We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine food in fine surroundings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penmaenuchaf Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penmaenpool
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales
Level Contributor
1 review
“Fine food in fine surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Just spent an evening at the hotel with my partner to celebrate my 50th birthday. It took a good few minutes before we were able to find anyone who could check us in on Friday afternoon but it wasn't too bad as there are plenty of interesting art works and furniture to study as well as a massive bouquet of scented pink lilies to admire. The hotel is a genuine country house that has only been used as a hotel for the past twenty years. It is full of character as are the gardens.
We stayed in a room called "Scott" - a so called "superior room" and more expensive that the standard and luxury and I must say I expected something a bit more special. It had a nice view with a tiny balcony but was rather dark,not very big and over stuffed with furniture. The bathroom however seemed new and was very luxurious though the "luxury toiletries" were nothing to get excited -about just one large Gilchrist and Soames shower gel and one shampoo.
The dining room "Llygad yr Haul" (Welsh for In the eye of the sun) is light and airy with a lovely view of the garden. The food was delicious , the only complaint being that the main course was slightly salty, the service immaculate - friendly and attentive without being intrusive. An impressive wine list caters for all tastes and pockets and there are plenty of sofas to relax on in the lounge for your aperitifs and coffee. We had booked dinner for 7:30 and were shown to our table at 8:10pm having had a plateful of mouthwatering canapes while studying the menu. We did not find this a long time to wait for our table but we could hear another couple loudly complaining that they had booked dinner for 7:30 and had expected to be at their table by that time.
Over all a relaxing, quiet break in elegant and romantic surroundings.

Room Tip: Don't expect too much!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CymraesNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    66
    42
    20
    14
See reviews for
28
219
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed here for my birthday last weekend and I must say we had a fabulous time. We went on a kgb package deal. We got stuck in traffic and were late arriving so we never experienced their afternoon tea as planned but I'm sure it was stunning. The lady, Deborah, who came to our assistance (there's no real reception desk to speak of, but I liked this, it gives a more relaxed approach to checking in!) on arrival, was really informative and helpful, we lost the wing mirror of our car and she, the staff, and the owner all helped us with ideas of where to find one at the weekend (not easy in sleeply Wales!!). She showed us around the vast and various rooms of the Hall. Then showed us to our luxury double room with spectacular views over Snowdonia. The bedroom and bathroom were of a high standard and I loved the turn down service with a chocolate on each pillow.
The maid came into our room twice to tend to it. Once while we were at breakfast (stunning breakfast) to make our bed and again to refresh the bathroom.
The only issue we had and this is why we didn't give it full marks was, we were on a package with a Table d'hote menu, the starter and dessert was as the menu stated, but the main was described as Rhug pork from the ala carte menu, but we got braised beef and mash, while it was nice, we did feel like it was served to us in the hope that we wouldn't notice. As some other guests reviews have said they felt an artriostocratic snobbery about the place, at this point I felt that snobbery, like it was assumed our palates wouldn't know the difference, and the waitress not coming back to our table for a check back and not clearing the main plates for quite a while after we had finished, felt like confirmation of this!! I think if someone had just come to us and said that the menu was mis printed, it would have been fine, but to presume we couldn't tell the difference between beef and pork never mind Rhug pork was insulting.
All that pushed aside, I do think that Penmaenuchaf Hall is a wonderful place and it is quite old world and we got that feeling of Lord and lady of the Countryhouse Manor while we were there. Thats why escaping from the city to places like these, you experience another way of life, even if it is only for a weekend!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiamhLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed for two nights during a tour around Wales.
This Country House Hotel is set in 21 acres of land with lovely views over the estuary and nice grounds to walk in.
We stayed in the "Newland Griffin" room which was an adequate size with some nice facilities such as iPod docking station and mini bar. Plenty of creaking floorboards with the main negatives being a loud humming from the pluming whenever the toilet was flushed and a low fixed shower head. In fairness we did not mention the plumbing issue until leaving and were informed that the hotel was unaware of the problem. We were surprised as it would have been evident to who ever cleaned the room daily! The shower was located in the bath with the shower head secured to the ceiling at about 5'9". When you are 6' tall this made for an awkward shower.
For dinner, canapés and aperatif's are taken in the comfortable large lounge. The highlight for us at the hotel was the quality of the food. From breakfast, canapés to dinner this was of a consistently high standard. A disappointment though was the number of dishes that required a supplement charge (up to £3.50) on top of the £42.50 dinner price. On one evening this applied to four out of the six choices for starters and main dishes on the dinner menu.
Overall we left the hotel feeling disappointed.

Room Tip: Some rooms are located up two steep flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Terry4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

This hotel churns out wedding parties on a regular basis and if you are not included, it can be a bit difficult.

However, reception staff greeting from the young man was great, Room was a good size as was the comfortable bed. It was well equipped with a great flat screen TV, and the view from our window was very nice indeed. The bathroom was also well fitted out and the complementary gels etc were appreciated.

Evening meal was well prepared and quite enjoyable and the service was pretty good. Breakfast was adequate and the morning staff very experienced.

Room Tip: I would recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't mind sharing the place with wedding parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meldrew69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Just come back from a 2 night stay which should have been fabulous as we were blessed with great weather. However, although the public rooms at the hotel are impressive, our "luxury" room was far from luxurious. The furniture was a mixture of Ikea type wardrobes and G plan bedside cabinets and definitely not what I was expecting. To make matters worse, my husband is 6'3" and had to acquire a permanent stoop to avoid the eaves! We should have asked for another room immediately - but the weather was glorious and we just wanted to settle in as quickly as possible. That said we paid for a luxury room and it definitely wasn't! We have several breaks a year and this ranks as one of the worse rooms we've had.

Would I stay again, no. Would I recommend it, yes but subject to room allocation.

Room Tip: Avoid Price
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSGGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Just returned from our second visit to Penmaenuchaf Hall and we were not disappointed. This is a well-appointed country house hotel with attention to detail. Setting is stunning. Masses of beautiful daffodils in bloom at present. Meals were delicious and staff were delightful. Can`t understand some negative comments about this hotel some previous Trip Advisor writers have made. Certainly our experience was of a tranquil setting with attentive staff who couldn`t do enough to make this a lovely experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahjennifer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astwick
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We have a tough year and wanted a short break just to recharge the batteries, plus we had a new puppy (well 14 months old) and wanted to introduce him to the beach and the sea. So googled ‘Dog Friendly Hotel’ booked 3 nights, then put LL40 1YB and Sat Nav did the rest.
We thought the place was stunning and truly a great find the décor in all the rooms were delightful and obliviously a great deal of care and attention to detail had been put in to achieve this. But, it also had a warm family feel, being an invited guest rather than just a paying client. This reminded us of a similar feeling that we enjoyed and at Stapleford Park when we experiencing the unique hospitality Bob & Wendy Payton.
Well we read Quinn (our Lab pup) the Doggie Rules, all perfectly fair and reasonable, he thought it was great to have his own private entrance, ok pass the kitchen was a little tempting! We must admit to taking a copy of the Doggie Rules, it brings a smile, great fun and with a sense of humour to!
Our room was spotless and very comfortable, and after a long journey, then a 3 mile walks with Quinn we were ready for dinner. Ok, it was Saturday and we were a little tired, but a fabulous meal and indeed every meal was a delight, which we thoroughly enjoyed. Great service from all the staff that was very attentive. Well, Breakfast’s was just as wonderful and helped to make a relaxing start to each of our action packed days.
We found all the staff from the housemaids, restaurant team to the ‘Management’ all very helpful and went out their way to ensure we had a good time and nothing was every too much trouble. Ok, the only complaint was my wife failed to get the recipe for the spicy parsnip soup! But, our guests on our last shoot of the season experienced something close!
On balance, would we consider re-booking or recommending the Penmaenuchaf Hall, it would be most certain a yes! We have stayed at some very fine hotels at some very special locations. And, yes we will come back, as we have some unfinished business with Snowdon, where we ran out of time to reach the summit!

Room Tip: There are only two doggy friendly rooms, so you may need to book a head
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrucePfromAstwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penmaenpool
24.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
19.6 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
24.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
24.4 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penmaenuchaf Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penmaenuchaf Hall

Property: Penmaenuchaf Hall
Address: Penmaenpool | Dolgellau, Penmaenpool, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1YB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Penmaenpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penmaenpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Penmaenuchaf Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Penmaenuchaf Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penmaenuchaf Hall Penmaenpool, Dolgellau, Wales
Penmaenuchaf Hall Hotel Penmaenpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing