We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”
Review of The King's Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The King's Head
Ranked #11 of 21 Monmouth B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
Reviewed 3 August 2011

As with all weatherlodges you get a clean but basic room,effecient,polite and proffesional staff ,a great breakfast which you have to pay for £2.99 and cheap drinks. Good value

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stuartcardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    120
    50
    20
    15
See reviews for
46
128
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Fans of the Weatherspoon brand but first time in their hotels. Excellent reception staff gave useful advice on car parking and local sights. Stayed on a Saturday night and had large room over entrance so expected a bit of noise but wasn't too much. Bar staff worked hard serving full bar but were friendly and food was good. Great value breakfast (not included in room price). Only slight down side is that parking is in a public car park a couple of streets away (but free over weekend) and bed was 'short'.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moneyfools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

cheap and great value for money... Breakfast and bar meals reasonably priced for ok food

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalesBernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

I regularly stay at The Kings Head, Wetherlodge in Monmouth for work. As my work is also Monmouth the location is ideal, and the value is excellent - both for accommodation and food. The food is typical of this type of chain - good value, great for a quick bite when staying away working, but nothing to write home about and not what I'd choose if going out to dinner in my leisure time. Breakfast is good and excellent value.

I've no issue with the food, it is what it is. But there are niggles with the hotel that really should be sorted if they want to be taken seriously in the 'business hotel' market. The sleep quality can be poor, depending on what room you're in, because of outside noise - both late at night and the very noisy early morning street cleaner (5am!). Not to mention the generator I felt like I was sharing a room with last night! I know they have old windows which would be expensive to replace, but adding another sliding window inside to make it double glazed would be professional and affordable.

Secondly the service at Reception can be 'hit and miss'. You might get a nice, professional person waiting for you who quickly checks you in and out - or you might be chasing round trying to find anyone at all, or end up with someone who doesn't really seem to know how it all should work! Currently they don't have anyone on Reception to check out before 8am - this seems crazy when breakfast is served from 7am. Surely they don't expect people to take over an hour to have breakfast and be ready to leave? I could settle the room account when I arrive, but this would mean paying separately for dinner and breakfast - three receipts to submit instead of one is never good!

In short the value is excellent, and because of the location I will continue to stay. But if there was a Premier Inn in Monmouth I would happily pay their prices, simply because of the service and professionalism.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fillyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Would recommend this for somewhere to stay when you are passing through. Stayed for a wedding in a nearby village so this was ideal in the middle of town to get back to. Parking is not easy so make sure you get them to reccomend somewhere to park befor you get there. For £45 a night for 2 people you really cannot grumble at this hotel. I was pleased.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jockey77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

As stated before,we are wethers fans.This hotel has everything going for it but only just hits the mark.Craig,on reception is a charming,helpful and dedicated young man.The barstaff/waiters are pleasant and friendly too.The food was easily the best we have had at a 'spoons lodge or pub(and boy,have we had some!!!).It was fresh and hot and looked like it had been made with a bit of care.The room,sadly(301)was at the end of a labarynth! We went up in the lift only to walk back down stairs to reach it.It was the smallest and most ill equipped wethers room we have spent a night in.It had a gap below the door that a good limbo dancer could have negotiated.Apart from the compact size of the room,it was a quiet and comfortable room.The local young uns need to brush up on their manners,but do give it a try if only for its location.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steviemacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Used as staging post en route to South Wales. Arrived very late but the bar is open to 12 and has guest beers at great prices. Room modern spacious and comfortable. Good value and varied breakfast served in the friendly pub. The pub may get busy at weekends but there are plenty of nooks and crannies. No quibbles - good value all round. Does not have own Parking.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monmouth
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monmouth
181 reviews
9.0 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
388 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
127 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,113 reviews
0.1 mi away
#7 Church Street
#7 Church Street
#7 of 21 in Monmouth
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head

Property: The King's Head
Address: 8 Agincourt Square, Monmouth NP25 3DY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Monmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Kings Head Wetherlodge Hotel Monmouth
The King's Head Monmouth, Monmouthshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing