We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”
Review of The King's Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The King's Head
Ranked #11 of 21 Monmouth B&B and Inns
wales
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

this is a very good hotel with lovely nice rooms we booked 8 rooms and had no prombles

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    119
    49
    19
    15
See reviews for
45
127
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lydney, England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

A lovely old-worldly hotel with a comfortable room and nice ensuite bathroom. The staff is friendly and the bar very atmospheric.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fablevett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I had reservations about booking a room in a Wetherspoons lodge as I expected it to be a bit shabby and was worried about noise from the pub. Couldn't have been more wrong, the room was up to any 3 star hotel standards, clean and nicely furnished with a very comfortable bed. the bathroom could have done with a lick of paint but the shower was wonderful. We were in room 101 at the back of the hotel and couldn't hear any noise at all.

I'd like to thank the staff for excellent customer service. I phoned to request a late check in and the receptionist could not have been more helpful we had to check in at the Wetherspoons pub next door as it was almost midnight when we arrived but instead of having to queue at the bar with the Saturday night crowd the manager came across to us when he saw us struggling with our bags and took us straight over to the hotel. Very helpful.

A great value breakfast is available in the pub from 7am and the service there was very quick as well.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali3240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Didn't know what to expect from a Wetherlodge but was very pleasantly surprised. Had a well appointed double room at the front of the hotel overlooking Agincourt Sq. Breakfast was £3.10 in the pub below, bargain! Excellent curry in the Misbah up the road.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwanseaIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

As with all weatherlodges you get a clean but basic room,effecient,polite and proffesional staff ,a great breakfast which you have to pay for £2.99 and cheap drinks. Good value

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stuartcardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Fans of the Weatherspoon brand but first time in their hotels. Excellent reception staff gave useful advice on car parking and local sights. Stayed on a Saturday night and had large room over entrance so expected a bit of noise but wasn't too much. Bar staff worked hard serving full bar but were friendly and food was good. Great value breakfast (not included in room price). Only slight down side is that parking is in a public car park a couple of streets away (but free over weekend) and bed was 'short'.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moneyfools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

cheap and great value for money... Breakfast and bar meals reasonably priced for ok food

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalesBernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monmouth
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monmouth
174 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Queens Hotel, Newport
9.0 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Punch House Monmouth
Punch House Monmouth
#13 of 21 in Monmouth
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
#7 Church Street
#7 Church Street
#7 of 21 in Monmouth
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen's Head Monmouth
Queen's Head Monmouth
#9 of 21 in Monmouth
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head

Property: The King's Head
Address: 8 Agincourt Square, Monmouth NP25 3DY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Monmouth
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Kings Head Wetherlodge Hotel Monmouth
The King's Head Monmouth, Monmouthshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing