We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another great visit for our Company Christmas Overnight!”
Review of Caer Llan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Caer Llan
Ranked #3 of 21 Monmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We have used Caer Llan half a dozen times for a meeting followed by an overnight stay.
The welcome and service Jake and Vicky offer is the reason we return time after time.
No doubt we will be back again and I just want to say for the price, you wont get any better and will not be disappointed.
Plenty of room for meetings, bedrooms are clean and comfortable and the food is homemade and delicious topped off with 5 star service!!

Room Tip: One at the front of the house for great views over the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoonerPaul1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

Having been brought up in the Wye Valley but moved away with work, when we got engaged I was keen to share the area with friends and family. We looked at many venues but the ability to hire the whole of a family home and not a hotel with fabulous views for a weekend was unmissable.

We got married on 20th October in beautiful weather which complemented the views at Caer Llan fabulously, our guests were gobsmacked! We cannot recommend Caer Llan enough for weddings - Jake, Vicky, the girls and all the team are wonderful and all of us had a relaxed fun day. The venue is gorgeous and the decor lends itself to such a variety of themes. In addition, the lounge and the library were lovely places for guests to get away. It felt like we have invited wedding guests into our own home. The entire weekend was a dream - if you are getting married in Monmouthshire - this is the venue to have!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nsampson12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Nearly 50 of the men of St Mary's Church, Basingstoke, held our Men's Weekend at Caer Llan, for the third time. The venue suits us perfectly as it has lots of versatile space for group meetings, small discussion groups and places to be alone. We held 5 teaching and worship times from late Friday to lunchtime Sunday. The surrounding countryside gave us lots of scope for Saturday afternoon optional activities. Some of us walked out in the ample (!) rain (there are loads of lovely places to walk in the area), one led a photographic workshop, others chilled and the rest went to the pub to watch the Rugby! There are museums and also the very pretty Tintern Abbey and Tintern Station not far away. The food was excellent - just the job for hungry men - and we made full use of the bar. The rooms are really nice, with mostly four sharing. If I remember rightly, the bathrooms have been upgraded since our last visit 2 years ago - ours in Room 1 was spacious with loads of hot water!

Room Tip: We had four of us in Room 1 - a lovely big room, with ensuite bath, loo and shower. We had patio do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We had great weekend for 50 people from our local church. Jake and the staff were great hosts and looked after us at every turn. The food was particularly good with plenty to go round and every plate polished clean.

The location is superb with easy links to the M4 but in magnificent rolling Welsh hills.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trkest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I went to Caer Llan as part of a group of about 50 men from a church. We arrived on Friday night and left on Sunday afternoon. We stayed at Caer Llan in rooms mainly with 4 single beds in, some of which were bunks. We needed a main room to meet in, then at points we broke out into groups of about 6-8. The main meeting room we had fit us all in snugly and there was plenty of space in various sitting rooms and lounges, near the bar, in the dining area etc for our 7 small groups to have separate discussions.

I went to Caer Llan about 3 years ago and this time it seemed smarter and more finished than the last time I was there, for example I think the large windows at the end of the room where we dined have been double glazed since last time. Regarding bedrooms, I was in a room called Colonsey on a corridor of 4 or 5 rooms just oppostie the main house. The bathroom was smart and looked like it had been recently renovated and the mattresses in our room of 4 seemed good too. The room was also pretty clean.

I thought the food was very good, both in terms of the choice of menu being appropriate for a group of men and the quality of the food. The proprietor and all the staff we met during our stay were also very helpful and friendly. Overall I really enjoyed my visit and would recommend Caer Llan to other groups.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeffersonLynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We got married at Caer Llan in October. We were so happy to have exclusive use of this gorgeous venue for the whole weekend - the most fantastic weekend of our lives!

The location is phenomenal. Vicky and Jake were brilliant and made sure that the weekend ran so smoothly. Our friends and family had the best time and all commented on both the fantastic venue and the gorgeous food. As the bride, I had a completely stress-free weekend and loved seeing our friends and family so relaxed and happy. I can't praise Caer Llan enough.

Perfect wedding venue. A must see!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Was fortunate enough to be Usher at my mates wedding 2 weekends ago, he got married in Monmouth, & chose Caer Llan as the venue for the weekend & wedding reception...! can't speak highly enough of the weekend i had here...! Beautiful location, cracking views, the wedding day went with minimum fuss, no hitches, food was delicious & the staff were friendly, well organised & really helpful...! Jake, the owner, even lent me his golf clubs, shoes & golfing attire to help me get one over on the groom, over a cheeky 9 holes, the morning of his Big Day...! Room was spacious, clean & bed comfortable...! Breakfast was full english & a great hangover cure...! good selection of alcoholic beverages behind a well stocked bar, with the local ales from Wye Valley Brewery on offer & well worth a try...! a good pint of Guinness too...!

all in all, Cracking venue, run by Cracking people, set amongst a Cracking landscape... here's to Caer Llan... cheers guys, wishing you all the best...

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gwyther01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monmouth
8.7 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monmouth
186 reviews
8.5 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Mayhill Hotel
Mayhill Hotel
#6 of 21 in Monmouth
65 reviews
3.8 mi away
Torlands B&B
Torlands B&B
#7 of 21 in Monmouth
45 reviews
3 mi away
#7 Church Street
#7 Church Street
#8 of 21 in Monmouth
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caer Llan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caer Llan

Address: Lydart, Monmouth NP25 4JS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Monmouth
Hotel Class:5 star — Caer Llan 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caer Llan is a beautiful old country house set high in the hills with spectacular, far-reaching views across the open countryside of the Vale of Usk. Established in 1969, we are a thriving family run business that takes great pride in the warmth of our hospitality, our friendly staff and our attention to detail. We specialise in group functions with exclusive use of the property such as weddings, family reunioms, house parties and business events. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caer Llan Monmouth, Monmouthshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing