We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in the area”
Review of Pen Y Gwryd Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nant Gwynant
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pen Y Gwryd Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nant Gwynant
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best place in the area”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

The rooms are a bit dated, the food pretty bland.... But it has a great location, very efficient service and fantastic bar and lounge full of climbing memorabilia and a wonderful traditional atmosphere.... Which makes this the ONLY place to stay near Snowdon. I'm going back next year.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SW11family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    65
    20
    9
    11
See reviews for
50
62
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Well located for excellent walking. A well run, extremely friendly hotel, full of mountaineering history and artefacts. Good local beers on offer, good food, good company, good value. Some building renovations being carried out which did not cause any problems, rooms could do with a bit of TLC - well worth it overall.

Room Tip: Garden room has excellent views, also not facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
627 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Worth a visit just to view the marvellous photos and items from the famous Everest Expedition and the musty atmosphere and friendly welcoming staff are rather beguiling.
Five of us had lunch here on a bright sunny day but sadly the garden was rough and neglected and the food decidedly average. The cheese inside the bread rolls was fine as was the salad, the rolls themselves were stale and disappointing. Others commented on the dry cod with insufficient sauce.
Whilst many undoubtedly visit here for the history that is no reason for the owners being lazy and not tending to the garden and ensuring everything in the kitchen is up to scratch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PutneySW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stopped here for morning tea. Served perfect on a tray, extra hot water for my tea, my husband had a cafetiere the staff were so helpful and friendly. Proper old school. Loved it . If you need to stop somewhere stop here

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rose w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is not a hotel for Travel Lodge addicts who like to be locked away in sterile rooms but a hotel full of character. The history in the place is magic. The hotel was used as a training base for the members of the 1953 Everest expedition prior to their assault on Everest. Their signatures can be seen written on the ceiling of the Alpine Cabin room.The hotel is run in a very traditional way and dinner is at 7:30 and breakfast at 8:30. Take care not to enter the Dining Room before the gong has been sounded. The residents bar is a delight. It is panelled in dark wood and houses the equipment used to conquer Everest in a glass cabinet built into the wall. Here you can't fail to find conversation. Even when alone this room is perfect for sipping a glass of wine and reading a book. The rooms are unchanged and offer traditional bed clothes; no duvets to be seen. The whole building is somewhere you would want to be on a cold stormy night. Staff are delightful and very helpful and friendly too. Of course outside the door is Snowdonia and all of her peaks. You can't go to the pub next door because there isn't one. In a few words - I love this place and foresee myself visiting on a regular basis.

Room Tip: If you want to save money have a room without en-suite facilities. If you want the luxury of en-suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glyndwr182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed here for one night in March, it is like stepping back in time, I loved it! Check in was very informal and nothing was too much trouble. If we had any problems they helped to solve them straight away. The evening meal and breakfast were very nice.
The rooms are very basic but clean, the only thing I will add is that you need to bring your own toiletries as they only provide hand soap. Everyone was really welcoming and the whole feeling of the place was a very relaxing. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tme1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in March, part of a large party which pretty well took over the hotel. The rooms and meals were pretty well as described previously but overall it was the staff who made our stay so good, nothing was too much trouble. An excellent base for Snowdon, pity it was too windy to get to the top and the driving hail was a challenge.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ASH696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nant Gwynant
5.3 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
6.4 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
8.5 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
6.5 mi away
Royal Goat Hotel
Royal Goat Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beddgelert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
8.3 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen Y Gwryd Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Y Gwryd Hotel

Property: Pen Y Gwryd Hotel
Address: 4086 Junction of A498 and A | Snowdonia National Park, Nant Gwynant, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4NT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Nant Gwynant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nant Gwynant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 18th century 3rd generation family run mountain inn nestled in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park with a history for British mountaineering with memorabilia from the 1953 Everest expedition in the bar along with many Famous signatures. We have en suite and traditional rooms, there is a sauna and natural pool in our extensive gardens with Snowdon and many other fantastic walks right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Pen y Gwryd
Pen Y Gwryd Hotel Nant Gwynant, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing