We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gate House Riverside Restuarant and Pub
Ranked #18 of 62 Restaurants in Monmouth
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Camping just up the road, the beer is excellent, being on the bridge, watching the wildlife; the food is excellent

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Viv W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

We were visiting Monmouth for the food festival and just happened upon this place as hunger struck - we’ll lucky for us as the Sunday roast was incredible! Awkwardly I’m coeliac and needed a gf option but the chef was incredible and made me my own gravy. The plates were piled high with fantastic cuts of meat perfectly cooked tasty veg and plenty of extras to add on (pancetta wrapped parsnips were yummy!) we stayed for pudding and I was especially impressed with the light and tasty home made mango ice cream! Service was great and staff were friendly - will definitely be making the trip back here in the future!!!

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Rosamundi1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

The Sunday lunch is good value, and the potatoes and veg were well-cooked, though I would have liked more veg as it was a very small helping between 3 of us. The beef (roast silverside) was unfortunately very tough which made it virtually inedible. The turkey and lamb were fine, though.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Bod_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Two_IC_PR, Owner at The Gate House Riverside Restuarant and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Please let me know your date of visit, as today is still Sunday and your review is noted as posted yesterday, Saturday! referring to Sunday lunch.
If reviewers put date of visit on we can try and identify just what people are suggesting.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Despite being local, this was our first visit but it won’t be our last. Our group of seven ranged from 6 to 79 and there was something for all of us. The food was delicious, beautifully presented and plentiful. Service was great, too. We will be back!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Pebbledrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

As a local I had always enjoyed a drink at this pub, but never food, because I had heard some bad reviews about the service.
However, when I last went in for a drink a few weeks ago I grabbed a menu to glance at while I waited and noticed something unusual on the menu; a vegan burger! As a vegan it can be extremely hard to eat out, especially in small towns. So at my next opportunity I dragged my husband in there to eat.
Well it was delicious! The vegan burger was amazing, as were the chips. And the staff were friendly and efficient (even on a busy Saturday lunch time). And don’t worry my husband had a ‘normal’ burger and he was just as impressed.
We will definitely be going back very soon. It’s a beautiful pub and I think finally they are serving some delicious food. The only thing I ask would be a decent vegan dessert please!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank KatieDeloyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gate House Riverside Restuarant and Pub also viewed

Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Gate House Riverside Restuarant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing