We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Food and lovely little touches”

The Gate House Riverside Restuarant and Pub
Ranked #18 of 62 Restaurants in Monmouth
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

The food was amazing with lovely little flourishes that made it even more tasty! Really good attention to detail everywhere in the pub as well as with the food. The helpful and friendly staff also made it a really nice experience.
Well worth a visit!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Staff are very friendly and helpful. We took our puppy as they are also a dog friendly pub and the staff gave him cuddles and treats. The food was also really tasty and good value for money, we will definitely be going again.

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank Familywithadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Camping just up the road, the beer is excellent, being on the bridge, watching the wildlife; the food is excellent

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Viv W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

We were visiting Monmouth for the food festival and just happened upon this place as hunger struck - we’ll lucky for us as the Sunday roast was incredible! Awkwardly I’m coeliac and needed a gf option but the chef was incredible and made me my own gravy. The plates were piled high with fantastic cuts of meat perfectly cooked tasty veg and plenty of extras to add on (pancetta wrapped parsnips were yummy!) we stayed for pudding and I was especially impressed with the light and tasty home made mango ice cream! Service was great and staff were friendly - will definitely be making the trip back here in the future!!!

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Rosamundi1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

The Sunday lunch is good value, and the potatoes and veg were well-cooked, though I would have liked more veg as it was a very small helping between 3 of us. The beef (roast silverside) was unfortunately very tough which made it virtually inedible. The turkey and lamb were fine, though.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Bod_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Two_IC_PR, Owner at The Gate House Riverside Restuarant and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Please let me know your date of visit, as today is still Sunday and your review is noted as posted yesterday, Saturday! referring to Sunday lunch.
If reviewers put date of visit on we can try and identify just what people are suggesting.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gate House Riverside Restuarant and Pub also viewed

Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Gate House Riverside Restuarant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing