We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quiet Retreat”
Review of Torlands B&B

Torlands B&B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Torlands B&B
Ranked #8 of 21 Monmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Ann and Bharat welcomed us into their beautiful home in a quiet residential area outside Monmouth for one night on 3 August. They couldn't have been more helpful in making arrangements for our stay, advising on places to eat (Bistro Prego in Monmouth was excellent!)and offering to book a table or a taxi if needed. On arrival we were given a very welcome tea tray to enjoy sitting on the rooftop terrace with views over distant hills. Our room was spacious and attractive, the bed large and comfortable and the en suite modern, fresh and clean with a shower over a bath. A lovely breakfast was provided with excellent choice of food, including fresh strawberries, yogurt, cereals to enjoy before we tucked into a 'full English' prepared and served by Bharat. The sausages were delicious!

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor adjacent to the front door and in full sun on the day we arrived, s...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for Torlands B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

On our arrival, we were offered a light welcome snack. We were really grateful for this as we arrived so late. The room was immaculate and spacious. The host was very welcoming and went out of his way to help us whenever he could. He recommended places to visit in the area and took time to help us find a place to eat one evening when everything was booked up. Breakfasts were delicious and there was a wide variety. This place is like a home away from home. Guests are welcome to sit in the very large lounge which has amazing views of the countryside. Overall, a delightful stay and excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We were warmly welcomed into this beautiful and tastefully done home. The room was spacious, with impressive interior color co-ordination and all the amenities one could ever hope for. The attached bathroom was luxurious. The cooked breakfast served was absolutely great with the eggs cooked to perfection, the bacon just right and the coffee divine. The view from the rooms is spectacular and my husband and I enjoyed just gazing out at the hills and mountains that surround the area. It was peaceful and relaxing. With the Monmouth Music Festival coming up in summer, this will be an ideal place to visit at the time.
Very reasonably priced for what we got and we will definitely go back in the next few months.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amrita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This is a wonderfully immaculate house set in the hills just outside of Monmouthshire. We stayed here for two nights in December. The room itself was excellent, it was beautifully furnished and in pristine condition. The en-suite facilities were beyond immaculate.

We had a fine breakfast both mornings courtesy of our host in the dining room. Our hosts were careful to meet any of our dietary requirements (we didn't have any!).

The house itself is very modern, but beautifully furnished with excellent views of the surround hills and mountains.

Good value for money. Next time we are in the UK, we will go out of our way to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eoin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

A very large room by B+B standards with a shower and bath and very clean and warm. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. The location is quiet and convenient - walking to the town centre is perfectly ok if a short but steep ascent on the way home is no problem for you (turn left out of the house then left at the T junction). My only suggestions for improvement would be breakfast, which was a little unconventional in particular on day one e.g. lemonade yet no orange juice, no choice of toast type offered and the quality of the bacon and sausages. And for the price, there weren't the little extras you'd expect like sachets of hot chocolate/herbal tea or fresh biscuits every day. Offering fresh milk is certainly good, but you expect some UHT pots as well for those times when you don't feel like rousing the owners, but there was none. Overall however this was a good experience, but better on room size than anything else.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We cannot recommend Torlands more highly. It is one of the best B & B's we have ever stayed at. A very warm welcome and our hosts could not have done more for us. It is a pity our 2 night stay was so short. A nice quiet area with wonderful views from the lounge and our en suite room was all that one could have wished for.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We were greeted with a very warm welcome as soon as we walked through the door. First impressions are impressive - the house is immaculate and tastefully decorated.
Our room was much nicer than we had anticipated; it was a good size double bedroom with a lovely, clean ensuite bathroom. It had a flat screen tv, wifi, tea & coffee making facilities, toiletries and several other nice little touches. We thought it was excellent value for the price.
There is also a lounge for residents and a terrace, both of which have lovely views. They don't have a licence to sell alcohol, so you can bring your own - and there's no corkage fee! Tea & coffee in the lounge and your bedroom are also free.
Breakfast is served in a separate dining room and is plentiful. We usually ate so much that we had to skip lunch! We had the full cooked breakfast, and it was excellent. Almost all the produce comes from local farms, and it was very well made.
Torlands was an important ingredient in a very enjoyable holiday. I doubt that you will get a better B&B anywhere for this price.

Room Tip: Do use the lounge and terrace. And remember to take along your own drinks! If you want to enjoy a m...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simbo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monmouth
1.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monmouth
183 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
498 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mayhill Hotel
Mayhill Hotel
#5 of 21 in Monmouth
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Punch House Monmouth
Punch House Monmouth
#16 of 21 in Monmouth
260 reviews
0.8 mi away
#7 Church Street
#7 Church Street
#7 of 21 in Monmouth
204 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queen's Head Monmouth
Queen's Head Monmouth
#9 of 21 in Monmouth
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torlands B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torlands B&B

Address: Torlands Prospect Road | Osbaston, Monmouth NP25 3SZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Monmouth
Price Range: £62 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Torlands B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torlands B&B Monmouth, Monmouthshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing