We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sumptuous House, Beautiful Location”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Treowen

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
12 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 35
Monmouth, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Terry L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sumptuous House, Beautiful Location”
Reviewed 22 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We held a Regency-era event here, and it was wonderful. The venue owners were welcoming and very helpful. It was easy to book, and very comfortable, and the atmosphere in the well-tended gardens was very relaxing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2017
Dear Terry,
Thank you for your review. I hope you find another event to stage at Treowen.
Best wishes
John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect venue.”
Reviewed 17 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect wedding venue but like anything old and this beautiful, needs to be respected and treated tenderly. We will look forward to celebrating special anniversaries back in this house over the years to come.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2017
Thank you, Mike, for your review. We look forward to welcoming you to Treowen for your special anniversaries.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judasauru...
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location; great house; great holiday.”
Reviewed 4 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Where to start?
This was our third visit to Treowen, and we have already booked our next - which might give you some indication of how much we love this property.
Our first visit was for a friend's wedding and we instantly fell in love with it; so much so that I booked it for my 40th birthday 18 months in advance! When we returned for my birthday get together, it met all our expectations.
25 of us, a mix of adults and children, descended on the property and had the most amazing week. We all had our own rooms, plus camp beds so children could sleep in with their parents; the house is large enough that you don't get under each others feet, but also cosy so you can have quality time together. The children loved running off and exploring the house (although we discovered it's best to keep shoes on as a few got a splinter or two), and were free to run around outside. As it is set back from the road it is a perfectly safe environment for them.
Our second visit was just as glorious as the first. This was another chance for our group of friends to get together, and instantly everyone said how much at home they felt.
The property has very much been left in it's original style, and it is this that gives it its charm and character. The kitchen is large enough to be able to cook for a large group, but also to allow several people to cook at the same time. The dining room is such a lovely place to eat altogether and always feels rather grand - also, it's the perfect place to host a murder mystery party. The Banqueting hall (set up as a games room with pool and table tennis table) is a lovely space for the children to play, or to have a Zumba class as we did!
I am sure I haven't covered everything but the most important thing is that we have always had a wonderful time. John is a most welcoming, friendly, accommodating host and we cannot wait to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2017
Thank you for your review. I am sorry Treowen was already booked for the dates you wanted in 2018. I look forward to welcoming you back to Treowen in 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ten out of ten on all accounts”
Reviewed 22 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for a review that offers a critical perspective then this unfortunately isn't it.

We hosted a large scale event for family and friends in March 2017 and the core of what made the weekend so special was this property. When you factor everything in (location in country, people able to sleep, look and style, etc.) Treowen really is "unrivalled in the Kingdom" in terms of value.

Our highlights:
- Style - They say pictures don't do a property justice but this place simply can't be expressed without a viewing. This is a huge old manor full of character that captivates the imagination - everything from the grand staircase and living room to the authentic detailing and colourful wallpaper left our guests open-mouthed
- Built for purpose - Many old buildings will be limited in their ability to cope with modern day needs for group holidays or events, but Treowen was 'old house with new needs' - toilets, showers, kitchen provisions all built for heavy use.
- The Wheelocks - John & Dick clearly understand the how people want to use their property when renting. They were there for anything we needed, yet at the same time let us completely get on with doing our own thing for the weekend which really made the house feel like 'ours' for the event.

From a family trip with a twist, to a gathering or celebration of any kind with a larger group, it's hard to see how this house and all its provisions are anything short of perfect. We are currently planning which weekend to return next year.

What an absolute gem!
Thank you for having us!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2017
Thank you Sam for your review. See you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing