We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monmouth
newport
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed at the riverside last night and I have got to say for the money we payed for 1 night it was great value. Hotel is spotless rooms were bright and clean and staff brilliant and a great atmosphere could not have asked for more. Near to all vicinities and plenty of parking We will definitely stay again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suey1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside418, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Than you for staying with us and taking the time to write such a nice review. Please return again soon.

Many Thanks

Riverside Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    52
    30
    26
    26
See reviews for
15
86
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel has friendly staff, free wifi, comfy bed, a good bathroom and shower with soaps etc, a well cooked hot breakfast and free parking. The bar looked fine as well

This is not a brand new modern hotel. It has lots of character.

We had a great time. Thanks

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We were in town to do some walking around Monmouth. There is not a lot of choice of accommodation in Monmouth. The Riverside Hotel is cheap and cheerful. The owners and staff could not have been more helpful. The beds were new and comfortable. OK some parts need updating and TV was tiny and Freeview worked intermittently but the free WiFi worked well so we watched BBC iPlayer instead. It is in a great location and has good free parking. For the money I think it was really good value. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We made the 3 hour journey from Liverpool for a wedding. On arrival at the riverside we received a very warm welcome. The room was spotless. Great parking facilities. Excellent breakfast. Fabulous little bar which had a country pub feel. Will visit again. Location was amazing! Thank you to the staff for looking after us so well. Claire and Sean

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in April 2013.

Staff were very friendly, chatty and friendly. Early check in was accommodated. Room and ensure were clean and fresh. Wifi, TV and off road parking all offered and a great central location. No problems or issues. Care free pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Beyond disgusting!
Booked through booking.com- pictures looked ideal for a one night stay, looked lovely infact, just perfect.
Arrived around the 4.00 mark, average entrance but nothing too bad, got shown to the room, did notice alot of dog hairs on the way up the stairs and landing which was a little off putting. Got to room and thats where the massive disappointment was! Never have seen a room more disgusting! Mould everywhere, bathroom very unpleasant, didn't even look inside the beds as quite frankly didn't even want to touch them! carpet again disgusting!
We soon left our room and explained to the man on reception that we wasnt happy with the room. He didn't seem surprised in the slightest- we were offered a more modern room but quite frankly i couldn't wait to get out of there! How there is good reviews on here i do not know!
Worst thing is the room was £80 for b&b and we then travelled around 10 mins down the road to Raglan to the Beaufort arms and had a brilliant experience, room was brilliant, drinks in the cosy bar, three course meal which was superb and a great breakfast the next morning and the price of the stay excluding obvs the drinks and meal was £60.00 per night!
STAY WELL CLEAR OF THIS PLACE!!

Room Tip: Do not go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monmouth hotels

Witney, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed here with 13 fellow Trekkers, I had a fantastic time. The Breakfast was a Fab start to our days of Walking with Lots of never ending teas and coffees Thank you all for making our stay so enjoyable xxx

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillmay62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monmouth
11.6 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
7.2 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
7.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
6.4 mi away
Beaufort Arms Hotel
Beaufort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mayhill Hotel
Mayhill Hotel
#4 of 23 in Monmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Cinderhill Street, Monmouth NP25 5EY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Riverside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Monmouth, Monmouthshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing