We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday night break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The King's Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The King's Head
Ranked #13 of 23 Monmouth B&B and Inns
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday night break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Excellent place to stay for an over night break
Especially on a Sunday night for £30.00 it would cost you
More for a Saturday night out on the pop along with free
Car park till 9 on Monday morning you can't go wrong
Food is excellent as well

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    118
    49
    19
    15
See reviews for
44
125
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

I used this as my base whilst participating in a sporting event about 2 miles away.

Easy to find hotel, with no car parking of its own, but a big public car park about 100 yards away which was easy to find, park and cheap to use (no charge after 5 and before 9 in the morning).

Hotel is attached to huge pub - so food and drink is easy, although you might have to put up with a few people returning to rooms late at night.

Mine was a small single room - with a desk, small bathroom and some wardrobe space. Room was warm, well ventilated and well appointed enough for a short stay - definitely OK if you are on a one or two night business stay - and OK for someone on their own - didn't see any of the other rooms.

Pub was good - breakfast available from 6 am I think, both healthy and traditional options - great value for money - coffee and a bacon roll was £2.19! Excellent stuff.

Had one evening meal here, and one up the road - again, excellent value for money - decent size meal, with a beer thrown in was about a tenner - cannot argue with value for money.

Only grip for me was the shower, which was more like a tap - and Saturday night I had quite a lot of late night noise from people coming back from the pub - the location of my room meant high traffic and creak floorboards - but all-in-all a decent, traditional English city centre hotel at a great price.

Room Tip: Try not to take 103 if you want a quiet nights sleep... but I'd imagine during the week is prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattRutherford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

I know it is next to a pub in a town centre, but the noise was unbearable.
At first we thought we'd found a gem:
a family room available at the last minute that they didn't mind 5 of us squeezing into; clean, modern, large room; friendly staff. But the constant shouting, screaming, crying, swearing, door slamming and car noises from 11pm until gone 1am was shocking - waking up the children and stopping us from sleeping. It was so bad we checked out after 1 night.
Would definitely not stay here again with a family.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chapman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monmouth hotels

Driffield East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stayed here on our final night of a tour of South Wales and we were very relieved after the very poor hotel previous to this one. We had a great stay in a lovely room, big and comfy and great value. The location is perfect for the Forest of Dean and also we really enjoyed Monmouth it was a great little town. The staff were fantastic and although we didn't eat in the pub during the evening the breakfast was super in the morning.

A great value stay

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed overnight during a weekend recently and was pleasantly surprised. Being a part of a Weatherspoon pub/hotel chain my expectations weren't that high, but they were exceeded in style. The room was apparently the smallest in the hotel, yet I would be happy to be based there for a week if I was holidaying in the area. The hotel itself is a (rather attractive) listed building so there are some accessability issues to be aware of when booking, as they're not allowed to make structural changes, but these aside, it was easy to get around in. The lift to the upperfloors is ample for two people and a reasonable amount of luggage. The only bugbear as far as I was concerned was the limited parking, again due to the nature of the old building and the town itself. There was the usual complimentary tea and coffee, and there was plenty of it! The staff were friendly and helpful, and of course, being a part of the Weatherspoon chain, breakfast was available in the resturant, and you know what you'll be getting.

I booked online with ease, and was pleased with how well the process was. I suppose the bottom line is two questions: Was it value for money? Would I stay there again? The answer to both questions is a resounding YES!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back and on higher floors will be quieter. The hotel fills up quickly when the Welsh r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terryb1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Stayed at The Kings Head overnight for Valentines Day. No-one available for check-in so had to go through to pub to find someone but receptionist very helpful and pleasant. Room on 1st floor on own landing so no-one walking past room. Room however not quiet from outside rear noise from pub / restaurant.
Room clean and very comfortable. Complimentary tea, coffee, biscuits and water.
Food and drink excellent. Very good portion sizes, excellent value for money and quick service even though pub was full with hardly any tables available. Staff pleasant.
Monmouth is a quiet little town with lovely little shops.
Would recommend for a quiet break and would book again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

excellent location, Monmouth town itself is picturesque and has lovely shops, well worth the visit.
hotel room was spacious and clean, staff on reception were helpful and had excellent people skills. food and drink were good but loads of other places to try if you wished. a thoroughly enjoyable valentines weekend.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less town noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monmouth
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monmouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
9.0 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Queens Hotel, Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Punch House Monmouth
Punch House Monmouth
#8 of 23 in Monmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.0 mi away
#7 Church Street
#7 Church Street
#9 of 23 in Monmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen's Head Monmouth
Queen's Head Monmouth
#10 of 23 in Monmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head

Property: The King's Head
Address: 8 Agincourt Square, Monmouth NP25 3DY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Monmouth
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Kings Head Wetherlodge Hotel Monmouth
The King's Head Monmouth, Monmouthshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing