We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, B&B and a lovely town to visit”
Review of #7 Church Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
#7 Church Street
Ranked #7 of 21 Monmouth B&B and Inns
East Midlands, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Food, B&B and a lovely town to visit”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Briefly visited Monmouth in 2010 but had no time to walk around and see what the town had to offer. A business trip last month gave us the opportunity to find an attractive place within the town centre and we certainly found that at Bistro Prego. There is a large 'pay & display' car park behind the Bistro, which was perfect for us as we wanted to keep an eye on our car (full of stock) so we asked for a room at the rear. They have 8 rooms - ours was one of 3 on the first floor. The residents lounge is also on this floor with a good flatscreen TV and comfortable leather settee and easy chairs.

Positioning was brilliant - right in the heart of Monmouth, which is a lovely market town that still has character and looks cared for and bustling. We meandered along the main street to the river and there enjoyed the beautifully crafted history 'wheel' that really captures the uniqueness of the town - don't miss it.

Our double room was small but had everything we needed - very clean and extremely comfortable bed & pillows - ensuite was immaculate. I normally fidget and find anything, but our own bed, hard to settle in but the bed was firm & supportive without being hard and the pillows were just right too.

We booked a table for an early supper - on check-in the receptionist had advised an early dinner booking as the Bistro is very popular and there were 2 large family groups dining later. Good advice. The meal was realistically priced and well worth the cost - frequently restaurants have long menus offering some pretty boring dishes but that was not the case at Bistro Prego! Delicious, everything cooked freshly to order. We each chose dishes we don't usually 'safely' select 'cos they sounded so good; nothing disappointed, including the friendly and attentive (but not over-attentive) service. Frankly we can't remember when we last enjoyed a meal so much.

That view extended to our Full English breakfast which was smartly served by the young chef himself - the Bistro gets its meat from the high quality butchers next door. Nothing tasteless or mass produced 'supermarket' fare but brilliant sausages, bacon, black pudding, etc all smartly presented on the plate and no grease in sight - simply couldn't fault it. As with everything else about Bistro Prego it was genuine friendly caring service with a smile and a willingness to please.

If you like large glossy hotel 'ambience' then don't stay here - Bistro Prego is small, cosy & friendly. I don't think they could do superficial and aloof ! We'll be back - that's for sure.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janie8204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    64
    23
    12
    6
See reviews for
30
69
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hove
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Stayed with my Dad for 2 nights & had a lovely time. Staff were exceptionally helpful re: acommodation & food. Breakfasts wonderful as was the meal we had in the restaurant - really good quality food. Rooms are not necessarily the latest in terms of design/decor etc but ours were spotless, beds very comfortable, good shower & I slept very well indeed. Very good value town car park is behind the Bistro which made parking very easy & able to unload directly behind the Bistro which was great. Overall a very good value bistro & acommodation. We have friends locally so will definately stay again & would recommend as their friendliness & helpfullness in all aspects made our stay a pleasure. Very pleased we found it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoveAndAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Stayed here on a Saturday night on a biking weekend. The staff were very friendly and helpful and even recommended a night out following our meal as the Monmouth festival was on. Our meal in the Prego bistro was gorgeous, DT had steak, green beans and the most amazing homemade chips (which he was reluctant to share). I had fresh pasta, pesto and green beans which was also really tasty. For pudding we ordered two dishes to share, one being their chocolate nemisis which was a thick, gorgeous chocoholic heaven which resulted in a spoon fight for the last piece. The other pudding was a sample of their ice creams in which we discovered the best mint choc chip ice cream we have ever tasted. Big chunks of chocolate in a fresh mint ice cream, it was just like the mint in my garden in an ice cream. I've never tasted anything like it, hats off to the chef - try it if you visit Prego.
Our overnight stay was good, the room was cosy in size but very clean, fresh and airy. Our only criticism would be that we couldn't find the remote for the TV (we searched everywhere), we weren't that bothered as we sat downstairs on the leather sofas with a bottle of wine till bed time:-)

Room Tip: Book early for the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheandDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcs
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Walked off the street to ask for a room late on a Saturday. Very friendly chap showed us the two that were available.
Both very small, with skylights rather than windows, but clean, a very comfy bed, and a good shower.
Excellent breakfast in the morning with a friendly waitress.
Can't comment on the other rooms, but I wouldn't want to stay for a weekend in the one we had, but totally fine for one night.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnstormer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aboyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Stayed here for 1 night which was a Sunday. Very disappointed that the restaurant was closed for dinner and we had to go elsewhere. Room very tired and shabby. Not enough hot water for a bath in our room so was given the key for another room which was helpful but not ideal. Breakfast was very good quality food as were our packed lunches.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malambo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton & Hove, Uk
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Stayed here with my sister using it as a base to explore Monmouthshire and Mid-Wales. Very convenient - (paying) car park outside the back door - Steve and his staff were welcoming, helpful, laid back. The accommodation was good, great breakfasts and value for money excellent. Recommend it as a first-class budget B & B.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelEvans45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Although I arrived earlier than expected I was warmly welcomed. My room and ensuite bathroom though not large, was spotlessly clean and had everything I needed. I had a view over The Kymin and although Bistro Prego has no car park there is a car park at the rear of the building where one can leave the car overnight. It is easy to drive up to the rear entrance where Steve will help you unload. Breakfast was hugely generous with plenty of butter (NOT in tin foil but large pats), oceans of orange juice, milk, coffee, etc. Dinner in the evening was good though pricey I thought and £3 for about 8 olives with my gin and tonic was a bit much. But overall - I felt well looked after and would visit again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walker055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monmouth
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monmouth
181 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
480 reviews
8.7 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mayhill Hotel
Mayhill Hotel
#5 of 21 in Monmouth
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Coach House Inn
The Coach House Inn
#6 of 21 in Monmouth
80 reviews
1.5 mi away
Church Farm Guest House
Church Farm Guest House
#19 of 21 in Monmouth
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to #7 Church Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about #7 Church Street

Property: #7 Church Street
Address: 7 Church Street, Monmouth NP25 3BX, Wales (Formerly Bistro Prego)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Monmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — #7 Church Street 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the pedestrianised centre of the old part of Monmouth town, quiet and free of a lot of traffic noise. We are an ideal place to stay, with 8 en suite bedrooms and a 2 AA rosette awarded bistro offering informal dining below. Ample public parking is available right outside the back door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your #7 Church Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bistro Prego Hotel Monmouth
#7 Church Street Monmouth, Monmouthshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing