We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay last summer”
Review of Old Hendre Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Hendre Farm
Ranked #2 of 21 Monmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed in the Green Room when I came through on Offa's Dyke Path last summer. The owner was delightful, taking the time to answer many of my questions about farm life in Wales. The food and accommodations were definitely a highlight of the various B&Bs and hotels that I stayed at as I made my way north along Offa's Dyke.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith_Hollowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

I was working down in Monmouth and unable to use my usual place (which is also very remote) and I booked in here. The directions were spot on and I received a very warm welcome including tea and Welsh cakes. I was staying in a yet to be completed self catering unit as the farmhouse was full but the bedroom was fully ready as was the kitchen (which I did not need to use). The bed was comfortable and there was tea provided along with all toiletries etc. I had to go up to the farm house for internet but was plied with tea whenever I went! The internet should be connected shortly. It proved a very friendly place both from the management and guest point of view (I even gave some chess coaching to another guest's son!). thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I and 2 Friends stayed one night as part of our Walk along Offas Dyke. We were wonderfully looked after by the the Owner Valerie Barrell. The evening meal and breakfast were both of a very high quality and their presentation first class. Just superb.

Room Tip: Nothing to add - all rooms, food and service were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Valerie gave ,pus a warm, convivial welcome to her beautifully- appointed, secluded farmhouse. We enjoyed spotlessly clean, comfortable accommodation, with all of the amenities that you would expect in a modern B and B. Valerie provided ample breakfasts with a considerable variety of choice, all well-prepared and deliciously cooked. We requested an Evening Meal on the night of our arrival, which Val cheerfully prepared for us. The whole experience was a delight - thank you Val!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

You will not be disappointed by this excellent B&B. We were all very impressed with the great food, first class accommodation and the friendly, helpful welcome. We would recommend this B&B to anyone. Really impossible to find any faults whatsoever!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I have spent years travelling around Great Britain walking and exploring the countryside, using B&Bs. This B&B must rank as one of the best. Nothing was too much trouble, Valerie was most obliging. The accommodation was spotlessly clean, wonderful breakfast, rooms were perfect with wifi connection and frankly lacked nothing. The area is of course delightful so if you are looking for excellent value for money with every 'mod con' look no further just go and enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AvrilS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

great place to stay,good people great food .central location for Forest of Dean .canoes in monmouth .amazing wildlife and fabulous views .ideal for country sports or ramblers.watch buzzards and herons flying up the valley and deer by the bucketload eating the golfcourse.relaxed atmosphere great host and lovely breakfast served at a time of my choosing .

Room Tip: yellow or green room views across country
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monmouth hotels
3.2 mi away
Torlands B&B
Torlands B&B
#7 of 21 in Monmouth
45 reviews
2.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monmouth
186 reviews
3.3 mi away
Queen's Head Monmouth
Queen's Head Monmouth
#9 of 21 in Monmouth
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mayhill Hotel
Mayhill Hotel
#6 of 21 in Monmouth
65 reviews
3.1 mi away
Punch House Monmouth
Punch House Monmouth
#16 of 21 in Monmouth
276 reviews
3.1 mi away
#7 Church Street
#7 Church Street
#8 of 21 in Monmouth
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Hendre Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Hendre Farm

Address: Wonastow, Monmouth NP25 4DJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Monmouth
Price Range: £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Hendre Farm is situated in a quiet location on the Welsh Border just outside the lovely town of Monmouth. The modern farmhouse - set in its own half acre of garden - offers three rooms which are all en-suite. They have WIFI access, freeview television and a courtesy tray. A hearty breakfast is served using our own eggs and local produce. We cater for vegetarian, vegan and gluten -free diets - just let us know beforehand preferably when you make a booking. We provide off road and secure parking and for those wanting an activity holiday there is storage for trailers ,bikes, canoes and motorcycles. Offa's Dyke Path passes our doorstep and the Rolls of Monmouth Golf Course joins the farmland. The woodlands around us offer many tracks And bridlepaths for you to explore. We welcome walkers, birdwatchers, cyclists, canoeists golfers and horse riders. There are laundry and drying facilities for those in need. If you prefer a sight-seeing or more leisurely holiday we have much to offer in this area. We are within an hour travelling to Cardiff , Bristol , Bath, Hereford, Hay-on Wye, Abergavenny,. The Forest of Dean , The Wye Valley , The Black Mountains and The Brecon Beacons . Situated close to the borderland between England and Wales there is a rich heritage of Castles, fortifications and Abbeys. Monmouth our local town is famous for its unique 13th century Bridge gate and is teaming with History. If you come for an overnight stay - a short break or a longer holiday in this beautiful region - you will not be disappointed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Hendre Farm Monmouth, Monmouthshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing