We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The King's Head
Nearby Hotels
Riverside Hotel(Monmouth)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Paddocks Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Court Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
61
124
54
21
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
124
54
21
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubtypical wetherspoonscar parkexcellent value for moneybiscuitstea and coffee making facilitiesgood sizeearly hourswould stay againlovely roomfollowing morningcorridorfloorboardspintheating
Filter
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 277 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2011

As with all weatherlodges you get a clean but basic room,effecient,polite and proffesional staff ,a great breakfast which you have to pay for £2.99 and cheap drinks. Good value

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stuartcardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Fans of the Weatherspoon brand but first time in their hotels. Excellent reception staff gave useful advice on car parking and local sights. Stayed on a Saturday night and had large room over entrance so expected a bit of noise but wasn't too much. Bar staff worked hard serving full bar but were friendly and food was good. Great value breakfast (not included in room price). Only slight down side is that parking is in a public car park a couple of streets away (but free over weekend) and bed was 'short'.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moneyfools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

cheap and great value for money... Breakfast and bar meals reasonably priced for ok food

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalesBernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

I regularly stay at The Kings Head, Wetherlodge in Monmouth for work. As my work is also Monmouth the location is ideal, and the value is excellent - both for accommodation and food. The food is typical of this type of chain - good value, great for a quick bite when staying away working, but nothing to write home about and not what I'd choose if going out to dinner in my leisure time. Breakfast is good and excellent value.

I've no issue with the food, it is what it is. But there are niggles with the hotel that really should be sorted if they want to be taken seriously in the 'business hotel' market. The sleep quality can be poor, depending on what room you're in, because of outside noise - both late at night and the very noisy early morning street cleaner (5am!). Not to mention the generator I felt like I was sharing a room with last night! I know they have old windows which would be expensive to replace, but adding another sliding window inside to make it double glazed would be professional and affordable.

Secondly the service at Reception can be 'hit and miss'. You might get a nice, professional person waiting for you who quickly checks you in and out - or you might be chasing round trying to find anyone at all, or end up with someone who doesn't really seem to know how it all should work! Currently they don't have anyone on Reception to check out before 8am - this seems crazy when breakfast is served from 7am. Surely they don't expect people to take over an hour to have breakfast and be ready to leave? I could settle the room account when I arrive, but this would mean paying separately for dinner and breakfast - three receipts to submit instead of one is never good!

In short the value is excellent, and because of the location I will continue to stay. But if there was a Premier Inn in Monmouth I would happily pay their prices, simply because of the service and professionalism.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fillyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Would recommend this for somewhere to stay when you are passing through. Stayed for a wedding in a nearby village so this was ideal in the middle of town to get back to. Parking is not easy so make sure you get them to reccomend somewhere to park befor you get there. For £45 a night for 2 people you really cannot grumble at this hotel. I was pleased.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jockey77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews