We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, poor food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Punch House Monmouth
Ranked #16 of 21 Monmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Went here for an evening meal during a walking weekend.
the bar/restaurant was nicely decorated and staff were friendly with prompt service.
the food however was not of the same standard. i had a brioche burger which sounded lovely but was all bun and no burger. opted to share a cheese board for desert which again was small (3 crackers, 3 pieces of bread, a few small chunks of cheese and a pear chutney). everything else was great but the food left much to be desired.

Thank 338James338
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

A friend and I had a twin room overlooking Agincourt Square. Immediate first impression was how clean and nicely presented the room was. The beds were very comfortable, I slept very well despite the small amount of noise that came from the pub opposite at closing time.
Breakfast was enjoyable, we could choose one thing on the menu. Preferably, I would have liked some fresh fruit first, however the cooked breakfast was lovely.
Two issues of concern; firstly the extremely brash lady opening her cake stall outside in the square. We were wakened by her very loud shouting at about 7am!!!! Not impressed and needless to say I did not buy any of her cakes!! Secondly, there is no direct parking for the hotel residents, which was difficult when bringing my many bags(!) back and forth the car park. Despite this, I would most definitely stay again. Overall, clean and comfy rooms, friendly staff and a great breakfast!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keg1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Lovely hotel on the main road in monmouth. Bit wooried about possible noise, but considering it was monmouths carnival weel everythong was fine. Only problem with the lovely room, was the intense heat, being summer... but could only open window 4 inches. The pub was extremely hot too. How the staff, who were brilliant, work in that heat is amazing.
Anyway, they found a fan for us and that helped a lot. The hotel has just been renovated and they hadnt fitted air con or slupplied enough fans for everyone
We promised to let their head office know that they need to supply some form of cooling. Especially how hard they all work.

The breakfast was brilliant and so was the eveing meal we ate there. They seem to be famous for their tapas.
Would go back anytime.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rabbitsandcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed with family overnight at the Punch House. The staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. The whole place was very clean and the deco lovely.
The upstairs was hot but cooled after the windows were opened.
Breakfast was delicious!

Room Tip: I had room 3 a twin room it had balcony windows which when opened were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

The punch house is a lovely pub centred in the middle of Monmouth, with many great features including great food, a respectable selection of beers and ales and brilliant rooms, they were almost fully booked out when we arrived but the manager helped us out and really made our stay feel special
A++ would definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Carwyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I visited the Punch House in July and were very impressed with the high standard of the hotel. The new management clearly have a great vision for the hotel and venue overall.

Having seen the rooms previously on the Facebook page and online, I was really looking forward to the four poster bed in particular. The room certainly did not disappoint and the modern bathroom contrasted really well with the antique feel of the bedroom.

The room we stayed in was spacious and light, with great original features. The decor is relaxing and true to the style of the building. As has been mentioned in other reviews, the corridors are quite warm, but there is a noticeable difference between the halls and the rooms, also if you are still too warm, there is a large circulating fan provided.

Breakfast was superb. I had Eggs Benedict, which is always my breakfast choice when on holiday, and it was fantastic. A hearty portion for a lazy morning and perfect runny poached eggs. One of the best things about the menu is the fact breakfast is served all day, so you never have to keep to a schedule on your holidays. Great if you fancy some brunch or brinner!

I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking to stay in Monmouth. The position is perfect for sitting having a drink and watching the world go by or for exploring the lovely boutique style shops in the high street. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ailsa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I recently stayed here with my partner for two nights.
We arrived quite late due from coming all the way from Scotland and unexpected traffic but the staff member that greeted us was very pleasant on the phone when we called and said we were going to be late. We were greeted by the same person who had answered the phone, they were very nice and showed us to our room, which was extremely clean and had a great 4 poster bed in it, they explained all of the perks that they had like, wifi with no password required which was a great speed (a benefit seeing as my parter runs her own business and does alot of work online), the fact that we could have our breakfast whenever we wanted as it was an all day option, and that we could sleep untill whenever we liked which was great after the long drive we had just had.

We had a great sleep and a really good breakfast in the morning (ish, more like noon).
I had the full wnglish style breakfast which was the perfect amount, not too much and everything cooked well, even had the option multiple choices of style of egg i wanted (i had the poached option which were delicious).

The manager came to speak to us while having our breakfast and was extremely friendly, asked us why we were down here and what we were planning on doing when staying with them and suggested alot of things in the area to do, we had a great conversation. The nicest manager i have ever met.

We had a great day out and when we came back to our room that night it was spotless (even folded some of my clothes i left lying on the floor) and the window had been opened a little bit which was a blessing as it had been a rather hot day.

We had another good sleep, the bed was very comfy and had different choices of pillow with soft squidgy ones and harder ones (which i prefer).

We had another tasty breakfast i had the eggs benedict which was amazing!

The manager came to speak to us again, and asked where we were off to next on our travels and told us the best route to take and wished us luck on the rest of our holiday.

All in all we had a great stay at this hotel. Would recommed it to anyone. :)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monmouth
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monmouth
186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mayhill Hotel
Mayhill Hotel
#6 of 21 in Monmouth
65 reviews
0 mi away
#7 Church Street
#7 Church Street
#8 of 21 in Monmouth
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Queen's Head Monmouth
Queen's Head Monmouth
#9 of 21 in Monmouth
119 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Saracens Head Inn
The Saracens Head Inn
#1 of 6 in Symonds Yat
610 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punch House Monmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punch House Monmouth

Address: 4 Agincourt Square, Monmouth NP25 3BT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Monmouth
Price Range: £71 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Punch House Monmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Punch House is on Agincourt Square in the centre of the historic border town of Monmouth, in south east wales.An old coaching inn, the Punch House has undergone a full transformation and is now Punch House Cafe Bar.It has 11 ensuite letting rooms offer comfortable good value accommodation right in the heart of the town. Your neighbourhood cafe bar is perfect for every occasion, whether it be a leisurely breakfast or a business lunch, afternoon coffee or an evening of tapas & wine, they’ve got it all covered. The friendly team will be on hand to make sure that you are well looked after and when you don’t want to leave you can check-in to one of the luxurious rooms for the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Punch House Monmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punch House Monmouth Hotel Monmouth
Punch House Monmouth Monmouthshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing