We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for a drink, maybe stay a night, but don't eat there”
Review of Pen Y Gwryd Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nant Gwynant
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pen Y Gwryd Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nant Gwynant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

It's been many, many years that I've wanted to stop at the Pen-Y-Gwryd Hotel, but I'm sad to say that I was very disappointed.

It's true that this is a unique place that has resisted the 'relentless grind of modernity', but there is such a difference between untouched and unloved. It needs a bit more care and attention, although I could probably forgive the hotel many things for it's wonderful history and character. Unfortunately I cannot find any redeeming feature for the food which managed to be poor and expensive at the same time.

So, what the make of the Pen Y Gwryd. Well it's a great place for a pint, the bar is full of character and history. It's ok for a nights rest mainly because of it's wonderful location which just about justifies the price for what you get. But it's a terrible place to eat and that is a real shame.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

Don't bother coming here if you're looking for a plush establishment. It is old and it looks, feels and smells it. And it is absolutely fantastic! Packed to the rafters with climbing/mountaineering memorabilia if you are interested n that sort of thing. Even a city dweller with no appreciation of the great outdoors can't help but be interested in it, surely??!!
The place is at the foot of Snowdon so ideal for the walker who intends to tackle that mountain along with all the countless 1000s of other tourists that do. Many not being walkers I bet. But even if a seasoned walker this is a great place to visit. Just stay away from Snowdon and the crowds in the summer months.
If ever there was a place that I would want to get stuck in winter, being snowed in, this is it. Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow!!

Room Tip: I can't imagine there being a poor one. Be prepared to have shared toilet/bathroom facilities wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leigh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

A timeless window on the early climbing fraternity in this idyllic mountain range. Steeped in oak panelling, creaky floors, dinner gongs, stunning historic bathrooms, this hotel is a must for the appreciative visitor to the region.

Helpful friendly staff, excellent fodder, log fires, great beer; what more could a traveller ask for?

The sauna in the grounds adjacent to a private lake was just the icing on the cake, extremes of exhilaration, Do enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

It was a joy to stay at the Pen Y Gwryd, having admired it from the outside for over 40 years!
The rooms and furnishings are simple and old fashioned in the nicest possible way.
The hotel was warm and beautifuly clean.
The staff were helpful and professional and everyone had a smile.
The food was wholesome and delicious.
It made an Autumn visit to Snowdonia really memorable. Thank you!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank LadyDamelza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I have frequented the Hotel during the days of Chris Briggs and later on when his daughter Jane took over the business and now her sons. It never lost any of traditional value or standards,and remains the most reputable Hotel in a unique setting. I have had a wonderful weekend, and the evening meal was truly fantastic,so compliments to the chef.I must also say how very pleasant and helpful the girls behind the bar and waiting on at meal times,they are a credit to themselves and to the Hotel, Long may it all continue.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

This is where it all started. The pioneer Victorian climbers and the 1953 Everest expedition all climbed from this hotel. The hotel is unspoilt and harks back to simpler times. My room was comfortable, the food was filling, the company was excellent and the service was great.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakradice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is a really different hotel. As well as walkers there were several older couples like ourselves. We played darts and table tennis in the evening before dinner, which was a pleasant change from the usual entertainment. The food is excellent and the helpings huge. I would recommend their pecan pie. I would love to have had a swim in the natural outside pool and then a warm up in the sauna but was too tired after a days walking. It was our second time staying there and I would recommend it to all ages.

Room Tip: Book early to get a good choice of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dotj1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nant Gwynant
5.3 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
8.5 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
794 reviews
8.4 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
791 reviews
9.6 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
758 reviews
12.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen Y Gwryd Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Y Gwryd Hotel

Address: 4086 Junction of A498 and A | Snowdonia National Park, Nant Gwynant, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4NT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Nant Gwynant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nant Gwynant
Price Range: £80 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 18th century 3rd generation family run mountain inn nestled in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park with a history for British mountaineering with memorabilia from the 1953 Everest expedition in the bar along with many Famous signatures. We have en suite and traditional rooms, there is a sauna and natural pool in our extensive gardens with Snowdon and many other fantastic walks right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Pen y Gwryd
Pen Y Gwryd Hotel Nant Gwynant, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing