We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unsafe dump”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nant Gwynant
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Llyn Gwynant Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unsafe dump”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

From the main road this looks like a slice of heaven until you drop down into the site then Hell in Wales begins. I've roughed it in many places but the bad vibe on this site was almost tangible. When they say plenty of space take that as a joke. We struggled to find a area big enough to take a small two man tent that was anywhere near a safe distance from other tents with burnt earth showing that fire safety wasn't high on the list. Large same sex parties with a fair few unloading the obligatory bmw or audi with the nights booze cruise supplies. We was told that the previous night had a problem with noise and they was going to enforce the 11.30pm curfew that night. We left after a hour as the thought of staying on a cross between big brother and benefit street didn't float my boat and as mentioned earlier the whole place just gave off a look at me wrong and I'll stab you vibe.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Yambretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    72
    28
    12
    12
See reviews for
88
56
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This campsite is situated on a river and by a lake, the scenery is beautiful.
I was dreading taking my 3 children aged 7,5 & 2 away on their first camping trip, but we have just had the best time ever at this campsite.
Hot running water ALL the time. Free Showers. Loads of loo roll. Free ice block freezing. Firepits for a campfire. Tasty, good value pizzas on site. Fire wood to buy, and best of all no mobile phone signal!
We paddled in the river, went on the lake in a canoe, took a lovely walk up the valley and climbed Snowdon. Brilliant!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
4 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
497 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Visited again at end of July with my 9 year old daughter, for 2 nights, to use as a base for climbing snowdon. The site was busy, but there was plenty of space to pitch up. The main attraction of this site is the location. It is situated beside high mountains and has a large lake with a beach attached and river runs through the site. The facilities on site are basic but adequate, so dont expect 5*. Considering how many people are camping, the site gets quiet after 11pm and is patrolled to stop noise. There is also canoe/kayak hire available at reasonable prices, which we used before we left and was good fun. The only issue with the site are the midges/mozzies, so stock up on repellent before hand. Overall, a perfect site for a short stay

Room Tip: take mozzie repellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HatterWilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The location of this campsite is just great with amazing views. we pitched up right near the lake between the trees, and may I say a very bad idea from my friend. The wind blew us away we was unlucky with the weather so it made it worse, our tent collapsed in the wind and it was wet, the camp faculties was fine there was a good amount of toilets available at all times and 7 showers they was communal and not so big so once you get undressed and in the shower your clothes by the door will get soaked. The water was luke warm, which is disappointing, because after climbing mount snowdon, your in desperate need of a nice hot shower. The staff wasn't overly friendly but I guess that comes with running such a big place. The fire wood they sold was good along with the little white cubes to set alight, but they only sold from 6pm onwards so if you got back early like we did. , we could not have warmth till then, they had a pizza van on site I didn't have any, but campsite neighbours said it was Delicious x lovely place x but had to drive to get to the car park for the walk up snowdon mountain x but all in all and a productive weekend. !

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Icaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Went here to pick some family up after their weekend camping and walking up Snowdon, The post code is not correct for this site i found it eventually as everyone you ask knows the site. first impressions it looks wonderful it's on the edge of a big lake nestled at the base of the snowdonia range the site was huge lots of fields to camp in. The little office at reception sells a few provisions the lads in the office were not very helpful but the day was hot!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank karen04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

My partner, myself and our Labrador have stayed here 4 times now. This is our favourite place in the country. The guys are welcoming, the price is good and the location is amazing. We love the fact that you just pull up and pitch where you want! We have a big tent and event shelter so this is great. You can have a fire/BBQ and take a
Dip in the lake on site. The toilets and showers are well looked after toilet rolls always filled even in high season. The local town...Bewts Y Coed is very picturesque and only 20
Mins away. I would recommend this campsite to anyone, it's suited for family's, couples and groups.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeahH90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Just a one nighter but a lovely spot on the banks of the lake with mountains towering over it. Had a fire (£4 bag of wood) and in the morning a quick kayak of the lake before leaving. Used the on site shop too which thankfully stock sunscreen.

A little disappointed by the facilities block, but did have birds nesting just above the door to the gents which was nice. And maybe such high standards for camping aren't necessary, it's not glamping.

For an out of season, Wednesday night stay I was surprised how busy it was.

£8 per adult and £1 for the dog

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nant Gwynant
4.4 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
6.0 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
9.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Royal Goat Hotel
Royal Goat Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beddgelert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sygun Fawr Country House
Sygun Fawr Country House
#2 of 11 in Beddgelert
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
2.0 mi away
YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass
YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass
#2 of 20 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llyn Gwynant Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llyn Gwynant Campsite

Property: Llyn Gwynant Campsite
Address: Nant Gwynant, Snowdonia National Park, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Nant Gwynant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Nant Gwynant
Also Known As:
Llyn Gwynant Campsite Hotel Nant Gwynant
Llyn Gwynant Campsite Nant Gwynant, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing