We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gate House Riverside Restuarant and Pub
Ranked #18 of 62 Restaurants in Monmouth
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

looks nice on the surface but décor is tatty
Meals were to expensive for a average pub
Drinks a little dear and don't feel the service was great

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank familyunitedkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2018

We went for a drink with a view to eating. A large group had put together some tables. When they left they didn't put the tables back. The landlady blew a fuse shouting and complaining about how rude they were. It was very unsettling and a bit bizzare. I think she should find a new profession i am not sure she is cut out to be serving the public. Shame as the pub is in a great position. We will not be returning.

Date of visit: September 2018
3  Thank briane145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Two_IC_PR, Public Relations Manager at The Gate House Riverside Restuarant and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I see from your tag that you are from Monmouth!
You posted on 6 November.
I find it very strange to report that the Landlady you refer to has not, due to family illness and subsequent bereavement, had any dealings with the pub since late September.
You say you came in with the view to eat - perhaps you could identify when because, as per the above note, this report is both fictitious and vexatious. Instead of hiding behind a non-descript tag and a keyboard, come out and identify the issue.
There's a challenge for you as we state no such incident took place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

Came in here for a beer and a wine. We recieved good service, happy. Located just by the gatehouse brigde on the river monnow.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank rayrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

On arrival went up to counter to be served lovely day asked if we could sit outside to eat and we were told no food as there was no chef what does one say staff cut back on wages very poor i expect no wonder places are in bother no back up

Date of visit: October 2018
4  Thank SHIRLEY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Two_IC_PR, Public Relations Manager at The Gate House Riverside Restuarant and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

The kitchen could be, and was, closed for numerous reasons. Who the hell are you to even comment on this on the basis of speaking with great authority on a subject you know jack s"£t about.
You were informed the kitchen was closed upon enquiry, so how much did that ruin your day to go running to Tripadvisor to moan.
Get a life and moan about the weather instead.
mptye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Lovely setting on the riverside and a nice outdoor seating area, great in the sunshine, sadly the day we visited the chef was off sick so no food available which was the reason we’d gone there, fortunately a very nice chippy next door!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank rob170217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gate House Riverside Restuarant and Pub also viewed

Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Gate House Riverside Restuarant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing