We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for B&B”

Church Farm Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Church Farm Guest House
Ranked #19 of 21 Monmouth B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“OK for B&B”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed there with my partner as a base for hiking in the area. We arrived in the evening with hosts waiting for our arrival. The house is quite old (in a nice way though) furnished with period and quirky items. Car travelers will find large car park in front of the house. The village is small and quiet so prepare to travel to Monmouth for shopping or restaurants/pubs. The guest rooms and private rooms should have been a little bit better signed as one can easily confuse them. The dining room also was missing a sign. The room we booked was nice and cosy at the attic with roof window in the bathroom (which was decorated in pink). Shower is extremely noisy (not sure if only in this room). The room had a comfy bed, kettle, TV, WiFi was available but working slowly. Breakfast was quite typical for the UK, freshly made by owners with vegetarian option available. There are several hiking routes in the area, with one starting by the church which is almost opposite the guest house.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arek80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    3
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
7
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is a run-down house with regular power outages (they had to call back to confirm the booking due to a power outage and then had another outage during breakfast). They had a PS3 in the guest room which the kids thought was great until the host came in and said we weren't allowed to use it as it belonged to his son. We were told the large group in the other rooms had first choice about when breakfast was served and we would have to fit in at a time they didn't choose.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don_and_Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monmouth hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I stayed here one night in November as I was on my way to South Wales. Owners were very nice and helpful. Cottage was really cosy, warm and spotless. Very reasonable price, especially as I had booked the single and was give a twin ensuite. Lovely building and gardens, easy to reach tourist attractions. The breakfast was excellent as all good quality ingredients, I had the full english.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuthieH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My wife and I had an excellent stay at this impressive guest house. The atmosphere oozed history, especially the huge lintels over the fireplaces and the obviously original beams. The suggestion of a ghost only caused us minimal loss of sleep - apparently she's a friendly one. Breakfasts and evening meals were excellent. The owners are very friendly, and they are also keen walkers who know the area well. They were more than happy to discuss routes, pubs to stop at, etc. In fact they used to run walking holidays from the house. I would strongly recommend Church Farm to anyone wanting to explore the Wye Valley, Forest of Dean and South Wales mountains.

Room Tip: Has a main building and an annex, with its own lounge/TV room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Very friendly service and comfortable room with teas, coffee and cocoa provided. Very tasty breakfast and good service. Excellent value for money. Building and landscape oozing character. Owner helpful with instructions for parking in Monmouth.

Room Tip: Ask for the ensuite room with double bed if is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Friedmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed in December 2011 and with a very tired 2 year old had to ring the doorbell several times before getting an answer. The room was large but furnishings were tired and we were given very worn towels. The best bit of the accommodation was the separate guest lounge, ideal as we didn't have to stay in the room with our daughter waiting for her to go to sleep. The 2nd night we tried the owner's home cooked dinner - this was excellent value for money and very good indeed, but it was a shame that the decor didn't match this.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We (a family of three) were the only guests while we stayed here for two nights. The room was large, but with some low ceilings which caused a few bumps a couple of times. The decor was very dated but clean and comfortable, except for the hardest pillows I've ever experienced, they were more like small bags of cement.
The place is a fair hike from Monmouth and not pedestrian friendly if you plan to walk anyway.
It was quiet and the lady of the house friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were first rate.
The isolation may be a plus for some, it certainly was quiet, but we'd prefer to stay somewhere within walking distance to eateries or at least a pub....

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smallg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monmouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monmouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.4 mi away
Punch House Monmouth
Punch House Monmouth
#10 of 21 in Monmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
2.2 mi away
Torlands B&B
Torlands B&B
#8 of 21 in Monmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mayhill Hotel
Mayhill Hotel
#6 of 21 in Monmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Coach House Inn
The Coach House Inn
#4 of 21 in Monmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.5 mi away
Queen's Head Monmouth
Queen's Head Monmouth
#9 of 21 in Monmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Farm Guest House

Property: Church Farm Guest House
Address: Mitchel Troy, Monmouth NP25 4HZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Monmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Church Farm Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Church Farm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Farm Guest House Monmouth, Monmouthshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing