We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, perfect for what we needed.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cefn Coed

Cefn Coed Bunkhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cefn Coed Bunkhouse
Kitchen Inglenook Fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Cefn Coed Bunkhouse
Kitchen
Inglenook Fireplace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 12
Penmaenpool, Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
daveCiuda...
ciudad del este
1 review
“Great location, perfect for what we needed.”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed as a group of 11 people for a reunion of old friends. The location was great, with fantastic walks in the Welsh countryside on the doorstep. The bunkhouse was clean, fully equipped and perfect for what we needed. The bedrooms were very small, but the dining table was big enough to sit us all round and there were 2 large sofas next to the fire. It's true what other reviews say that there are some abandoned chalets around, but the site was fine and there was space to sit outside and have campfires. We had a great trip and would go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie P
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great bunk house”
Reviewed 2 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Had a great weekend in the bunkhouse. Really high standard for a bunkhouse. I can only assume the bad reviews were from people expecting a hotel.
Clean and with all the failities we needed, including duvets and bedding!
Would definitely go back

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beddlebus...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Bunkhouse”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I booked the bunkhouse for a large family reunion and wanted a bunkhouse in the Dolgellau area to enjoy the stunning surrounding area. The bunkhouse is really well appointed, with a great kitchen and cosy lounge area with log burner downstairs, with 4 small but perfectly formed bedrooms upstairs, each with either one or two bunkbeds, supplied with linen.

We found the bunkhouse to be ideal, exactly what we were after and in a great location. If you can forgive slightly untidy immediate surroundings (this site has a few disused chalets and an old caravan - don't be put off). There is a great short walk to the Mawddach estuary and onward to the delightful George III, and is within easy reach of Cader, Coed Y Brenin and the coast, and was a perfect retreat after a day's walking.

The owners we're exceptionally helpful and accommodating, and also gave us the use of an additional caravan (for a charge) as the size of our party increased. Wild camping can also be arranged. All in all, excellent for a bunkhouse, a reasonable price and a great location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cosy accommodation
Liked least: Slightly untidy surroundings
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveller...
Manchester
1 review
“Amazing property and location- what an experience!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Myself and a group of friends from the city stayed for a long weekend in the bunkhouse, and I could not recommend it highly enough. The location is truly isolated and so peaceful, with plenty of beautiful walks and loads to do. The bunkhouse itself was cosy, clean and had everything we needed, with very helpful owners on call. The site itself is undergoing rennovation we were told, but this in no way takes away from such wonderful natural scenery. There's really no need to venture down to the cabins and nose around- we spent our time out on bike rises in the gorgeous national park, and sitting round a fire in the evenings. I would recommend this property to anyone and everyone, it's truly been a great experience we won't forget. I felt obliged to voice our extremely positive thoughts, in the light of reading some really unfair and negative reviews. We hope to visit the bunkhouse for many years to come!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George B
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dream location”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Wow! We had an amazing time at Cefn Coed. I was with a large group of friends and we had a wonderful time playing music around the camp fire underneath the stars. Everything was great, the bunkhouse is well equipped and comfortable, the location is amazing! No neighbours to worry about, beautiful woods, fantastic walks, close to the sea. The owners were very accommodating, we had the place to ourselves and they were extremely helpful with questions I had before hand.

I will be coming back here again and again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeteB999
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bunkhouse OK, site a bit scruffy and shower didnt work”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Abandoned caravans, holiday chalets and cars around the site give it a bit of a Butlin's gone bad vibe. The bunkhouse was generally pretty good, decent kitchen, bedrooms average but shower didn't work and I didn't get a particularly helpful response from the owner when I gave feedback prior to filling in this review.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValArch20...
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nothing would persuade me to go near the place again.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The bedrooms are barely adequate-one has a foot of space around it and you have to get dressed on the corridor.Kitchen is sufficiently stocked but washer does not work.Filthy sofas and rug-health hazards.
Outside was like living on a refuse tip-bins not emptied,beer cans all over,a wrecked car gently rusting away on blocks,derelict cabins and caravans,pools of stagnant water and to cap it all on Wednesday of the week, the water ran out.
It was only by chancer we were able to contact the owner who is in the Middle East- the only info we were given was "the key is under the mat"There was certainly no one on site. .
This place needs closing down and is a disgrace.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing