We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking stopover with the family & dog”
Review of Pen Y Gwryd Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nant Gwynant
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pen Y Gwryd Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nant Gwynant
Certificate of Excellence
Little wratting
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Walking stopover with the family & dog”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

If you are happy to go back in time and be treated how it used to be, then this is the place for you. We found a very warm welcome when we arrived with two kids and a dog. The rooms were warm and clean. Need to be aware that there are no ensure toilets or bathrooms but there are plenty to go round. Next time we will try out the Victorian working shower! Lots of open fires downstairs and a games room, including pool table for the kids. Dinner came as a three or five course dinner and was lovely and served properly, very well presented using regional produce. Coffee served in the resident's lounge and a good selection of wines, beers and spirits. Breakfast again was served just as it should be and again featured local produce. Lots of choice including haddock, kippers and full Welsh breakfast. You can have a pack lunch made up and then you are ready to tackle the hills. It is a long time since I have stayed in a hotel or guest house where I have seen such a friendliness and genuine interest in our hosts. I would definelty return and recommend this hotel for others.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    69
    21
    9
    11
See reviews for
50
64
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed here over a weekend with a small group of people; the first time I have stayed here. Welcoming staff, and a comfortable room - no televisions in any rooms (but this is a bonus when staying here).

Evening meal is a bit limited (vegetarians do not seem to get the best deal) but what is on offer is well cooked. Local beers are served plus some good homemade mulled wine which is ideal at this time.

Best bit is the atmosphere - open fires, wood panelled rooms, and lots of climbing memorabila, including the signatures of a number of famous and not so famous climbers.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brucemoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

As I was also with the party of 14 or so Iwould agree with the previous reviewer, great for a couple of nights not sure if i could stay longer, fantastic for walkers. Food good quality. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Idle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
699 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 702 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We can see why people criticise the "PYG", but we still love it. We have just got back from celebrating a friend's 50th birthday. There were something like 14 of us, and we couldn't have been made more welcome. The staff were terrific, and really made our stay. I stayed at the Pen-Y-Gwryd with my father a few years ago, and would have to say that the atmosphere has improved a lot since then. The formality which has always been a feature of the Pen-Y-Gwryd seems to have been relaxed slightly, as a consequence of which the staff interact more with the guests and seem to be happier in their work.

The Pen-Y-Gwryd has atmosphere in spades. Everywhere you look, there's history: the Everest memorabilia, the climbers' signatures on the ceiling, the graffiti on the dining room windows (someone scratched his name into a window pane 130+ years ago!). It's a lovely place to sit and chat, and the hotel has several little rooms, all with distinct character. The separate residents' lounge is warm and cosy. I have no sympathy with anyone just popping in for a drink, and whinging about being denied access to the residents' lounge. The manager made us up a lovely big fire in the lounge after dinner. The absence of a lot of modern technology at the Pen-Y-Gwryd is so very relaxing- there are no distractions, so relaxation is an imperative.

The hotel serves Mws Piws Cwrw Glasyn, Wales' best real ale. There are no fruit machines or tacky posters. People should not complain about what the Pen-Y-Gwryd lacks, they should appreciate what it has, and what has been preserved. The dining room is very stylish, and starched tablecloths and silver service add a touch of retro. grace. So, too do the waitresses in their traditional black uniforms.

The Pen-Y-Gwryd is in a stunning position, right beneath Snowdon.

The rooms are deliberately old fashioned, but are clean. The beds are comfortable and beautifully made up. There is a drying room, a modern shower room, and 2 gorgeous Edwardian baths, one of which is like a Jules Verne/ Phileas Fogg contraption. There is a sauna in the grounds, and a plunge pool, fed by a mountain stream. One of my friends jumped in, twice, in January, in the pitch black, in between saunas.

So the Pen-Y-Gwryd is a bit expensive. So it's very old fashioned. So dinner is served at 7:30- ON THE DOT. So what. It's unique, atmospheric, has delightful staff, and it is a romantic treat for anyone with a nostalgic inclination and a respect for history.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Idler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

My wife and I arrived in hotel for a drink Friday lunch.Bar areas completely empty.Bought 2 drinks and tried to sit in lounge area.Was told brusquely that that area was reserved for residents only. and we had to go on uncomfortable wooden seats.No other person was in any part of the bar or lounge.NOT very welcoming!!We drank and left and will NOT be returning.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Corystes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
proreview, Owner at Pen Y Gwryd Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
At the Pen Y Gwryd Hotel we do provide a bar service and food at lunch but do ask that members of the public that are not staying in the Hotel stay out of the areas specially provided to our guests and instead to sit in one of the many other comfortable and atmospheric rooms that surround the bar all with real fires!, We are sorry if this comes across as poor service to some but as a Hotel,
our priority is to our guests and insuring that they have an available and private room to relax in at the end of a good day on the hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Resting for the night at this scenic property while preparing to climb up to the mount snowdon, the highest peak in snowdonnia, North Wales, reminds you of the practice/preparation Sir Edmind Hilary did before his conquest of the World's highest peak, the Mount Everest. The hotel has gorgeous views of the snowdon,delicious four course meals apart from the full service breakfast included in the very reasonable cost of the stay.
Highly recommended as a base to explore the beautiful Welsh countryside.

Room Tip: A double room with a view of the snowdon from the Window
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeepakMullick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Just got home after staying here for two nights. We enjoyed it very much. The bed was very comfortable with lovely thick pillows and plenty of blankets. The breakfast was hearty and the staff were very friendly. The location was amazing and perfect for climbing Snowdon, we didn't have to battle for a place in a car park! Some of the furnishings are a bit dated, and the games room could do with a makeover, but we found that this added to the charm. We didn't eat here in the evenings, as the only options were a set 3 or 5 course meal at a fixed price, but the food certainly smelled nice! No Tv, phone reception or internet, but that suited me fine! There is a computer set up in the games room for guests to use, be we didn't try it. The absolute highlight of the stay for me was the stunning Victorian Bathroom. I could have lounged in that enourmous bath for hours, especially after a trip up Snowdon in the rain!
We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nant Gwynant
5.3 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
8.3 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
738 reviews
8.6 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
530 reviews
8.5 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
725 reviews
9.6 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen Y Gwryd Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Y Gwryd Hotel

Property: Pen Y Gwryd Hotel
Address: 4086 Junction of A498 and A | Snowdonia National Park, Nant Gwynant, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4NT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Nant Gwynant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nant Gwynant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 18th century 3rd generation family run mountain inn nestled in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park with a history for British mountaineering with memorabilia from the 1953 Everest expedition in the bar along with many Famous signatures. We have en suite and traditional rooms, there is a sauna and natural pool in our extensive gardens with Snowdon and many other fantastic walks right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Pen y Gwryd
Pen Y Gwryd Hotel Nant Gwynant, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing