We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely wedding, great staff, excellent food”
Review of Seiont Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seiont Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanrug
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely wedding, great staff, excellent food”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We went to a wedding at Seiont Manor at the weekend and stayed for 2 nights. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was great. We've eaten in a few very good restaurants over the years and this was of a really high standard. The wedding itself was superb and the hotel staff were incredibly efficient and friendly. The hotel itself is set in beautiful grounds and is full of character. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bucksgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aled_Humphreys, General Manager at Seiont Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Seiont Manor Hotel as guests at a wedding.

I was delighted to read your comments with regards to your stay, the team and the food and will ensure that they are passed to the team here at the hotel.

It is always very pleasing to read such positive feedback and I thank you for taking the time to write.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Seiont Manor very soon.

Yours sincerely

Aled Humphreys
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    225
    73
    37
    26
See reviews for
162
399
13
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We have just returned from a wedding at this hotel and can't wait to go back. The staff are amazing and their level of customer interest and courtesy is a credit to the hotel. Our room had a four poster bed and it was spacious with a separate seating area, exceptionally comfortable and clean. The bathroom was also large. The common areas were clean and the lounge areas around the bar were very comfortable. The quality of food at the wedding dinner was very good and the breakfasts were too good to miss. We didn't get time to explore the ample grounds but will visit again. Pricey for food and drink especially as there are no easy alternatives, but I suppose these things are and we WILL do it again. We would suggest that some bottles of wine at considerably under £20 would encourage more repeat business.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelidenRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aled_Humphreys, General Manager at Seiont Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Seiont Manor Hotel as guests at a wedding.

I was delighted to read your comments with regards to your stay, the team and the food and will ensure that they are passed to the team here at the hotel.

It is always very pleasing to read such positive feedback and I thank you for taking the time to write.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Seiont Manor very soon when you will hopefully you will be able to take full advantage of the hotels facilities and grounds.

Yours sincerely

Aled Humphreys
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I've stayed here a few times for business and the hotel is fantastic. Great location - if a little remote - fabulous views, well equipped rooms. The restaurant serves great food but is expensive, as is the bar.
Can't speak highly enough of the staff, all of whom are excellent. Breakfast in particular is a real treat as you are often given an impromptu Welsh language lesson!
Only the food/bar prices and lack of local alternatives stops it being a 5!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharpy0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aled_Humphreys, General Manager at Seiont Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Seiont Manor Hotel.

I was delighted to read your comments with regards to your stay and will ensure that they are passed to the team here at the hotel, especially Helen.

It is always very pleasing to read such positive feedback and I thank you for taking the time to write.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Seiont Manor very soon.

Yours sincerely

Aled Humphreys
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Just got back from a one night stay.My husband and I had a lovely stay.Our room was lovely,it was very large the bed was massive!
Although there were a few minus points:
We were booked into the resturant at 8pm which was fine but we ordered our food we got most of our courses but it was 10pm before we got our main course! It was very busy but I do think this was a very long time to wait.
This has not put us off returning but I think maybe on a busy night there should be more staff.All the staff were very polite .

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aled_Humphreys, General Manager at Seiont Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Seiont Manor Hotel.

I was delighted to read your comments with regards to your accommodation and the team and will ensure that they are passed to the team here at the hotel.

Please accept my apologies for the long wait for your meals in the Restaurant, I will be addressing your comments with my Restaurant Manager and Head Chef.

I so hope that I will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Seiont Manor very soon.

Yours sincerely

Aled Humphreys
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Large comfortable room. Lovely staff. Roaring fires. Great food.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aled_Humphreys, General Manager at Seiont Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Seiont Manor Hotel.

I was delighted to read your comments with regards to your stay and will ensure that they are passed to the team here at the hotel.

It is always very pleasing to read such positive feedback and I thank you for taking the time to write.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Seiont Manor very soon.

Yours sincerely

Aled Humphreys
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

This hotel is in the Handpicked chain, which we have found to be good and reliable. The hotel has been developed from an old farmhouse, with the barns being converted into the rooms and leisure complex.

We stayed in a junior suite, which had views over the grounds and countryside on two sides, from windows with wrought iron balconies and good thick curtains. The room was spacious and furnished with Far Eastern dragon and pearl carved rosewood furniture, including sofa and chairs, coffee table, wardrobe, dressing table, writing table, hallstand and a large bed with a canopy. It was usefully equipped with one luggage stand (why not two in a double room?), large television, ironing board, trouser press, hairdryer, dressing gowns and slippers and was cosily warm, clean and perfectly quiet. A kettle and tea making facilities were provided, though the coffee was instant. Wifi was said to be available in the room but was patchy.

Minor negative points were that the room was rather dim, with no good light near electric sockets, so hair drying was only possible by dragging the mirrored hallstand across to a socket; and whilst good looking, rosewood furniture is by no means comfortable, neither was the bed, though staff were able to find softer pillows, upon request, as those provided were like rocks.

The bathroom was large, with separate bath and shower, bidet and adequate surfaces for wash stuff, and the shower was good and strong. The pool complex was attractive, though small, with a small gym and a sauna.

The grounds are delightful, and included a formal garden, still retaining a few flowers even in January, a stream, fishing lake, fields of sheep and beyond them the river Seiont, rushing over rocks and boulders. A few intriguing outhouses and bothies and the abondoned farmhouse completed the rural charm.

All staff were very helpful and friendly without ever being intrusive and were able to provide helpful advice about sightseeing in the locality, and for this the hotel is very well located, being only a short drive from Snowdon and many mountain and hill walks, Caernarvon, Bangor and Llanberis.

If you enjoy fine dining, you will find the restaurant is as good as any in this style and probably better. The chef was accommodating, whipping up a smoothie, since, as ever in such restaurants, no fruit or fresh drinks were available with dinner. It seems conformity is essential for chefs to win awards. However, I very much deplore this style of cuisine, with its homogeneity and scant regard for nutrition and will be glad when fashion allows the return of individuality, fresh vegetables, fruits, a variety of textures and an understanding of nutritional balance. Current fine dining menus with their ubiquitous soft textures, veloutes, foams, reductions, emulsions and beetroot with everything have long since palled.

Breakfast, on the other hand was pretty good, with both a buffet, including several cereals, fruits, and a couple of Welsh specialities, and a choice of cooked foods.

All in all, it was well worth almost a whole days drive each way to spend just one entire day in this lovely setting.

Room Tip: Room 10 has views on both sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aled_Humphreys, General Manager at Seiont Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at Seiont Manor Hotel.

I have made note of your comments with regards to the content of the menus and these will be forwarded to my Head Chef. I have also made a note of your feedback with regards to your accommodation and will address these with my Head Housekeeper.

I was delighted to read your comments with regards to the team at the hotel and will ensure that they are passed to the team here at the hotel, especially Antonio.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Seiont Manor in the future.

Yours sincerely

Aled Humphreys
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waenfawr, gwynedd, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2012

for the price that i paid for my meal i was expecting better quality than what i got it was vile! also when they got my order wrong they were refusing at one point to replace it, it came with gravy which i do not like so why try to force me to eat something i dont like! the manager wasn't very helpful, appart from one lovely lady that was the only understanding person there she should get a raise. but i think it was because the rest of them were foreign and they still struggled to speak english so why have people like that as staff, it should be the locals staffing it not them!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: just dont bother going there, unless your willing to go else where to eat
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 90L0rraine_C90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aled_Humphreys, General Manager at Seiont Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your visit to Seiont Manor.

I was disappointed to read your comments with regards to the level of service and the quality of food in the restaurant.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your comments in person and regain your confidence in Seiont Manor. I can be contacted on ahumphreys@handpicked.co.uk Alternatively, if you prefer you to contact our Customer Services department, please email customerservices@handpicked.co.uk

Yours sincerely

Aled Humphreys
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanrug
4.3 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
11.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
3.0 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
997 reviews
3.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,283 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seiont Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seiont Manor Hotel

Property: Seiont Manor Hotel
Address: | Caernarfon, Llanrug LL55 2AQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Llanrug
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanrug
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Seiont Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seiont Manor sits peacefully within the countryside of Snowdonia, some of the most stunning scenery in North Wales . Surrounded by 150 acres of mature farmland, Seiont Manor offers a complete escape from the pressures of every day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Seiont Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Seiont Manor
Hotel Manor Seiont
Seiont Manor Caernarfon
Seiont Manor Hotel Llanrug, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing