We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Wetherspoons”
Review of The King's Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The King's Head
Ranked #11 of 21 Monmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 May 2014

When you get a Wetherspoons in an old building full of character they can work very well, and that's the case here. As usual, the beer and cider is excellent and the food decent and amazingly cheap. And the great thing about the King's Head is that it's a lovely old hotel that combines small quiet rooms with the cavernous dining areas you associate with Wetherspoons. The staff are great too, which isn't always the case in a Spoons. I wish my local Spoons was this good.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank LambertBaillieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here at the midpoint of a long walk along the Wye Valley and basically just needed a place to lay our weary heads, but were very pleasantly surprised by the clean, spacious and comfortable room and the tasty, incredibly cheap breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcole10644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed at this Weatherspoons hotel many times, quirky old place, never go after 9pm to eat because the place fills up with drunken louts. This particular visit was an absolute disaster, we are all fast asleep to be awoken from 11pm onwards by screaming, shouting, foul mouthed drunken groups beneath our bedroom window. As stated its a quirky old coaching inn so therefore the interior is a bit of labrinth, which is lovely, but then the "hotel guests" decide to return to their prebooked rooms at 1:30-2am+ trying to find their way around disturbing everybody and at that hour not a good experience. Will we stay there again? No way. Oh and by the way staff on reception can't fault them.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emhughes94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed for one night whilst walking the Offa’s Dyke Path.
This place is excellent value for money, right in the centre of town with everything you need for a comfortable stay.
The room was a good size with plenty of space for bags, it also had tea and coffee making facilities and a hairdryer, the bathroom was spacious and despite being attached to a pub there was no noise disturbance.
Would definitely recommend if you’re looking for simple, affordable, comfortable accommodation in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IdRatherBeHiking2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Nice little town. The kings head is a pretty building. Rooms are clean, the bed however was very uncomfortable and being a older building the plumbing is not quiet, even in the early hours!!!
Would advise not to have a room looking out onto the high street as very loud when the pub is closing.
Reception staff are pleasant and it is good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel on a Sunday. Good deal if you book online all rooms £30.00. Reception very good, lady very friendly front rooms a nice size very comfortable. Can be a bit rowdy at closing time but did not last long. As for food it is Wetherspoons style food, good prices. Right in the centre of town 5mins walk to car park no charge on Sunday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidmuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Booked this room as not too far to travel as a romantic break...as expected room was cosy and met all requirements for the price we paid. The only downside was the noise from the extractor units out side our room (101) Parking is near by and not over priced YES we would stay again.... Thanks ............

Room Tip: Room 101 is at the back of the hotel but suffers from Extractor noise and early deliverys
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feebss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monmouth
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monmouth
184 reviews
9.0 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
401 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Queens Hotel, Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Queen's Head Monmouth
Queen's Head Monmouth
#8 of 21 in Monmouth
114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Punch House Monmouth
Punch House Monmouth
#16 of 21 in Monmouth
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
#7 Church Street
#7 Church Street
#9 of 21 in Monmouth
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head

Address: 8 Agincourt Square, Monmouth NP25 3DY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Monmouth
Price Range: £68 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Kings Head Wetherlodge Hotel Monmouth
The King's Head Monmouth, Monmouthshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing