We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of The King's Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The King's Head
Ranked #11 of 21 Monmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 April 2011

cheap and great value for money... Breakfast and bar meals reasonably priced for ok food

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalesBernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
There are newer reviews for The King's Head
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2011

I regularly stay at The Kings Head, Wetherlodge in Monmouth for work. As my work is also Monmouth the location is ideal, and the value is excellent - both for accommodation and food. The food is typical of this type of chain - good value, great for a quick bite when staying away working, but nothing to write home about and not what I'd choose if going out to dinner in my leisure time. Breakfast is good and excellent value.

I've no issue with the food, it is what it is. But there are niggles with the hotel that really should be sorted if they want to be taken seriously in the 'business hotel' market. The sleep quality can be poor, depending on what room you're in, because of outside noise - both late at night and the very noisy early morning street cleaner (5am!). Not to mention the generator I felt like I was sharing a room with last night! I know they have old windows which would be expensive to replace, but adding another sliding window inside to make it double glazed would be professional and affordable.

Secondly the service at Reception can be 'hit and miss'. You might get a nice, professional person waiting for you who quickly checks you in and out - or you might be chasing round trying to find anyone at all, or end up with someone who doesn't really seem to know how it all should work! Currently they don't have anyone on Reception to check out before 8am - this seems crazy when breakfast is served from 7am. Surely they don't expect people to take over an hour to have breakfast and be ready to leave? I could settle the room account when I arrive, but this would mean paying separately for dinner and breakfast - three receipts to submit instead of one is never good!

In short the value is excellent, and because of the location I will continue to stay. But if there was a Premier Inn in Monmouth I would happily pay their prices, simply because of the service and professionalism.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fillyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Would recommend this for somewhere to stay when you are passing through. Stayed for a wedding in a nearby village so this was ideal in the middle of town to get back to. Parking is not easy so make sure you get them to reccomend somewhere to park befor you get there. For £45 a night for 2 people you really cannot grumble at this hotel. I was pleased.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jockey77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

As stated before,we are wethers fans.This hotel has everything going for it but only just hits the mark.Craig,on reception is a charming,helpful and dedicated young man.The barstaff/waiters are pleasant and friendly too.The food was easily the best we have had at a 'spoons lodge or pub(and boy,have we had some!!!).It was fresh and hot and looked like it had been made with a bit of care.The room,sadly(301)was at the end of a labarynth! We went up in the lift only to walk back down stairs to reach it.It was the smallest and most ill equipped wethers room we have spent a night in.It had a gap below the door that a good limbo dancer could have negotiated.Apart from the compact size of the room,it was a quiet and comfortable room.The local young uns need to brush up on their manners,but do give it a try if only for its location.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steviemacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Used as staging post en route to South Wales. Arrived very late but the bar is open to 12 and has guest beers at great prices. Room modern spacious and comfortable. Good value and varied breakfast served in the friendly pub. The pub may get busy at weekends but there are plenty of nooks and crannies. No quibbles - good value all round. Does not have own Parking.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

The reception area was very nice and we received a nice welcome. The room we had was right over the kitchen area with the fans or air conditioner going for what seemed most of the night. I did mention this the following day at check out and the receptionist was aware of this yet even though the hotel did not appear to be full we had been allocated a room which was in a noisy area? The meal was okay but clean the tables please. Sticky tables and full of plates and glasses even when it is quiet.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Billythefish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Not stayed in a "Wetherlodge" before; a bit apprehensive as we're not generally Weatherspoons' fans but this fitted the bill as an overnight stop in Monmouth. I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised: The hotel has a separate entrance to the main pub, so you're not fighting your way through the drinkers to check in. The room was spacious, modern, well decorated and had everything we needed. Bed comfort is very much a personal taste, but this was the comfiest bed we have had in a hotel for some time.

The negatives are very minor things really: The window opening was restricted to about 2 inches – how I've managed all these years not falling out of my windows at home I don't know! Also the full cream milk for the tea took a bit of stomaching first thing, but as I said these are very minor points. You could hear some "muffled" noise from the pub below, but it wasn't the sort of noise that would keep anyone but the lightest sleeper awake at night although surprisingly the windows in our room were not double glassed so you may get some noise from the street.

Overall though a very good value stay in a interesting and picturesque town.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank godfreytaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monmouth
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monmouth
182 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Queens Hotel, Newport
4.0 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Punch House Monmouth
Punch House Monmouth
#16 of 21 in Monmouth
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen's Head Monmouth
Queen's Head Monmouth
#9 of 21 in Monmouth
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head

Address: 8 Agincourt Square, Monmouth NP25 3DY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Monmouth
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Kings Head Wetherlodge Hotel Monmouth
The King's Head Monmouth, Monmouthshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing