We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful escape from the city”
Review of Penmaenuchaf Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penmaenpool
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful escape from the city”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed here for my birthday last weekend and I must say we had a fabulous time. We went on a kgb package deal. We got stuck in traffic and were late arriving so we never experienced their afternoon tea as planned but I'm sure it was stunning. The lady, Deborah, who came to our assistance (there's no real reception desk to speak of, but I liked this, it gives a more relaxed approach to checking in!) on arrival, was really informative and helpful, we lost the wing mirror of our car and she, the staff, and the owner all helped us with ideas of where to find one at the weekend (not easy in sleeply Wales!!). She showed us around the vast and various rooms of the Hall. Then showed us to our luxury double room with spectacular views over Snowdonia. The bedroom and bathroom were of a high standard and I loved the turn down service with a chocolate on each pillow.
The maid came into our room twice to tend to it. Once while we were at breakfast (stunning breakfast) to make our bed and again to refresh the bathroom.
The only issue we had and this is why we didn't give it full marks was, we were on a package with a Table d'hote menu, the starter and dessert was as the menu stated, but the main was described as Rhug pork from the ala carte menu, but we got braised beef and mash, while it was nice, we did feel like it was served to us in the hope that we wouldn't notice. As some other guests reviews have said they felt an artriostocratic snobbery about the place, at this point I felt that snobbery, like it was assumed our palates wouldn't know the difference, and the waitress not coming back to our table for a check back and not clearing the main plates for quite a while after we had finished, felt like confirmation of this!! I think if someone had just come to us and said that the menu was mis printed, it would have been fine, but to presume we couldn't tell the difference between beef and pork never mind Rhug pork was insulting.
All that pushed aside, I do think that Penmaenuchaf Hall is a wonderful place and it is quite old world and we got that feeling of Lord and lady of the Countryhouse Manor while we were there. Thats why escaping from the city to places like these, you experience another way of life, even if it is only for a weekend!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiamhLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    67
    42
    20
    14
See reviews for
28
222
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed for two nights during a tour around Wales.
This Country House Hotel is set in 21 acres of land with lovely views over the estuary and nice grounds to walk in.
We stayed in the "Newland Griffin" room which was an adequate size with some nice facilities such as iPod docking station and mini bar. Plenty of creaking floorboards with the main negatives being a loud humming from the pluming whenever the toilet was flushed and a low fixed shower head. In fairness we did not mention the plumbing issue until leaving and were informed that the hotel was unaware of the problem. We were surprised as it would have been evident to who ever cleaned the room daily! The shower was located in the bath with the shower head secured to the ceiling at about 5'9". When you are 6' tall this made for an awkward shower.
For dinner, canapés and aperatif's are taken in the comfortable large lounge. The highlight for us at the hotel was the quality of the food. From breakfast, canapés to dinner this was of a consistently high standard. A disappointment though was the number of dishes that required a supplement charge (up to £3.50) on top of the £42.50 dinner price. On one evening this applied to four out of the six choices for starters and main dishes on the dinner menu.
Overall we left the hotel feeling disappointed.

Room Tip: Some rooms are located up two steep flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Terry4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This hotel churns out wedding parties on a regular basis and if you are not included, it can be a bit difficult.

However, reception staff greeting from the young man was great, Room was a good size as was the comfortable bed. It was well equipped with a great flat screen TV, and the view from our window was very nice indeed. The bathroom was also well fitted out and the complementary gels etc were appreciated.

Evening meal was well prepared and quite enjoyable and the service was pretty good. Breakfast was adequate and the morning staff very experienced.

Room Tip: I would recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't mind sharing the place with wedding parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meldrew69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Just come back from a 2 night stay which should have been fabulous as we were blessed with great weather. However, although the public rooms at the hotel are impressive, our "luxury" room was far from luxurious. The furniture was a mixture of Ikea type wardrobes and G plan bedside cabinets and definitely not what I was expecting. To make matters worse, my husband is 6'3" and had to acquire a permanent stoop to avoid the eaves! We should have asked for another room immediately - but the weather was glorious and we just wanted to settle in as quickly as possible. That said we paid for a luxury room and it definitely wasn't! We have several breaks a year and this ranks as one of the worse rooms we've had.

Would I stay again, no. Would I recommend it, yes but subject to room allocation.

Room Tip: Avoid Price
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSGGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Just returned from our second visit to Penmaenuchaf Hall and we were not disappointed. This is a well-appointed country house hotel with attention to detail. Setting is stunning. Masses of beautiful daffodils in bloom at present. Meals were delicious and staff were delightful. Can`t understand some negative comments about this hotel some previous Trip Advisor writers have made. Certainly our experience was of a tranquil setting with attentive staff who couldn`t do enough to make this a lovely experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahjennifer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astwick
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We have a tough year and wanted a short break just to recharge the batteries, plus we had a new puppy (well 14 months old) and wanted to introduce him to the beach and the sea. So googled ‘Dog Friendly Hotel’ booked 3 nights, then put LL40 1YB and Sat Nav did the rest.
We thought the place was stunning and truly a great find the décor in all the rooms were delightful and obliviously a great deal of care and attention to detail had been put in to achieve this. But, it also had a warm family feel, being an invited guest rather than just a paying client. This reminded us of a similar feeling that we enjoyed and at Stapleford Park when we experiencing the unique hospitality Bob & Wendy Payton.
Well we read Quinn (our Lab pup) the Doggie Rules, all perfectly fair and reasonable, he thought it was great to have his own private entrance, ok pass the kitchen was a little tempting! We must admit to taking a copy of the Doggie Rules, it brings a smile, great fun and with a sense of humour to!
Our room was spotless and very comfortable, and after a long journey, then a 3 mile walks with Quinn we were ready for dinner. Ok, it was Saturday and we were a little tired, but a fabulous meal and indeed every meal was a delight, which we thoroughly enjoyed. Great service from all the staff that was very attentive. Well, Breakfast’s was just as wonderful and helped to make a relaxing start to each of our action packed days.
We found all the staff from the housemaids, restaurant team to the ‘Management’ all very helpful and went out their way to ensure we had a good time and nothing was every too much trouble. Ok, the only complaint was my wife failed to get the recipe for the spicy parsnip soup! But, our guests on our last shoot of the season experienced something close!
On balance, would we consider re-booking or recommending the Penmaenuchaf Hall, it would be most certain a yes! We have stayed at some very fine hotels at some very special locations. And, yes we will come back, as we have some unfinished business with Snowdon, where we ran out of time to reach the summit!

Room Tip: There are only two doggy friendly rooms, so you may need to book a head
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrucePfromAstwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bow, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012 via mobile

spent a lot of time weighing how to write a constructive review and decided honesty is the best bet. The place is stunning and the decor absolutely beautifully done...the public rooms and the dining room are as good as it gets down to the perfect lighting and warm ambience from the fires. The family photos are odd. When opening our own establishment one of the first things we learned, even in the humblest BnB is...NO FAMILY PHOTOS!!! At Penmaenuchaf theIy are literally everywhere...to the point of being ridiculous...after all who care??? One of the odd things is that there is no obvious reception desk and we eventually found someone in a messy office who checked us in, but never introduced herself so we just presume she was the right person! We agree with another reviewer who wondered if the attachment to lots and lots of extra charges were a reflection on the hotel not doing well? The oddest thing was the expensive set dinner which had all these silly add ons so in fact you were charged for the dinner and only had one or two choices and had to oay a pound here and there for literally everything...it made everyone in the dining room fractious and took away from the really, really good food. The amounts were silly to the point of being petty and are the reason that everyone felt the would not return or recommend the hotel. all the many add ons ledt an unpleasant feeling for everyone in the dining room. Breakfast was quite wonderful. The room was good but not great for the price. The grounds and stunning public rooms are the reason to go there...and a good one. The staff was sparse and uninterested and not trained in the manner that the hotel represented they should be. This is SO close to being a five star hotel, but is more like three stars sadly.

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank cowhorse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penmaenpool
24.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
23.9 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
24.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
24.0 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penmaenuchaf Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penmaenuchaf Hall

Property: Penmaenuchaf Hall
Address: Penmaenpool | Dolgellau, Penmaenpool, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1YB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Penmaenpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penmaenpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Penmaenuchaf Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Penmaenuchaf Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penmaenuchaf Hall Penmaenpool, Dolgellau, Wales
Penmaenuchaf Hall Hotel Penmaenpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing