We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dog and child friendly pub”

The Gate House Riverside Restuarant and Pub
Ranked #18 of 64 Restaurants in Monmouth
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped off here on our way to Hereford with a 5 year old and a large dog and the lady behind the bar could not have been nicer. Great menu as well. Also does coffee and muffins. Nice location by the river.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Gayle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Early for an appointment, I popped in here for a coffee to pass some time. Honestly, £3.60 for a lukewarm latte, what a ripoff.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank N101e10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2018 via mobile

This is a strange review in that we did not actually come into the pub. We had just arrived for a short holiday break and decided to grab some fish and chips next door. We sat at a large bench in front of the pub/takeaway and with 10 seconds an aggressive woman came out and said the bench belonged to the pub and we had to leave immediately. I found this disgraceful for three reasons, it was empty and no one else was around, my husband was actually going to get us a couple of drinks after we had eaten and finally, regardless of who the bench belonged to, we were tourists, spending money and providing employment in the town. Needless to say we did frequent this pub during our stay and will not return to Monmouth. There are plenty of other nice welsh places to visit without this pettiness.
Paula South Yorkshire

Date of visit: November 2018
2  Thank Coastal45606195094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2018

looks nice on the surface but décor is tatty
Meals were to expensive for a average pub
Drinks a little dear and don't feel the service was great

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank familyunitedkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

We went for a drink with a view to eating. A large group had put together some tables. When they left they didn't put the tables back. The landlady blew a fuse shouting and complaining about how rude they were. It was very unsettling and a bit bizzare. I think she should find a new profession i am not sure she is cut out to be serving the public. Shame as the pub is in a great position. We will not be returning.

Date of visit: September 2018
4  Thank briane145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Two_IC_PR, Public Relations Manager at The Gate House Riverside Restuarant and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2018

I see from your tag that you are from Monmouth!
You posted on 6 November.
I find it very strange to report that the Landlady you refer to has not, due to family illness and subsequent bereavement, had any dealings with the pub since late September.
You say you came in with the view to eat - perhaps you could identify when because, as per the above note, this report is both fictitious and vexatious. Instead of hiding behind a non-descript tag and a keyboard, come out and identify the issue.
There's a challenge for you as we state no such incident took place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gate House Riverside Restuarant and Pub also viewed

Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Gate House Riverside Restuarant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing