We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Review of Gors y Gader

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Penmaenpool, Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Simon J
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place is filthy....and not in a good way. Do not stay here under any circumstances...”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Although dated, this property looked a great size and had everything we needed for our 4 nights away over Easter break. How wrong I was...In all the rooms, kitchen, bedrooms lay weeks, if not months of dust and dirt. Areas of the kitchen were black with dust and the oil burning heater gave out fumes that I am not sure are legally safe !!! In one of the double bedrooms ( the one i slept in ) along with thick dust, was a discarded old sock, I can only assume this was from a previous resident, and some old used tissues ( I dread to think what was on them ) !!! We had our kids with us so we cleaned and made the best of it, however on leaving we sent these details on to the owner along with pictures we had taken, lets just say she was less the helpful, downright rude to be honest. I urge you to not book to stay here if you can avoid, this is a lovely part of the world to visit, just don't stay here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2017
Dear Simon J,
We're very sorry to hear that you felt the property was not as you would have expected on arrival. As a company we aim to maintain very high standards to ensure the brand of Quality Cottages means just that.

We have obviously discussed your feedback and concerns with the owner.

Both ourselves and the owner were surprised that you did not try to contact either of us at the time so that we would have been able to resolve any issues. It is very difficult to do anything after the fact, apart from provide some compensation, which is not ideal as your holiday may have already been marred.

The owner and cleaner were very distraught that the property was perceived as "filthy" or "disgusting" (you have left two reviews from your stay), as they have only ever received glowing reviews in the last 10 years. The owner also felt harassed by the multiple texts and emails she received after your stay, especially when she called to say goodbye and offered you a complimentary late checkout and nothing was mentioned then. The first mention was a text after you had vacated the property.

The owner felt pressurised into a partial refund of over half your holiday cost, which we would have advised against prior to discussing the issues with you directly.

We would love to welcome you back to stay with Quality Cottages, and hope that if you do encounter any issues in the future you'll allow us the opportunity to resolve immediately so that we can deliver the holiday you're expecting.

Regards
Quality Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCNathan0...
Crosby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disgusting Accommodation”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This really was the dirtiest accommodation I have ever stayed in ever. We spent most of time cleaning it as we couldn't find alternative closeby. Absolutely disgusting. The owner is uninterested in discussing this. Such a shame lovely area but years of grime dirt and neglect have taken their toll on this accommodation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2017
Dear HCNathan01,
We're very sorry to hear that you felt the property was not as you would have expected on arrival. As a company we aim to maintain very high standards to ensure the brand of Quality Cottages means just that.

We have obviously discussed your feedback and concerns with the owner.

Both ourselves and the owner were surprised that you did not try to contact either of us at the time so that we would have been able to resolve any issues. It is very difficult to do anything after the fact, apart from provide some compensation, which is not ideal as your holiday may have already been marred.

The owner and cleaner were very distraught that the property was perceived as "filthy" or "disgusting" (you have left two reviews from your stay), as they have only ever received glowing reviews in the last 10 years. The owner also felt harassed by the multiple texts and emails she received after your stay, especially when she called to say goodbye and offered you a complimentary late checkout and nothing was mentioned then. The first mention was a text after you had vacated the property.

The owner felt pressurised into a partial refund of over half your holiday cost, which we would have advised against prior to discussing the issues with you directly.

We would love to welcome you back to stay with Quality Cottages, and hope that if you do encounter any issues in the future you'll allow us the opportunity to resolve immediately so that we can deliver the holiday you're expecting.

Regards
Quality Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing