We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday weekend”
Review of Seiont Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seiont Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanrug
Certificate of Excellence
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Birthday weekend”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I took my other half here for his birthday weekend.
The room we had was extremely clean... No disclolouration that you can sometimes get in the grout, the bed was very comfortable and the view we had looking over the beck was beautiful whilst we had our breakfast (fantastic too) at the balcony window.
Unfortunately there was a couple of sticking points... £12 for a large glass of Wine!! Ouch!! Yes there was cheaper ones but I didn't realise that until after I had signed for it. I always ask for a Pinot Grigio... It's nothing special so not sure how they can justify that amount especially when they were selling champers at £9 a glass... I soon switched :-)
We opted for the "fine dining" experience. The restaurant didn't really emulate this and the waiter and waitress we had was their first day and yes I know everyone has to start somewhere but at those prices I would have liked just a little bit more attention to detail. They were very polite and friendly though.
The food was lovely but again I wouldn't call it a fine dining experience.
On the whole the hotel is lovely but due to the over pricing of drinks and lack of detail we wouldn't return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keelie265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    218
    72
    32
    26
See reviews for
156
390
12
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
porthmadog
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

whilst the staff at Seiont manor are very pleasant the hotel is run rather like faulty towers .

Wedding's are important day and expensive, when you place your trust in (a very successful wedding venue) un quote you expect a certain standard of service. if you book your wedding here please do not bother to complain as constructive Critasisum is far from welcome.

Checking out that was Mr Faulty at top form customer with items on the bill e.g. I had a steak meal in mine and not only am I a vegetarian I was top table at the wedding did not visit the restaurant .

In all haphazard non professional service poor value for money , wish we had looked at trip advisor before booking looks like a few bad reviews on both food and service.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank alan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
139 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Booked 2 rooms for a 1 night break for a bit of relaxation and luxury. The path down to the Hotel is a single track and the lady we met half way was NOT happy to reverse but we had something behind us!!!!Reception was chilly but the lady who checked us in pleasant and friendly. Went to our rooms which appeared very nice but cold.Put radiator on to 5 and hoped it would warm up. Went to toilet and flush spun round!!! Returned to receptiion with this problem - they thought it had been fixed. Moved to new room equally cold. Letter in new room for Mr Pugh and it had been turned down but who for???Lady re organised room and went to get fresh milk as the room had no milk. Room did not get warm and howling gale through french doors which had warped and didn't fit together any more. Returned to reception re the temperature and a man said he would come. Some time later returned again to reception they offered a heater and a lady brought towels to put under door to prevent draught said the rooms were always very hot didn't understand. The man then arrived and said boiler had gone out a problem they had when it was windy but it had an alarm which went off when it went out so why hadn't someone sorted it out. Overheard other people complaining about shivering in their rooms and it wasn't a particularly cold day..It got warmer.There was a light out over the washbasin in our bathroom - the bright one that aids shaving so not good. The tap cover fell off in the bath. Bannister outside room was loose in 3 places needed attention. Maybe some maintenance issues.

Went for a drink before dinner and waited 15 minutes for someone to come to serve us. Pleasant staff but not well trained. When we did get drinks order was wrong there were only 3 of us!!!
Went on to dinner. Food was fair to good and attentive service got complimentay breads as we were kept waiting for main courses but we weren't in a rush. Staff all nice but under trained.

Bed very comfy and nice linens. Nice fluffy towels and quality toiletries.

Breakfast took ages as seemed to be plenty of nice friendly staff but inefficient. Delivered items but didn't take away things finished with. Served the fruit juice - waste of time and little jugs they brought held more than the glass held --Why???Waited ages for order to be taken for hot breakfast and asked for toast after it but had to ask again for the toast. It was not busy so can't imagine how it is if it is full.
Our daughters room was OK but obviously as cold as ours to start with However it was made up for 1 person and the Hotel were not aware she was just 1 person and we could have chosen this room from the 2 allocated to us.

On check out asked how was it and said below expectations for a superior chain said I have detailed issues in customer survey and lady said manager would contact us - one day maybe

All in all quiet location, nice views, friendly staff, nice sized and furnished rooms but some issues to resolve to compete in an upper end market.

Room Tip: Can't help here except rooms on RHS look out onto a nice brook and have french windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chillypenguin60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Firstly and foremost it is without doubt 5 stars. Oh yes however, below is a portion of what was supposed to be brief copied and pasted email sent to a highly organised, responsive and professional senior management team. Drafted as we drove home and sent after consideration of fair and reasonableness.

Sent: 09 February 2014 19:22
To: Customer Services
Subject: Recent stay at Seiont Manor
Good afternoon,
we have just checked out after a very relaxing 2 day break.

We found the hotel, room, gardens and grounds surpassed our expectations. All meals, drinks and service were impeccable

There was only one member of staff who didn't wear a name badge (#### ###); the others including Antonio, Fiffon, Elfys, Jack and the two Vicki's were charming, polite, helpful, informative, witty and utterly professional. However, I would suggest that a couple on a romantic break should not be plagued by a boorish, pompous, overbearing, intrusive, personal, impolite and incredibly unprofessional know it all. Imagine our surprise when we were informed by fellow guests he was the ######## manager! They too felt intimidated and offended by his behaviour. Brief examples:

1) as a keen equestrian (mentioned in conversation to ##########) I was then shocked to hear ####### delight at eating horse meat.

2) As keen hikers and climbers we did not require precise detail on his recently purchased crampons and boots; not to mention how our plans for the weekend were derided.

3) As keen road cyclists we did not wish to hear that it was a lesser sport to that of mountain biking, of which ###%%%# professed to be an expert. After mastering road cycling, which was only for 'certain' people!

4) We booked part of our stay with a living social deal and enquired at reception regarding check out time, the receptionist said she'd have to check so we advised we'd return after breakfast. Upon entering the busy dining room ########## bellowed that as we were on a 'deal' (groupon) checkout was 1pm. He embarrassed us further by saying it was an extra £40per hour if we were late. His inference that we were or had taken liberties was the final straw.

5) We chose against fine dining on our second night to avoid ######### We therefore met Antonio, your Mexican restaurant manager, who was all you could wish for in a maitre'd. We commended him at reception after a lovely evening; which was overheard by ######## to which he interrupted and commented.

Ok enough I think you get the drift. So ultimately I'd wholeheartedly recommend this place.

room 5, 7-9th February 14

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Silverback19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We booked to stay for a Saturday night, unfortunately we had a storm at home, and ended up arriving at the hotel much later than planned . I made a mistake in not making a dinner reservation when I made the booking. Anyway we ended up with a 9.15pm table in the fine dining restaurant.
The choice was limited on this menu, and comprised of 4 choices, fish,lamb, steak and a vegetarian option. This was the main disappointment, there was no lamb left! Se here we are in deepest Wales and they have run out of lamb.
The meal was excellent, apart from the now common slate plates( which aren't are cup of tea)
We ended the meal with an excellent chocolate ball pudding ( to die for ) , the staff in the restaurant were very attentive.
My only real grouse, was the bar area was a little detached from the restaurant, and as we were the last to dine, we were the only people in there.
The hotel room was of the usual Hand Picked hotels high standard.
Breakfast on Sunday was excellent, with a very good choice of local fare, and cooked to a very high standard

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoylake, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My husband took me here to celebrate my birthday and what a stay. After booking in, which was no problem whatsoever, we were shown to our suite. It was a beauty. A very large room with two balconies, a massive four poster bed, sofa, coffee table, a large television, hostess tray and a coffee machine plus a bottle of champagne!! The bathroom was impressive, spotless, nice toiletries and towels and a large walk-in shower. We were going to travel out for a quick snack but the room and views were so nice we decided to get something off the room service menu and eat in. Sandwiches etc., were delicious. Before dinner we had a drink in the bar and looked at the menu, which on first glance was a little disappointing, but when the food arrived at the table it was absolutely gorgeous, not massive portions but with the added homemade bread rolls, 'amuse bouche' and sorbet and then coffee and chocolates we just about finished our meal.
The Welsh breakfast was lovely too. All the staff that we met we very friendly and polite. Overall a very pleasant and enjoyable stay. Would definitely recommend.
All the staff we met were friendly, polite and courteous

Room Tip: Room 131 - Junior Suite with two balconies - one overlooking the countryside the other stepping out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steviebobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed with my wife for a 2 night package over new year eve. We have previously been to this hotel some 6 years previously and remembered how good the food is.

Well nothing has changed. The food is excellent and this was demonstrated for the new years eve gala dinner which was basically an 8 course feast with paired wines for each course. Food secont to none.

Service equally brilliant - particularly Bev on the bar who saw to our every need.

Had cream tea on both day - also excellent.

We had an upgraded room which basically gives you terrace access or a balcony - so well worth the little extra.

Overall - this was nothing short of perfect for a break and i will recomend to family and friends.

One slight critisism if i may - the wifi was not working as the strong winds had blown something off the roof. In fairness this just made it even better as it meant we were holed up away from the outside world.

Well done again hand picked - another property and package to be proud of.

Room Tip: upgrade - its worth it for terrace access
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danweigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanrug
2.1 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
6.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
11.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
17.1 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seiont Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seiont Manor Hotel

Property: Seiont Manor Hotel
Address: | Caernarfon, Llanrug LL55 2AQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Llanrug
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanrug
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Seiont Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seiont Manor sits peacefully within the countryside of Snowdonia, some of the most stunning scenery in North Wales . Surrounded by 150 acres of mature farmland, Seiont Manor offers a complete escape from the pressures of every day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Seiont Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Seiont Manor
Hotel Manor Seiont
Seiont Manor Caernarfon
Seiont Manor Hotel Llanrug, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing