We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Style in a small town !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of #7 Church Street

#7 Church Street
Ranked #6 of 57 Restaurants in Monmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$32 - US$51
Cuisines: Italian, British, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Amble amongst the eclectic independent shops of Monmouth's Church Street and you will stumble across Bistro Prego. This atmospheric restaurant has been awarded its second AA Rosette in as many years, establishing a reputation as a destination for food-savvy visitors and indigenous foodies alike. Prego is fortunately situated to offer diverse regional produce, wild foods and allotment-harvests. For Steve Robbins, head chef and Proprietor, local and seasonal is central to the Mediterranean cuisine which inspires him. The menu is varied and aromatic: as soon as the doors open on spring days and summer evenings, tempting smells drift onto the pretty, cobbled street, infusing this quiet corner of Wales with Mediterranean savour. The frequently- changing menu, includes house favourites such as Tagliolini with prawns, cherry tomatoes and garlic, slow-cooked pork belly, and local game. Reputed for the delicious puddings and Welsh cheese-board, recent additions will also appeal to those wishing to enjoy eating out without compromising either their waist-line or enjoyment. Prego also offers bed and breakfast. This evolving restaurant is one to note whether you are looking for a special lunch, pre-theatre meal, coffee and biscotti whilst watching the world drift by, or a relaxing over-night stay.
Monmouth
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Style in a small town !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Lovely restaurant with great food, brilliant atmosphere and good wine list - a gem in a small town- extensive menu

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandrathom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    97
    31
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Fourteen of us ate here last weekend. We have been on walking
holidays together for eighteen years. The service and food in this establishment is as good as my wife and I have ever had. The staff were welcoming, and helpful. The service was fast and the food fresh and well cooked. We would certainly go back

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank kwansaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“beautiful food and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

2nd visit to this restaurant tonight. Had a lovely meal in February, but sometimes the 2nd visit can be disappointing.... Not at all. From the moment we entered and were greeted in a lovely warm, friendly manner I knew that the choice of restaurant for my husband's birthday was correct. Unobtrusive but friendly service, excellently delicious food. The prices are not cheap, but we fully appreciated the care taken with our order. Lovely place and highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneBryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

They were short staffed and the card machine broke so I think the staff were having a difficult night but they were friendly and totally professional and we really enjoyed the food which was excellent

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouthshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quality at a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Top end quality at a good price, staff always very helpful and extremely polite, great food well prepared and presented, would give Prego a 5* rating if the menu was a little more varied or more comprehensive indeed I we would eat at Prago much more often if Prago had a wider choice or varied the menu!!

The ambiance and staff at Prago are excellent, presentation also excellent, but as said menu is to samey!

Our party usually consists of 6 professionals who eat out every week, we have eaten at Prago many times over a long time and that says it all really! we appreciate quality regardless of price. Prago gets almost top makes for Quality, Presentation, ambiance, location, vary the menu more and it will get a 5!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank monflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed #7 Church Street also viewed

Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 

Been to #7 Church Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing