We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for a wonderful stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Redhill Grange Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 21 Monmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I brought my parents here at the start of a long weekend away in Wales, and it was the most perfect start to our holiday. The house and gardens are so beautiful and comfortable, but the highlight has to be the hospitality of Catherine and Martin who welcomed us with a huge cream tea, cakes and a big smile. Later we wanted to go into Monmouth for a meal, and worried we might not be able to park because of the Monmouth Music Festival, Martin dropped us into town and even picked us up afterwards! The next day the cooked breakfast was simply amazing and more than we could possibly eat! Catherine and Martin were happy to sit and chat with us over a glass of wine, and just as happy to leave us be and soak up the lovely atmosphere. We couldn't have wished for more. What we initially saw as just a stopover at the start of our holiday became the highlight! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

This has to be one of the best stays we have had in a B&B in all the years we have been walking. After a long 18 mile slog from Chepstow in 26 degrees heat, the welcome we received from Catherine and Martin was outstanding. Freshly made juice, tea and cakes on the patio, followed by a relaxing bath and a hearty night's sleep in a bed fit for a princess. Catherine and Martin are the king and queen of hospitality; it was like staying with old friends; they could not do enough for us. The breakfast lasted us all day and was masterfully cooked by Martin. We didn't want to leave but at least we know we can go back :0) We would highly recommend this accommodation to everyone. Julie and Jenny (mother and daughter).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed here after completing the first leg of the Offa's Dyke long distance path. Arriving in Monmouth we were exhausted from a 5.30am start and then a 20 mile walk, Martin very kindly gave us a lift from the town to their house. Both he and Catherine are incredibly welcoming and relaxed, but this belies their ruthless attention to detail with the house and garden. Our room was delightful and spotlessly clean. The rainfall shower did a good job at reviving our worn out legs, and a good night's sleep in a very comfortable bed set us up for e following day's 17 mile stage. Breakfast was a huge and varied spread, served on the terrace of their beautiful garden, with great views into the countryside. They topped off our great experience by giving us a lift back to the start of the trail in Monmouth. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Effraruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Very Welcoming hosts and a beautiful house set in lovely gardens and the surrounding area is stunning.
We stayed for two nights whilst visiting family in Monmouth, recently. Having just traveled from Cornwall, and tired, we were treated to fresh coffee and homemade scones with jam & cream. It was the thoughtful touches that made our stay even better than we expected.
Our room was spotlessly clean,and the bed was very comfortable indeed! (and I really struggle with having a back problem) Breakfast was a feast of deliciousness. We were given a choice of preferred food and could order what time we wanted to eat.
Catherine and Martin were exceptional hosts and really looked after us. We highly recommend Red Hill Grange for a stay around Monmouth. It exceeded expectations and we would certainly visit again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the largest room, which has an ensuite up another set of stairs. This was no problem fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed here with 2 year old daughter for an overnight stay whilst visiting Monmouth. I have never stayed in a more welcoming B&B/Guesthouse.........the house, grounds, views and room were amazing and Catherine and Martin couldn't have done more to make us feel at home. They were both brilliant with my 2yr old and she absolutely loved her stay, this was the first time I had taken her away on my own without my wife and they made an otherwise daunting task a much easier one.

Really can't use enough superlatives to describe this place and the hosts.....we will definitely be coming back and recommending to friends and family.

Pete & Isla

P.S. Sorry for delay in giving review

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

We arrived after a long journey to tea & cake which was so welcome. Catherine & Martin were perfect hosts; it felt like we had arrived in the home of friends. The bedroom was gorgeous - spacious, spotlessly clean & with an incredibly comfortable bed. The service we received was impeccable. I booked this place because of its convenient location, but it would be well worth making a detour to include a night there if you were visiting the area.
Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EFit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We received a such a warm welcome from Catherine & Martin when we arrived at the beautiful Redhill Grange. Our room was delightful, very clean with a magnificent views of the surrounding countryside. Breakfast was delicious, plentiful and all locally produced. We liked it so much we've already booked to go back.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank AmandaPanda_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monmouth
1.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monmouth
184 reviews
10.4 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
401 reviews
0.7 mi away
Church Farm Guest House
Church Farm Guest House
#19 of 21 in Monmouth
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mayhill Hotel
Mayhill Hotel
#5 of 21 in Monmouth
63 reviews
1.5 mi away
#7 Church Street
#7 Church Street
#7 of 21 in Monmouth
206 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Coach House Inn
The Coach House Inn
#6 of 21 in Monmouth
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redhill Grange Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redhill Grange Bed and Breakfast

Address: Red Hill Grange Wonastow Road | Wonastow Road, Monmouth NP25 4DQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Monmouth
Price Range: £60 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redhill Grange is a 300 year old Barn conversion in a rural location 1 mile from the historic market town of Monmouth in south wales UK.We have two double rooms with en-suit TV/broadband and offer full English or continental breakfast. The rooms have tea/coffee making facilities.The Barn is set in an elevated position and has an attractive garden with far reaching views across the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Redhill Grange Bed And Breakfast Monmouth, Monmouthshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing