We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and peaceful”
Review of Penylan Farm

Penylan Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Penylan Farm
Ranked #12 of 21 Monmouth B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quiet and peaceful”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Needed somewhere to stay for a couple of nights close to Stonemill as attending a wedding there. This was perfect unfortunately we didn't get to meet the owners as they were away but the key was in a safe place and everything was perfect. Would like to stay longer next time

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank p13urton_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
15
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Cathy and her husband are perfect hosts. As you would expect from the name Pen y lan is a hill farm in the gentle rolling hills above Monmouth. Great setting, lovely views and great hosts.The farm house offers Bed and Breakfast and the well appointed farm buildings are offered either on Bed and breakfast or Self Catering basis. Like the previous reviewer we stayed in the Mill Cottage. A large bedroom and ensuite on the ground floor and a large lounge/ kitchen/ breakfast area upstairs. Perfect for a couple or those with young child(ren) with car. Lounge has TV DVD player etcThe kitchen is comprehensive and new and immaculate . Patio outside Mill Cottage. Larger lawned area and seating for all guests with views across the hills. We stayed on a B&B basis as we were visiting relatives in the area. Cathy makes an excellent breakfast
A great place to unwind/ chill out/ go on walking holiday/tour/ romance/maybe finish the book or artwork that you always meant to create ( Maybe all of these during a long booking?!). If self catering you might need to stock up in Monmouth as Pen y lan is the perfect country setting. Cardiff and other cities about 1 hour away. They prefer cheque or cash payment rather than cards. It is a friendly working farm with all the comfort you will need.

Room Tip: Whether in the farm house or the farm buildings all are very high standard. Choose Mill cottage as a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Just wanted to share what a lovely stay we had at Penylan Farm. The owners couldnt be more helpful. We have a toddler and we were provided with lots of unexpected extras to make the stay easier...high chair, cot, cot sheets, etc etc

We stayed in the Mill Cottage which was lovely. The area surrounding the farm is beautiful and quiet..what we were looking for. Would recommend and we will probably stay again when visiting family nearby again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sian187497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We regularly do a circuit between Hay-on-Wye and Abergavenny, stocking up on books and working our way through SE Wales'/Herefordshire's fantastic eateries. We stayed at Penylan (B&B) for one night, and I loved it. The hosts were lovely and very welcoming, breakfast was fantastic, and the surrounding countryside is *beautiful*. Will definitely be back!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanfilod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

On 25 April my partner and I arrived at Penylan when walking Offa's Dyke Path.It was very foul weather indeed and Cathy made every effort to make us forget our wet clothes, boots and muddy walk. Very comfy room with good bathroom and windows on 2 sides overlooking their cattle and the hills. Very clean and in a quiet,rural area.Took us to The Stone Mill restaurant in Rockfield(see reviews), where we had a wonderful meal.David came to pick us up afterwards. The next day we feasted on a most wonderful breakfast with a.o.fresh melon,mango and strawberries.Cathy and David definitely like what they are donig and I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed at Penylan in October 2011 and we had three fantastic nights. My husband and I originally tried to book bed and breakfast for ourselves and our 21 month old daughter. Cathy suggested that the room could be a little snug with a travel cot and offered us one of the cottages and offered to make us breafast in the main house.

As a parent, you always worry about how child-friendly places are and Cathy was brilliant with Aoife and we could tell she had grandchildren.

The accommodation itself cannot be faulted, everything was of a high standard and in working order. Cathy was always on hand to offer advice on places to visit and eat.

We were made to feel incredibly welcome and we will ost definitely return!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mordue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I booked the Beili Stable and Ciderhouse Cottage for my extended family for the weekend as we were invited to a wedding in Monmouth. We didn't want to stay in a hotel and this meant we could be together and have the flexibility tor run between cottages. My Dad and wife stayed in the B&B which they loved. It was just perfect.

Cathy was lovely and dealt with all my enquiries prior to turning up. A great weekend break.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEM069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monmouth
3.0 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monmouth
181 reviews
3.2 mi away
Church Farm Guest House
Church Farm Guest House
#19 of 21 in Monmouth
19 reviews
3.1 mi away
#7 Church Street
#7 Church Street
#7 of 21 in Monmouth
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Bell at Skenfrith
The Bell at Skenfrith
#1 of 1 in Skenfrith
506 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mayhill Hotel
Mayhill Hotel
#5 of 21 in Monmouth
58 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Coach House Inn
The Coach House Inn
#6 of 21 in Monmouth
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penylan Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penylan Farm

Property: Penylan Farm
Address: The Hendre, Monmouth NP25 5NL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Monmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Penylan Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Penylan Farm Monmouth, Monmouthshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing