offers excellent value for money. The toilet block and showers are nothing less than immaculate. I work as an outdoor instructor in the area on a regular basis and this is my favourite campsite of all. The camping pitches are beautifully level and the site feels very homely. Ideal for families or if you just want to get away from everything. It is run by a very conscientious owner who attends to every detail. It is both perfectly maintained and very laid back with a most relaxing atmosphere. You can even see the summit of Snowdon from here! It is off the beaten track and not visible from the road so it also feels very private. Blink and you will miss the entrance a few hundred yards along the Llanrug to Waun Fawr road. It also sits just beyond the point where the mountain influence the weather so if there is nice weather to be had you will find it here!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hamish_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Very relaxing atmosphere due to the warm welcome and great deal of attention given by Emrys and Bethan. I think other visitors comments sum up exactly how we feel about it. You will never find a cleaner site anywhere. We went for one night and stayed for six, very reluctant to leave. After three days at home we are already looking forward to our next visit. Thank you so much Enrys and Bethan for making our first trip to North Wales such a success. Mike and Di. Weymouth, Dorset.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temse
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Very nice campsite with a very helpful owner! Clean showers and toilets. From the campsite starts a very nice walk to Llanberis(3miles) with nice views as also other different kinds of walks. Bakery at 2 min. walk from the campsite. When we’re back in Wales we visit this campsite again!!

Jo and Christel from Belgium.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We had a late trip on the Snowdonia Railway so needed to find a campsite, we came across this gem of a site which was perfect. It was our first time camping in our small campervan but the owner put us at ease and showed us the layout of the site. It is immaculate and the toilet and shower facilities were exceptionally clean with plenty of free hot water. Plots are spacious with hook-up and water tap. The site although near the road was very quiet and we had a good nights sleep. The area is very picturesque, the scenery stunning. The owner was very informative but we were only staying the one night and had to leave early the next morning. We will definitely return and also recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank val435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My partner and I stayed at this campsite last week and we found it to be of an excellent standard. We were met by one of the site managers, Emrys who was very friendly and as it was our first trip to North Wales, very helpful with things we could do in the area. The site is very clean and tidy and the showers were lovely and hot. There is a free hairdryer to use in the shower block which was handy. The toilet and shower block was always clean and tidy. There were taps with drinking water available to use so we did not have to buy any extra water which was great. The site is enclosed by a wall and high bushes so plenty of privacy from the road. There is a bakers just down the road which at first glance looks like someones house and it is. The only way you know it is open is when the door is left open. He only opens in the morning and we had some fantastic pasties, meat pies, coconut macaroons and bread rolls. We would certainly use this site again. The only minor point to make was as we were in a tent and our pitch was next to the wall by the road so we could hear the cars going by when we were trying to go to sleep. It wouldn't bother someone in a camper but in a tent you can hear people walking by so cars can be very loud. When we camp there again we will ask to have a pitch anywhere else but by the wall next to the road. It is only 10 minutes from Snowdon and other great attractions like the free slate mine, the train that goes up Snowdon, the Hyrdo Electric mountain and a steam train which goes round the lake. I'm not doing the place justice so ask Emrys as he gave us those places to go to and they were so worth the visit. We had a fab time.

Room Tip: If you are in a tent don't have a pitch next to the wall by the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bexsie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanrug
0.9 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
743 reviews
3.6 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,010 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
172 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ogwen Bank Caravan Park and Country Club
4.4 mi away
Plas Dinas Country House
Plas Dinas Country House
#1 of 1 in Bontnewydd
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llys Derwen Caravan & Tent Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llys Derwen Caravan & Tent Site

Property: Llys Derwen Caravan & Tent Site
Address: Llys Derwen Bryngwyn Road, Llanrug LL55 4RD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Llanrug
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Llanrug
Hotel Class:4 star — Llys Derwen Caravan & Tent Site 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family-run site set in woodlands within the Snowdonia National Park. Only a short distance from Llanberis, Snowdon, Caernarfon castle, Angelsey and the beaches of the Llyn Peninsula. Central for local village shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Llys Derwen Caravan & Tent Site Llanrug, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing