We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every second of it...”
Review of Pen Y Gwryd Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nant Gwynant
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pen Y Gwryd Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nant Gwynant
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Loved every second of it...”
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Stayed with my wife and two children aged 11 and 13 for 3 nights. The hotel has bags of character and perhaps a little theatre to it's way of doing things. As other reviewers have correctly pointed out most rooms don't have en-suite . Rooms are simple and clean, recently re-decorated and varying slightly in size. The communal bathrooms and showers are clean and fully functional with abundant hot water at all times. I never had to queue for either a bath or shower. As with the bed rooms the fittings most look old but work fully and didn't leak in my experience. There is also a very useful drying room for kit and laundry. Residents have there own cosy sitting room and bar but of course can use the public areas too. There's a games room with table-tennis and pool table. The games room has wifi connection if you need it.

Meal times are fixed , breakfast 0830 to 0900 and dinner 1930. Staff went out of their way to help , always knew who we were and generally very friendly and warm. All spoke perfect English. The bar , the beers, wine list were simply the best out there. The place has bags of character, history and it is of course a formidable base for exploring Snowdonia. As with Paris , P-Y-G "is always worth it and you received return for whatever you brought it" ..we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghCullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    69
    21
    9
    11
See reviews for
50
63
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

I came here with my son [aged 13] and we found it the best place imaginable for exploring Snowdonia. The sauna and outdoor swimming hole, the games room with pool and table tennis, the incredible Victorian [?] bath and shower and best of all the wonderfully friendly and attentive staff, all combined to make this a truly memorable and entertaining stay. Our twin bedded room had deeply comfortable beds, ample power points and sharing a bathroom and loo didn't cause us any problems. We loved the gong that summons you to breakfast and dinner, and the food was fantastic. The best pork crackling I've ever tasted, with seconds offered without being asked for and puds which prompted me to ask Nick [one of the owners, and very much in evidence] if there was ever going to be a Pen Y Gyrd cookbook! We're certainly going back later in the year. Ignore the grumpy comments made by other reviewers. Go with an open mind, a love of open spaces and eccentric plumbing and you'll have a great time!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaRockies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We have just returned from a fantastic 6 night stay and cannot rate the Pen Y Gwryd highly enough. The staff are truly superb (Rupert and Nick do a terrific job and really do care about their guests) nothing is too much trouble - and the food is wonderful and very fitting after a long day on the hill. For someone not to enjoy a stay here means that they have missed the whole point. The history is unique (checkout the ceiling in the Everest Room) and the Everest 1953 memorabilia in the residents bar. The rooms are extremely cosy and clean, although we usually stay in an en-suite room I can highly recommend the wonderful victorian bathroom which is for the use of residents staying in a room without a bath. We were fortunate to be snowed in for a day during our stay and Rupert took such good care of us keeping the log fire in the lounge going and making sure we were comfortable....what more can you ask for!! Really looking forward to a return visit soon.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelbabyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

This is the most overpriced hotel I have ever stayed in.Shared bathroom and leaky loo.The soap has been used by previous bathers.No power point in our bedroom the lamp is wired into the wall obviously so you don't use their electricity.Dinner and breakfast are at a set time or you don't get any choice.
Would like to say it was 'shabby chic' but unfortunately it's just shabby.

There look to be very nice b&b very close by.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anawoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
proreview, Owner at Pen Y Gwryd Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2010
All our rooms have plug sockets, and although dinner is cooked for 7.30 p.m we do serve until 8pm it is a five course dinner and we think its the best way to ensure that our food is served to the best possible standard. Our breakfast is served from 8.30 to 9 a.m and is a hearty 2 course cooked breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2009

My second four-night visit to this hotel proved as relaxing and rejuvenating as the first. Giving up an en-suite option in order to take a moderately sized but old-fashioned roon with only a wash-basin isn't as much a hassle as one would think, especially when the view from the old part of the hotel is over a mountain lake and the bath down the corridor is an original Edwardian delight. Service is very friendly and the owners give an impression of genuinely wanting to get to know their guests. It was good to hear from one of the staff that she remembered me from the previous year. One of the nicest things about the hotel is that the physical arrangment of the residents' lounge and bar really encourages conversation so that I met and chatted with several different guests during our short visit. So much better than watching TV (there isn't one), or mobile-phoning friends at home (mobile reception just isn't!). The only mild criticism I have is that the ample packed lunches could be a bit more varied - I realise that cheese or ham are likely to be acceptable to most but a bit more choice would be appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redbikegreenbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East of England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Visited on a friday evening in Sep 09 with a group of reasonably smart, middle-aged friends for a meal and a few drinks in what I had told them was a famous and interesting place, based on my memories of 30 years ago. I should have read the recent reviews more carefully - the negative ones are exactly right.

Totally disappointed. No meals, and a studiously unhelpful barman. The place should have been buzzing like all the other licensed premises in Snowdonia but was almost empty, with a strange almost hostile atmosphere. In searching for 2 other friends with whom we'd arranged to rendezvous I accidentally strayed close to the dining room and received a very rude reception. I inquired about the possibility of a reservation for a meal on the Saturday night was told I'd need to telephone mid morning (from Snowdon summit perhaps) to see if it would be possible. There was no menu available, only a 'sample', and a fixed meal for £24. Its been a long time since I was made to feel so unwelcome anywhere, and needless to say we voted with our feet.

There are better hotels and pubs all around Snowdonia.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike09876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
proreview, Owner at Pen Y Gwryd Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2010
we feel at the hotel it is better to provide meals to the best possible standard to our guests unfortunately this means we cannot provide meals to the general public without prior booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJEP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Lovely view from our room. Don't expect TVs, phones or mobile phone reception. Go there for the good service, friendly staff, good coffee, great meals and the views. We'll go again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nant Gwynant
5.3 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
8.6 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
6.4 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
724 reviews
8.5 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
715 reviews
6.7 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen Y Gwryd Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Y Gwryd Hotel

Property: Pen Y Gwryd Hotel
Address: 4086 Junction of A498 and A | Snowdonia National Park, Nant Gwynant, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4NT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Nant Gwynant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nant Gwynant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 18th century 3rd generation family run mountain inn nestled in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park with a history for British mountaineering with memorabilia from the 1953 Everest expedition in the bar along with many Famous signatures. We have en suite and traditional rooms, there is a sauna and natural pool in our extensive gardens with Snowdon and many other fantastic walks right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Pen y Gwryd
Pen Y Gwryd Hotel Nant Gwynant, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing