We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't let the Maître d put you off ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seiont Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seiont Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanrug
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't let the Maître d put you off ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Firstly and foremost it is without doubt 5 stars. Oh yes however, below is a portion of what was supposed to be brief copied and pasted email sent to a highly organised, responsive and professional senior management team. Drafted as we drove home and sent after consideration of fair and reasonableness.

Sent: 09 February 2014 19:22
To: Customer Services
Subject: Recent stay at Seiont Manor
Good afternoon,
we have just checked out after a very relaxing 2 day break.

We found the hotel, room, gardens and grounds surpassed our expectations. All meals, drinks and service were impeccable

There was only one member of staff who didn't wear a name badge (#### ###); the others including Antonio, Fiffon, Elfys, Jack and the two Vicki's were charming, polite, helpful, informative, witty and utterly professional. However, I would suggest that a couple on a romantic break should not be plagued by a boorish, pompous, overbearing, intrusive, personal, impolite and incredibly unprofessional know it all. Imagine our surprise when we were informed by fellow guests he was the ######## manager! They too felt intimidated and offended by his behaviour. Brief examples:

1) as a keen equestrian (mentioned in conversation to ##########) I was then shocked to hear ####### delight at eating horse meat.

2) As keen hikers and climbers we did not require precise detail on his recently purchased crampons and boots; not to mention how our plans for the weekend were derided.

3) As keen road cyclists we did not wish to hear that it was a lesser sport to that of mountain biking, of which ###%%%# professed to be an expert. After mastering road cycling, which was only for 'certain' people!

4) We booked part of our stay with a living social deal and enquired at reception regarding check out time, the receptionist said she'd have to check so we advised we'd return after breakfast. Upon entering the busy dining room ########## bellowed that as we were on a 'deal' (groupon) checkout was 1pm. He embarrassed us further by saying it was an extra £40per hour if we were late. His inference that we were or had taken liberties was the final straw.

5) We chose against fine dining on our second night to avoid ######### We therefore met Antonio, your Mexican restaurant manager, who was all you could wish for in a maitre'd. We commended him at reception after a lovely evening; which was overheard by ######## to which he interrupted and commented.

Ok enough I think you get the drift. So ultimately I'd wholeheartedly recommend this place.

room 5, 7-9th February 14

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Silverback19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    215
    70
    32
    25
See reviews for
152
386
12
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We booked to stay for a Saturday night, unfortunately we had a storm at home, and ended up arriving at the hotel much later than planned . I made a mistake in not making a dinner reservation when I made the booking. Anyway we ended up with a 9.15pm table in the fine dining restaurant.
The choice was limited on this menu, and comprised of 4 choices, fish,lamb, steak and a vegetarian option. This was the main disappointment, there was no lamb left! Se here we are in deepest Wales and they have run out of lamb.
The meal was excellent, apart from the now common slate plates( which aren't are cup of tea)
We ended the meal with an excellent chocolate ball pudding ( to die for ) , the staff in the restaurant were very attentive.
My only real grouse, was the bar area was a little detached from the restaurant, and as we were the last to dine, we were the only people in there.
The hotel room was of the usual Hand Picked hotels high standard.
Breakfast on Sunday was excellent, with a very good choice of local fare, and cooked to a very high standard

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoylake, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

My husband took me here to celebrate my birthday and what a stay. After booking in, which was no problem whatsoever, we were shown to our suite. It was a beauty. A very large room with two balconies, a massive four poster bed, sofa, coffee table, a large television, hostess tray and a coffee machine plus a bottle of champagne!! The bathroom was impressive, spotless, nice toiletries and towels and a large walk-in shower. We were going to travel out for a quick snack but the room and views were so nice we decided to get something off the room service menu and eat in. Sandwiches etc., were delicious. Before dinner we had a drink in the bar and looked at the menu, which on first glance was a little disappointing, but when the food arrived at the table it was absolutely gorgeous, not massive portions but with the added homemade bread rolls, 'amuse bouche' and sorbet and then coffee and chocolates we just about finished our meal.
The Welsh breakfast was lovely too. All the staff that we met we very friendly and polite. Overall a very pleasant and enjoyable stay. Would definitely recommend.
All the staff we met were friendly, polite and courteous

Room Tip: Room 131 - Junior Suite with two balconies - one overlooking the countryside the other stepping out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steviebobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed with my wife for a 2 night package over new year eve. We have previously been to this hotel some 6 years previously and remembered how good the food is.

Well nothing has changed. The food is excellent and this was demonstrated for the new years eve gala dinner which was basically an 8 course feast with paired wines for each course. Food secont to none.

Service equally brilliant - particularly Bev on the bar who saw to our every need.

Had cream tea on both day - also excellent.

We had an upgraded room which basically gives you terrace access or a balcony - so well worth the little extra.

Overall - this was nothing short of perfect for a break and i will recomend to family and friends.

One slight critisism if i may - the wifi was not working as the strong winds had blown something off the roof. In fairness this just made it even better as it meant we were holed up away from the outside world.

Well done again hand picked - another property and package to be proud of.

Room Tip: upgrade - its worth it for terrace access
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danweigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Staffordshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

The Christmas break we had at the Seiont Manor surpassed all expectations. The service was exceptional, the food devine, the attitude of the staff wonderful. Looking forward to our next visit mid year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yanbanshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loughborough
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We went to Seiont manor for a last minute New Year's Eve get away...

The initial booking was great, we got our room and told if we book online we will get confirmation emailed...
We then called to find out about our package to see if we were all booked In for dinner as we have had nothing to say we were. The lady on the phone said yes we can upgrade your package to dinner for £20 per person, great we said it fitted our budget!

A few hours later (just as we were leaving) a phone call comes in "she got it wrong dinner was now £80 per person" not in our budget but what other choice did we have they would offer us no other food!?

As we arrived we were late so had afternoon tea (that was included in our £80) delivered to our room, the warm champagne and stale "off the Buffett" food was perfectly matched! (Buffett finished at 5pm we arrived at 5:30!)

Once ready and on our way to the "gala" dinner expecting canapés and champagne between 7:30-8pm we arrived at 7:45 to be told we had missed all the canapés and could take our champagne to the table..perfectly rushed after driving 4 hours to have a relaxing evening.

Once at the table very nicely decorated I have to say we looked at the 6 course menu and pairing wines which started to build our hopes, main course was a sirloin "recommended by the chef pink" I was very excited my perfect steak...not...I was the only one on the table to have a very medium steak. How could I complain after I had already pointed out the wine to accompany was corked!? The couple beside us agreed but were not fussed my partner didn't get offered a change of glass so had to share my replacement.
Dessert was a chocolate sphere with cream inside unfortunately bought in but gave us the sweet tooth we had some satisfaction.

New Years was welcomed in making it our own :) off to bed at 2:30am grateful the duty manager had granted us an extra hour in bed!

Morning arrived....New Years day...full english breakfast was in dyer need...room service it was...arrived the cold tea, cold breakfast with the most pathetic amount of food spread out over the plate...
We called back feeling slightly guilty as a restaurant manager and chef but we could not eat it! Duty manager knocked on the door stormed passed my partner and stomped out, before the door was even closed he started huffing and puffing (oops)
Fifteen twenty minutes had passed as he said it would , the food arrived with the reassurance it was all piping.!
Soggy hash browns and one that we had bitten was left on the plate I stabbed my egg with my fork for it to stand up (photo evidence)


All in all the hotel was beautiful, half the staff were fantastic, Beverly was attentive to our every need!! Duty manager made us feel that as we were younger we did not know what we were talking about, little did he know I have been running restaurants for 5 years, qualified sommelier and my partner has been head chef for 10 years!

Food needs fixing!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALGLJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aled_Humphreys, General Manager at Seiont Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your visit to Seiont Manor.

I was disappointed to read your comments with regards certain aspects of your stay which did not live up to your expectations.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your comments in person and regain your confidence in Seiont Manor. I can be contacted on ahumphreys@handpicked.co.uk Alternatively, if you prefer you to contact our Customer Services department, please email customerservices@handpicked.co.uk

Yours sincerely

Aled Humphreys
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We just spent Christmas at this Hotel again and it just gets better every time we stay.The Staff and Management could not be more friendly and helpful and work as as a team very well.
The attention to every detail makes everything feel special and combined with First Class food and drink in a beautiful setting makes for a very relaxing and fulfilling experience.
We cannot recommend this Hotel highly enough it is a special place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aled_Humphreys, General Manager at Seiont Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent return stay at Seiont Manor.

I was delighted to read that you had such enjoyable stay with us over the festive period.

Thank you for your comments with regards to team and the food. I will ensure that they are passed to all the team members here at the hotel.

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back to Seiont Manor again very soon.

Yours sincerely

Aled Humphreys
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanrug
2.1 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
6.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
11.8 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
17.3 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seiont Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seiont Manor Hotel

Property: Seiont Manor Hotel
Address: | Caernarfon, Llanrug LL55 2AQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Llanrug
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanrug
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Seiont Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seiont Manor sits peacefully within the countryside of Snowdonia, some of the most stunning scenery in North Wales . Surrounded by 150 acres of mature farmland, Seiont Manor offers a complete escape from the pressures of every day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Seiont Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Seiont Manor
Hotel Manor Seiont
Seiont Manor Caernarfon
Seiont Manor Hotel Llanrug, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing