We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely 2 day stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pen Y Gwryd Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nant Gwynant
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pen Y Gwryd Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nant Gwynant
Certificate of Excellence
Reading UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely 2 day stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and I managed to get a kid-free two-day mountain break. Arriving at the PYG hotel on Wednesday evening was the most friendly and informal check-in process we've ever had: "You must be the last of the guests, here's the key, we'll see you in bar for a drink later or at breakfast".

The Garden room (booked for it's en-suite and four poster bed) could have used a little airing, but was very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast (8:30 - 9:00) was spot-on, as was was dinner (fixed sitting at 7:30). Both mornings there was a packed lunch available that would satisfy even the biggest appetite (e.g. mine).

Where the PYG really scores though is that it is a living museum of climbing; from a ceiling covered in famous signatures from Edmund Hillary to Doug Scott and Don Whillans to a host of climbing gear from the '53 Everest expedition; the place just oozes character and atmosphere.

There's even a natural outside pool (mini lake) and a sauna.

The perfect place for a mountain getaway.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    64
    19
    9
    11
See reviews for
48
62
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holmirth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Having stayed here during the '70s and '80s whilst honing my skills in rock climbing in Wales, I judged this a perfect place to take my two grand children to stay before their first attempt at the summit of Wales' highest mountain. An isolated location gives a slight feeling of pioneering. The place is steeped in the history of the original members of the successful Everest ascent having stayed here whilst preparing for their summit bid. Mrs Pulley was the then very strict landlady and the 'gong' was rung at precisely 7.30 pm for dinner and also 8.30 am for breakfast! There is no television or telephone in the rooms and one must use communal toilets and bathrooms. Also there are no keys for the bedrooms ( although these may be locked from the inside). The staff, as in the past, are from Scandinavia. Before it used to be Denmark, now it is Sweden - and very friendly and helpful they still are!
The bedrooms are sparse, clean and cosy. The dining room is old fashioned, quaint and perfectly acceptable. The snug bar is covered in history and in the winter has a warm coal fire. Both dinner and breakfast are of a high standard, with the food fresh and tasty. The whole experience is a flash back in time and most enjoyable it was too! The bus from the stop outside takes one to Pen-Y-Pass in 3 minutes although we walked it as we would have had to wait an hour! We climbed the mountain and enjoyed our stay before heading for Zip World where the kids hurtled 400 mtrs through the air above Bethesda quarry.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is a hotel for walkers and like minded people. Steeped in history from Tensing and Hillary's ascent of Everest in 1953 this hotel exudes charm and history and is a complete joy to stay at. The views of Snowdon and the Glyders surround the building and if you decide to brave the temperature of the natural pool in the garden then you can enjoy these views whilst swimming. Heat up in the sauna beforehand to really feel the benefits.
There are numerous walks from the front door so there's always an option to come by train (Betws Y Coed), then a bus or taxi to the hotel.
Don't come here expecting to be able to order your skinny machiato coffee and copy of the Observer delivered to your door - this is not the hotel for you...instead be sounded to dinner and breakfast by a nepalese gong, take a soak in the victorian bath tub and chat amongst fellow walkers in he residents cosy lounge.
Every inch of the place is a step back in time, complete with creaky floorboards and bed sheets instead of duvets, silver tea ware and china cups. This was not my first trip to this hotel and it won't be my last, I'll be coming here for years.

Room Tip: I've only ever stayed in one of the rooms which aren't en-suite, but I've never found th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walker1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
202 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We have driven past Pen Y Gwyrd many times on our visits to Snowdon without staying, and how we wish we had stayed earlier. We loved the plain old fashioned ambience of the hotel and especially the 'smoke room' come residents bar, which though small, was very evocative, you felt the spirits of all the many famous climbers and other well known persons that have passed though this establishment!

We stayed in the Garden Room which whilst not luxurious was comfortable and clean and unlike some other rooms at this hotel was en suite, although the shower is as an attachment to the bath rather than an out and out shower... but let me tell you a hot bath at our age is a real salve on the aching limbs from the masses of walks you can take from the door of this hotel and with that in mind and it's proximity to Snowdon itself is a big reason why you should stay here.

We did not have time in our schedule to do any wild swimming in the plunge pool which has a sauna adjacent to it(hopefully will in the future)

There were a number of rooms to the hotel including the public bar and a room with the ceiling covered in signatures of well known folk especially of the climbing fraternity which obviously includes Sirs Edmund Hillary and John Hunt, a pleasant residents lounge is available too where we were complimented with coffee after our fine evening meal

We found the service friendly and helpful and we were pleasantly surprised by the excellent food both at dinner served in a dining room full of character, with a choice of two main courses within a three or five course menu, but also have to comment on the hearty breakfast, which set us up for our annual attack on the Snowdon summit.(as an aside we reached the car park at Snowdon at 930am and it was already full and this was during the week so bear that in mind, a good service by bus operates from Nant peris on down the valley)

So in summary we loved our stay, we truly appreciated the fact that Pen Y Gwyrd has not changed greatly in many years and mused how tough it must be to maintain such an historic property(keep up the good work Nick & Rupert & staff) and we hope to make this a regular visit to enjoy this unique hotel and savour more of the splendours that Snowdonia and the Welsh coast has to offer.

Room Tip: We used the garden room and it was quiet(being in an annexe to the main building) Clean and comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penwyllt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

If you prefer a standard 2 or 3 star hotel then don't come here. This is unique and quirky, but it's virtues so far outweigh the negatives that I can't think of a better place to stay if you are heading for Snowdonia. It is located at the end of the Llanberis Pass close to the start of two of the "real" walks up Snowdon. The "Miners Track" is recommended, and the hotel staff will happily show you how to get there. Views are great. Out the back there is a very large lake in the hotel grounds where you can comfortably swim in summer. Alongside is a Sauna Hut to warm up afterwards if you need it. The interior of the hotel/inn is full of old world charm, with lots of climbing memorabilia, including some from the first group of climbers to conquer Everest in 1953. Rooms are a little Spartan, and many lack en suite facilities, and so share grand old Victorian style bathrooms. We stayed in Room 18 which does have en suite facilities as well as marvellous views from the window. Food is good but basic, with little choice. They are happy to do packed lunches for you if you intend to be up on the hills for the day. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would have no hesitation to stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with ensuite facilities. We stayed in Room 18
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 224DavidR224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

This place always amazes me, you have a wonderful location, old historic decor and a lot of history re the Everest team of 1953. So why is it the worst place for customer service and why do the staff delight in telling you "Fully Booked and No we don't do Bar Food" The only reason I am giving it at ONE is that I did enjoy my pint of Cider (after waiting about 15 mins to be served) The bar man on Saturday evening was very rude it's a wonder anyone goes back a second time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Capelfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
proreview, Owner at Pen Y Gwryd Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Having been to the hotel before this customer should have know that because of our popularity we are often fully booked for dinner and therefore should really have rung to check availability rather than walking in on a sunny and very busy Saturday evening in JULY and expecting there to be room to have dinner with us.We do welcome non residential dinners but do ask that they ring to check availability as we to prioritize space for our Hotel guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 591 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Wonderfully atmospheric, quirky hotel dating back to the early nineteenth century. Rooms are small but the beds are exceptionally comfortable and the linen pristine. At £100 per night for a double/twin en suite, and with no frills at all - not even tea-coffee-making facilities, nor free wi-fi - the rooms are probably overpriced. Many of the rooms are not en suite and at £84 are again probably overpriced – though there are some very special Victorian bathrooms which compensate. And the guests roll in, of course. Its location at the foot of Snowdon helps – you can walk directly to the Miners’ and Pyg Tracks from the hotel. The 1953 Everest climbers stayed here during their practices on Snowdon. And the place very much has the feel of an alpine lodge. The atmosphere is very relaxed. This is really what you stay here for: to walk Snowdon, then come and talk about it in the company of fellow travellers. Breakfast is adequate and to ensure nothing goes to waste, you have a limited choice and no self-serve; not even the cereals or fruit juice. The evening meal, at £25 for three courses, is again probably overpriced; the choice is very limited though the cooking is satisfactory. The staff are naturally warm and friendly and always eager to help. We’ve stayed here before and we’ll stay here again. It’s the place to stay for a genuine alpine atmosphere and certainly the place from which to walk Snowdon. But don't expect luxury.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 18: twin ensuite with two windows and good views. None of the rooms are large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarryHaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nant Gwynant
5.3 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
6.3 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
8.5 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
6.5 mi away
Royal Goat Hotel
Royal Goat Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beddgelert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
8.4 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen Y Gwryd Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Y Gwryd Hotel

Property: Pen Y Gwryd Hotel
Address: 4086 Junction of A498 and A | Snowdonia National Park, Nant Gwynant, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4NT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Nant Gwynant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nant Gwynant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 18th century 3rd generation family run mountain inn nestled in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park with a history for British mountaineering with memorabilia from the 1953 Everest expedition in the bar along with many Famous signatures. We have en suite and traditional rooms, there is a sauna and natural pool in our extensive gardens with Snowdon and many other fantastic walks right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Pen y Gwryd
Pen Y Gwryd Hotel Nant Gwynant, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing